Customer Reviews for

I Am Number Four (Lorien Legacies Series #1) (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5267 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3311)

4 Star

(1165)

3 Star

(459)

2 Star

(158)

1 Star

(174)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

94 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

Wow...an unexpected treat

1st - I bought this book when I saw the preview for the movie. 2nd - I am not a lover of stories about teenagers. That said, I really enjoyed I Am Number Four. It had my sci-fi element, my good versus evil, and a few elements of surprise. The older, my cynical side of m...
1st - I bought this book when I saw the preview for the movie. 2nd - I am not a lover of stories about teenagers. That said, I really enjoyed I Am Number Four. It had my sci-fi element, my good versus evil, and a few elements of surprise. The older, my cynical side of me thinks it could have kept the teen love aspect. It just made it seem like the boook was written specifically to be turned into a movie. Unintentional snobishness aside, I was pleasantly surprised at the way the story had me from the go. Was it the most involved, moving writing I have ever seen? Nope, but it didn't need it. I appreciated the story first and foremost and quickly got over the fact that Isaac Asinov didn't write it. I found myself moved in parts and speeding through pages in my Nook, trying to find out what happened next. This is obviously a part of a series, and I'm anxious for the next Chapter. There are many secrets to uncover. Grab this for a quick read on an airplane or a lazy Sunday.

posted by EdmundDantes on December 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing. DO NOT SUPPORT!

When I first read about I Am Number Four I was excited. The story sounded fun and the plot seemed as if it had potential. I was warned prior that the book wasn't that good, but I picked it up any way because I like to try for myself. The book was too long and I found my...
When I first read about I Am Number Four I was excited. The story sounded fun and the plot seemed as if it had potential. I was warned prior that the book wasn't that good, but I picked it up any way because I like to try for myself. The book was too long and I found myself struggling to finish it. The storyline wasn't very original at all, the characters were flat, and the love story was way too easy and made me gag. Nobody finds someone that perfect! On top of it, I read into the man behind this franchise. James Frey is a money-hungry, evil man who wants to manufacture the next Harry Potter and Twilight. He doesn't care about a good story. He is simply hiring young writers, telling them what to write, and taking all the credit. If you want to read more about this go read for yourself. Type JAMES FREY FULL FATHOM FIVE into google and click on the first link. ANYONE who supports writers should not support this. As I said, I was excited... up until I picked up the book, thought it was bad, and then found out the truth. TELL EVERYONE YOU KNOW.

posted by Drowning-Helena on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 5341 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 268
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wow...an unexpected treat

    1st - I bought this book when I saw the preview for the movie. 2nd - I am not a lover of stories about teenagers. That said, I really enjoyed I Am Number Four. It had my sci-fi element, my good versus evil, and a few elements of surprise. The older, my cynical side of me thinks it could have kept the teen love aspect. It just made it seem like the boook was written specifically to be turned into a movie. Unintentional snobishness aside, I was pleasantly surprised at the way the story had me from the go. Was it the most involved, moving writing I have ever seen? Nope, but it didn't need it. I appreciated the story first and foremost and quickly got over the fact that Isaac Asinov didn't write it. I found myself moved in parts and speeding through pages in my Nook, trying to find out what happened next. This is obviously a part of a series, and I'm anxious for the next Chapter. There are many secrets to uncover. Grab this for a quick read on an airplane or a lazy Sunday.

    94 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours. Loved also the movie.

    87 out of 107 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Shows Promise...

    I love the ideas behind this book and was hooked from the very first page! Even though this one was a great read, I am truly excited for the next book because I can definitely see its potential to be the next ground-breaking series! Fans of Hunger Games, The Host, and Graceling should definitely give this book a try!

    57 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Amazing Book!

    I Am Number Four is a well written science fiction book by Pittacus Lore. In this book, John Smith is an alien from the planet Lorien. He came to earth when his planet was destroyed by the Mogadorians, with his guardian Henri who was sent to keep anyone from harming him. There were 9 Lorien children sent to Earth to preserve the species. These nine have been separated most of their lives. They are connected through a Lorien charm that protects the nine children from the Mogadorians. The Mogadorians are hunting down the Lorien children one by one. The children are numbered one through nine. The Mogadorians can only kill the children in order of their number. Three are dead. John Smith is number four. They will come for him next. I really enjoyed this book. I felt that it was well written and did a good job of drawing the reader into another world. When I first heard of this book from my friend, I was somewhat skeptical about how well the book would be written. However, after I read it, I have found that this has become my favorite book. I can't wait for more! The setting in I Am Number Four was very well manipulated. The book starts out with John and Henri living in Florida. They have to abruptly leave their home there and move on to somewhere else, do to the fact that they know the Mogadorians will soon catch up with them there. John and Henri leave their pristine private beach in Florida and move to Paradise, Ohio. John and Henri's home in Paradise is surrounded with dense forests and gives the feeling of being snug in their home. Paradise, Ohio really comes to feel like a home to John. All throughout the book Lore gives a very vivid description of the setting and allows the reader to fly across the country and enter the world that involves Paradise, Ohio and John Smith. This book is very good and I would certainly recommend it to anyone out there looking for a good book!

