Customer Reviews for

I Am Nujood, Age 10 and Divorced

Average Rating 3.5
( 467 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(146)

3 Star

(109)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Review of I am Nujood

I was hesitant about giving this book a rating - because I can't really say that I enjoyed it.

There are a few things I appreciated about it. I appreciated it's short, to-the-point length. Any more and I don't know that I could have handled it. I appreciated tha...
I was hesitant about giving this book a rating - because I can't really say that I enjoyed it.

There are a few things I appreciated about it. I appreciated it's short, to-the-point length. Any more and I don't know that I could have handled it. I appreciated that the book focused so intently on rehabilitation and didn't feel the need to go into massive amounts of detail with regards to Nujood's circumstances and the horror she dealt with.

This is an important book. It's written in a way that really brings out the confused girl-woman's voice from Nujood. She's 10 years old - a child, but the things she talks about should never have had to come out of a child's mouth.

Important book and one that should be read. Talk about this book, get people reading it. I intend to.

posted by Benz1966 on March 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Interesting read, but I question some of the authenticity

The book is a quick, easy read. I don't doubt the authenticity of Nujood's story, just some of the emotions and feelings expressed in the book. What had me start doubting whether or not the words and feelings truly belong to Nujood is when the book uses the word micro...
The book is a quick, easy read. I don't doubt the authenticity of Nujood's story, just some of the emotions and feelings expressed in the book. What had me start doubting whether or not the words and feelings truly belong to Nujood is when the book uses the word microscopic after stating that Nujood hasn't even completed her second year of schooling. If she's barely gotten through two years of schooling, there's no way she knows what a microscope is, and I doubted that this was a word that she would use. So if this is the author's word and not hers, what other words, feelings and descriptions did the author put in for dramatic effect?

It's a very timely story that needs to be told, especially since a 13 year-old Yemeni child bride recently died. I don't regret reading the book, I just wish I wasn't left with these doubts as to how much of the story is really Nujood's.

posted by 2783591 on April 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Am Nujood

    Let me start this off by saying that this was the first e-book that I bought for my new Nook. I had decided after a year of debating and researching to purchase a book with end of school year bonus money. My husband purchased it for an anniversary gift May 7th. A fellow teacher had recommended this book that she had read on her Nook. I am so glad I listened to her.

    Nujood was a victim of an age old practice of arranged marriages. Yemen law and local customs allows for the abuse of women every year. Never have I heard a story of one so young with the guts to stand up for what she believed should be her rights. She took risks that could have cost her very own life. Nujood's father has two wives eventhough he can't really afford either family. When things start to get financially worse for him he agrees to an arragned marriage for Nujood to a man who is three times older than her. The father makes the groom to be promise not to consummate the marriage until after at least a year after her first period. Nujood is removed from her home, married off against her will and taken to live in her old, isolated village away from everyone she knows. On her first night her new husband breaks his promise and rapes her. It seems the more she fights him the more he takes pleasure in raping and beating her. She gets no sympathy from her mother-in-law who encourages her son to beat her all the more. After visiting her father's second wife she is given advice that will give her the courage to save herself. She finds the courage to make it to the courthouse and find a judge and demand a divorce. Shocked by her age and the hardships she has endured he goes against Sharia law and sets her on the path to her freedom.

    There were sections that made me angry and sections that made me cry. No child should have to be forced into a life like that. Her bravery has gone a long way to change things in Yemen. This is not a battle that will be won easily or quickly. I would recommend this book to all adults. It makes me happy that I am an American an that we have laws to protect our children from things like this.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Heart-Rending, Yet Full of Hope

    I am Nujood, Age 10 and Divorced / 978-0-307-58968-2

    If you only read one book this year, this is the book you should read.

    Heart-rending, this swift novel covers the young life of Nujood Ali, as she is pressed into marriage at a heart-breakingly young age and her new husband makes (and immediately breaks) the traditional-yet-meaningless (to him) vow that he will not consummate the wedding until she is old enough.

    Although I am familiar with many biographies of women hurt and abused at an early age (only recently I read "Escape" and "Stolen Innocence"), I was hesitant to read this novel, if only because I was afraid to face the hurt and pain inflicted on this sweet girl with such an open, trusting face. I knew this was something that I had to read, however, and I was thrilled to see that Nujood has done the impossible - she has told her sad and horrifying tale in such a way that hope is able to shine through every facet of her tale.

    "I am Nujood" opens with this extraordinary young woman on the steps of the courthouse, and I was surprised to tears of gratitude when the judges promise, immediately and without reservation, to do whatever they can in order to help her. From there, it is a long struggle to Nujood's freedom - both for her lawyer and judges, who must work through the various legal technicalities, and for the reader, who is introduced to the backstory of abuse behind all this - but the fact that the strangers around her care for Nujood, and work diligently, intelligently, and tirelessly to protect her, all this human goodness makes the ugly story of Nujood's abuse slightly more bearable, because the reader can hold on to the knowledge that, somehow, everything will be alright in the end.

    The epilogue for this extraordinary book states that, "The royalties from Nujood's book...have already begun helping finance the girls' schooling and contributing to the support of the family, paying for food, rent, school supplied, and clothing for the children. Later, the money will help Nujood pursue her desire to become a lawyer and to establish a foundation to assist young girls in difficulties." So often I read stories of victimized young women and wonder what, if anything, I can do to help. I am humbled and grateful that at least in this one small way - by purchasing this phenomenal, touching story of a young girl's bravery - I can help a tiny bit.