    47 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    Disappointing. DO NOT SUPPORT!

    When I first read about I Am Number Four I was excited. The story sounded fun and the plot seemed as if it had potential. I was warned prior that the book wasn't that good, but I picked it up any way because I like to try for myself. The book was too long and I found myself struggling to finish it. The storyline wasn't very original at all, the characters were flat, and the love story was way too easy and made me gag. Nobody finds someone that perfect! On top of it, I read into the man behind this franchise. James Frey is a money-hungry, evil man who wants to manufacture the next Harry Potter and Twilight. He doesn't care about a good story. He is simply hiring young writers, telling them what to write, and taking all the credit. If you want to read more about this go read for yourself. Type JAMES FREY FULL FATHOM FIVE into google and click on the first link. ANYONE who supports writers should not support this. As I said, I was excited... up until I picked up the book, thought it was bad, and then found out the truth. TELL EVERYONE YOU KNOW.

    25 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    Disappointed...

    I was ready to really enjoy this book. What a great concept! The idea alone hooked me and drew me in quickly. The first few pages start strong and are exciting. Unfortunately, the main characters are somewhat boring -- and little items that are intriguing about them are never really used to their full potential. The love story seemed forced and too "easy." I expected more twists and turns. The antagonist element was present, but didn't give the reader someone to really despise. Finally, the ending was frustrating -- to tell you why would be a spoiler...

    24 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    5 Stars all the way!

    I Am Number Four is an exciting read! I loved the characters and the author did an awesome job explaining the story and making an alien invasion seem believable. I can't wait for the sequel!

    23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!

    I love sci-fi and post-appocolyptic books, and I am number four didn't disapoint it was very well written and made my wait for mockingjay much easier and harder all together, because I finished I am number four extremely fast, but I had another amazing book. I highly recommend this book to everyone!!

    16 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not for serious Sci-Fi fans

    The book seems to have been written more for teens than adults. It's a tired theme of pursuit with harried aliens and magical powers called legacies. Reminds me of Whitley Streiber with the author calling him/herself Pittacus Lore Elder of Lorien .and it's All true! Only the names have been changed. Please. All in all, a frustrating read.

    14 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    Nice sci-fi story!

    The story reminds of the Smallville T.V show, the only difference is that the kid is being chased by an alien race that destroyed his planet. The writing was pretty good, kept interested in the story.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    I Tried

    I read the preface and loved it. But when I got to about 50 pages into the book I had to stop. Even though the plot was there and extremely interesting the writing was way too choppy and plain. It made everything hard to picture and some of the characters felt cliche to me as well.

    11 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Great read.

    Really the only thing that annoyed me was, at times, the writing was pretty cheesey. Especially the dialog between John/Four and Sarah. Other than that the story is amazing and I'd recomend it to anyone, especially young readers. Easy read, great story.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    I Am Number Four

    I Am Number Four is about a 15 year old boy Daniel/John that has came from a planet called Lorien which was destroyed about 10-15 years ago. Lorien was destroyed by other planet citizens from the planet, Mogadorians, they destroyed the planet for their natural resources. John and his "dad" Henri escaped from Lorien the day it was being attaced, a total of 9 people made it off of Lorien. Now John will face a bigger challenge when they decide to move to Paridise, Ohio. Where he finds love and a true friendship, when he knows that any secend they may have to pack and move somewhere else so will he be able to leave everything behind, IF taht becomes the case.

    THERE WHERE NINE OF US WHO ESCAPED...
    NUMBER ONE WAS KILLED IN MALAYSIA.
    NUMBER TWO WAS MURDERED IN ENGLAND.
    NUMBER THREE WAS HUNTED DOWN IN KENYA.
    BEFORE THEY COME FOR THE OTHERS,
    THEY'LL COME FOR ME...

    I AM NUMBER FOUR

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    read this before the book

    i liked the plot of the book and the ideas the author had but if had to stop in the middle of it because i couldnt stand all the bad language and 'to close for comfort', lovey parts in it. i also think thhe author could have put in alot more detailand action (which would have made it less boring in parts) if they had left the lovey parts out.

    9 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Am Number Four

    You know those books that you read, and they end up staying burned in your memory for days, if not weeks? I Am Number Four is definitely one of them.
    Admittedly, I didn't think I would read this. For one thing, I hate guy POVs, for some reason I just can't relate, since I'm a girl. But, Number Four (aka, John) was a really interesting character to read about.
    The idea alone is.just so outrageous and ludicrous it's amazing. In the end, it is what really draws you in: I mean, c'mon, how can you resist a book about "aliens" on Earth? I think though, that the most interesting thing was how the 9 kids couldn't be killed out of sequence: and if someone tried, what they had tried on the Number would happen to them (I think that makes sense.) instead.
    Another thing: Being a resident of Ohio myself, I couldn't get over all of this happening in my home state! I kept reading the stereotypical things that John said about our state to my family, and they, like me, shook their heads in amusement. (I mean, cows and deserted towns? Yea, they're here, but not EVERYWHERE!) And anyway, I think that James Frey putting the setting in his home state is pretty cool as well.
    Pseudonyms are fun and baffling things: and Pittacus Lore is actually James Frey and Jobie Hughes. And because of this, I had my eyes peeled for references to them. I finally found them in the book (Look for them: Jobie Frey & James Hughes) and I couldn't stop laughing for some reason!
    Okay, back to an actual review: I also liked Six. (Cool name, eh?) She was my kind of girl. Kick ass and just awesome, I loved the stuff about her, and can't wait to see more of her in the next book (coincidently called The Power of Six).
    One more thing: This is definitely not your happily-ever-after kind of book. The ending is as shocking and wonderful as the rest of the book.which is just the perfect way to end a book.
    I look forward to the next in the series.and the movie.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    So disappointed