    I own both this e-book version and the paperback version of this wonderful book. The e-book version is just as crisp and clear as the paperback; the formatting is clear, and the in-text terms that might confuse the reader are highlighted with a convenient quick link to the glossary at the end of the book. The text resizes cleanly, and the font is clear and easy to read. I highly recommend this e-book version as well as the book as a whole.

    ~ Ana Mardoll

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    About this Book

    This book is amaizing. I am presently studiying for a Master's in Mental Health and my ultimate goal is working with Children who have been abused. In almost all female cases we will be dealing with physical abuse. It is good to know that Nujood is a typical girl that can over come some great difficulties that some of us may never face.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    Riveting

    This author astonishes you with its captivating subject and awe inspiring courageousness of a 10 year old little girl! She had to become an adult before she understood what being an adult was! To think that this kind of thing happens everyday in other countries is very disheartening! We call it child molestation here in the USA what they consider to be a binding marriage in consummation!! These acts should be abominated and the people who marry these poor children should be castrated!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    Enlightening

    What an amazing little girl she is truly an inspiration to all little girls. It is utterly sickening that we live in the 21st century and this is happening to children. I understand that it is their culture but they are only children. I thought that it was touching and it just broke my heart to hear what Nujood endured. That she even had the strength to go on and fight back for what she knew was wrong.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspirational story of Yemeni girl forced into marriage

    This book is about a beautiful 10 year Yemeni girl who has childish dreams and hopes for herself but her dreams are thwarted when she is forced to marry a man twice her age. Her father sells her to a man who is told not to touch her before puberty. The husband does not care and forces himself on her . The little girl is confused and beaten and hates the situation she is on. She is able to find help by going to court and fight the case . She is an example for all the women who complain about their lives but if they realize what this little girl went through they would feel grateful for what they have been given.She musters courage and gets a divorce and sets a precedent for other girls like her. Thanks Nujood , your story is a testament to the courage girls your age need to show in situations similar to yours. When I was reading the book , I was wondering what I used to do as a 10 year old girl and felt so much for her case.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Educating

    Good easy read and very educating but i love the fact that by purchasing this book i am helping Nujood

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    Excellent

    The topics discussed are troubling, but the story tell us why Americans are fortunate not to be forced into traditions that enslave girls.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    I am Nujood, Age 10 and Divorced

    It usually takes me a few weeks to complete a book. This book took me a day and a half. I couldn't put it down. I didn't want it to end and hope the author has a follow up to know how Nujood is doing after this 'forced marriage.' GREAT book, highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    I love Tom and Jerry

    This is a heroic story of a child who was thrust into a marriage at the age of 9 and raped on her wedding night, even though her husband had sworn to not lay a hand on her until one year after she reached puberty. This story describes the heartache, fear and every day life for Yemeni girls who are married off for money when the family reaches an economical hardship. The horrors that this child had to go through is something horrendous and though some parts are difficult to read, from a comfortability stand point, it does help open the eyes of the world to the atrocities that are taking place in the Middle East. In the book, the sentence is used, "Prophet Mohammed married A'isha at the age of 9" and they use this as an excuse. In reality, yes - Mohammed did marry A'isha at the age of 9, but also did not consummate the marriage until after she had reached puberty, which is the same case with Isaac and Rebecca because Rebecca was age 3 when she was married to Isaac. (I was a Sunday school teacher, I would know this.)

    This just goes to show that even though there are religious differences throughout we world, everyone needs to stick together. Especially when it comes to the abuse - especially sexual abuse - of children.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    True Facts & Determination

    I enjoyed reading this book - it showed the determination of a young lady and what she had to go through at such a young age! Good reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    easy, interesting read

    A very easy read - interesting story, you can hear the voice of the young girl very clearly, and the background is fascinating. I went through the whole book in two sittings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Wonderful book, I enjoyed the story & would recommend to any

    Wonderful book, I enjoyed the story & would recommend to anyone! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    A HIGHLY WORTH READ AND WHAT A STRONG BRAVE YOUNG LADY SHE IS

    Read this book recently and must say what a great book it was. On top of that, how brave and courageus she was to do what she did as well as how she did it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    A good read.

    It's a shame she had to endure what she did though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Great book!

    Great book, easy read. It will make you appreciate your life a bit more. Nujood was recognized by Glamour magazine in 2008 for her bravery. Once you're done reading this book you will agree. I am very lucky to live in America!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Highly recommend

    I wish there were more women who are as brave as Nujood.
    Loved reeding it and highly recommend it to anybody who is interested in women's rights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    a rude awakening to life outside of the U.S.

    Unbelievably sad how children are married off to men 3xs their age. Its an easy read. Its also disgusting knowing grown men expect these young girls to adjust to their new lives as their wives as young as 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    "To guarantee a happy marriage, marry a nine-year-old girl."

    The quote "to guarantee a happy marriage, marry a nine-year-old girl" is taken straight out of the book. It is a countryside tribal proverb and commonly exercised in Yemen.

    What a courageous little girl to walk into a courthouse and demand divorce - in a country in which women (and girls) do not have a voice. Nujood found and used her voice and opened the door for other little girls to escape marriages.

    Nujood's story is sad, horrifying and heartbreaking. An easy and quick read - highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Wow

    This young lady had so much courage. This book is an easy read but more importantly, it reveals the horros faced by women in countries outside of the US everyday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8