    I was really looking forward to reading this and I was so let down. I found it to be flat with formulaic charcters (geeky best friend, Bad jock, beautiful smart heroine) no logic behind the "legacies" and an interminable final battle that made no sense at all. I wish I had taken it out of the library so I could return it.

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    Just bought this book on my nook and it happens to be a differen

    Just bought this book on my nook and it happens to be a different book. I was expecting I am Number Four. What I got was I am number Four: Nines Legacy. The book I wanted should be longer then 154 pages, yes?

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    A Letdown

    When I first read the plot of this book I was thinking "Wow! This book going to be great!".
    Sadly, that wasn't the case. By the hundredth page I was sorry I was even reading it! The plot had so much potential but the author did not live up to it. Instead of this cool, action packed, suspenseful book that I thought it might be, it was instead a flat, storyline. I feel as though the author was more focused on the romance than writing about Number Four actually struggling to survive. The writing was as though the author was writing a script. Also the story itself was very unoriginal. This book did not live up to my exceptions.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    I seriously hope the movie is better then the book...

    Don't get me wrong, the concept and plot of this book intrigued me. The writing however was poorly constructed. I'm not really picky about this in other books but it seems like Piticus Lore (james Frey) should have spent more time in the editing process then adding the extra crap like the 'Lorien Legacies' print on the side of the pages, we get it, you think you have a masterpiece, wooptidooh...I hear he sometimes doesn't even write his books but has kids write it and he gets 70 of the profits. It was in the first perspective in the present tense the entire time which drove me nuts. I felt like I was reading a 'See Spot Run' book. It took twice as long to read because the sentences where not fluid. It just makes me mad that such a poorly written book is going to make millions after the movie. Michael Bay just like explosions, that's why he wanted to direct it I bet.
    In all, I suggest reading something else.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Opener to an Exciting Series

    I Am Number Four is awesome. Plain and simple. When a war with the Mogadorians (another alien species) ravages the planet Lorien, nine children are sent to earth with their guardians in hopes of one day returning and rebuilding their home. A charm connects the nine children, only allowing them to be killed in their numerical order. The Mogadorians followed the children to earth and have been hunting them since. It's been years and three are dead. John Smith is Number Four.

    Pittacus Lore (aka James Frey & Jobie Hughes), a Lorien elder, chronicles John's journey from an almost normal boy to an alien coming into his Legacies or powers. I was wrapped up in the Lorien history and the near-destruction of the planet through John's reemerging memory. Early on, all John wants is to lead a normal adolescent life. John and Henri, his guardian from Lorien, move around constantly to stay off the Mogadorians radar, but Paradise, Ohio holds an entirely different life for them. John finds a friend in Sam and falls in love with Sarah. For the first time in his life, John feels tied to a place, he feels like he has a home away from Lorien and he's willing to risk so much to keep that.

    It's inevitable that the Mogadorians will find John in Paradise, but getting there was the best part. The characters and relationships are developed so well throughout the story. Coming to earth at such a young age has left John with very little memory of his home planet. At times, he doesn't even know why he's fighting, but the interspersed history of Lorien allows us to feel the need for justice along with John. Henri's training sessions are exciting to read, but they also show just how much he cares for the boy he has been assigned to. The two of them adore one another and it shines through every page.

    John's budding relationship with Sarah is everything first loves should be. It's sweet and develops so nicely. It's impossible not to root for them. Likewise, Sam is such a loveable guy. He seems like the typical best friend, but he has so much more lying under the surface that we only scratched at here. And Bernie Kosar, John's new dog, is adorable. I loved him from the start and his role only grew towards the end.

    Aliens are everywhere. Or that's what this book is telling us. John and Henri have lived the last 10 years of their lives preparing for a fight and they definitely get it. The majority of the fighting comes towards the end, but there is plenty of action before that and I was never bored with the story.

    I Am Number Four is the opener in what is sure to be a phenomenal series. I was enthralled by the fast pace and the alien powers, but stayed glue to the page because I was so attached to John. While predictable at times, this book is sure to be a hit with the YA crowd. I think it will appeal to boys, which I think is a rarity in the YA genre, but girls will get a kick out of it as well. I'm eagerly awaiting the next in the series.

    Opening line: The door starts shaking. ~ pg. 1

    Favorite line: "When you have lost hope, you have lost everything. And when you think all is lost, when all is dire and bleak, there is always hope." ~ pg. 124

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 5341 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 268