Customer Reviews for

I Am Number Four (Lorien Legacies Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5243 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3300)

4 Star

(1154)

3 Star

(459)

2 Star

(156)

1 Star

(174)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

84 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours. Loved also the movie.

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing. DO NOT SUPPORT!

When I first read about I Am Number Four I was excited. The story sounded fun and the plot seemed as if it had potential. I was warned prior that the book wasn't that good, but I picked it up any way because I like to try for myself. The book was too long and I found my...
When I first read about I Am Number Four I was excited. The story sounded fun and the plot seemed as if it had potential. I was warned prior that the book wasn't that good, but I picked it up any way because I like to try for myself. The book was too long and I found myself struggling to finish it. The storyline wasn't very original at all, the characters were flat, and the love story was way too easy and made me gag. Nobody finds someone that perfect! On top of it, I read into the man behind this franchise. James Frey is a money-hungry, evil man who wants to manufacture the next Harry Potter and Twilight. He doesn't care about a good story. He is simply hiring young writers, telling them what to write, and taking all the credit. If you want to read more about this go read for yourself. Type JAMES FREY FULL FATHOM FIVE into google and click on the first link. ANYONE who supports writers should not support this. As I said, I was excited... up until I picked up the book, thought it was bad, and then found out the truth. TELL EVERYONE YOU KNOW.

posted by Drowning-Helena on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    Disappointed...

    I was ready to really enjoy this book. What a great concept! The idea alone hooked me and drew me in quickly. The first few pages start strong and are exciting. Unfortunately, the main characters are somewhat boring -- and little items that are intriguing about them are never really used to their full potential. The love story seemed forced and too "easy." I expected more twists and turns. The antagonist element was present, but didn't give the reader someone to really despise. Finally, the ending was frustrating -- to tell you why would be a spoiler...

    24 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not for serious Sci-Fi fans

    The book seems to have been written more for teens than adults. It's a tired theme of pursuit with harried aliens and magical powers called legacies. Reminds me of Whitley Streiber with the author calling him/herself Pittacus Lore Elder of Lorien .and it's All true! Only the names have been changed. Please. All in all, a frustrating read.

    14 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    I Tried

    I read the preface and loved it. But when I got to about 50 pages into the book I had to stop. Even though the plot was there and extremely interesting the writing was way too choppy and plain. It made everything hard to picture and some of the characters felt cliche to me as well.

    11 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    I seriously hope the movie is better then the book...

    Don't get me wrong, the concept and plot of this book intrigued me. The writing however was poorly constructed. I'm not really picky about this in other books but it seems like Piticus Lore (james Frey) should have spent more time in the editing process then adding the extra crap like the 'Lorien Legacies' print on the side of the pages, we get it, you think you have a masterpiece, wooptidooh...I hear he sometimes doesn't even write his books but has kids write it and he gets 70 of the profits. It was in the first perspective in the present tense the entire time which drove me nuts. I felt like I was reading a 'See Spot Run' book. It took twice as long to read because the sentences where not fluid. It just makes me mad that such a poorly written book is going to make millions after the movie. Michael Bay just like explosions, that's why he wanted to direct it I bet.
    In all, I suggest reading something else.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Very choppy and derivative. I can handle derivative if the story

    Very choppy and derivative. I can handle derivative if the story is good (see Eragon) but this didn't have any real meat. And I feel no desire to read the subsequent books, which is telling.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    I Don't See What All The Hype is About

    I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore was the first installment of the Lorien Legacies Series. It is the story of an alien boy, who is the fourth out of nine of his aliens to come to Earth, as an attempt to save their race. Always on the run, and always changing his and his guardians names, they decided to move to Paradise, Ohio, and take the names John and Henri Smith. Oh, how original. Eventually, after an exceedingly annoying amount of "small town Ohio" jokes, John falls in love with the one girl mentioned in the story. He even became best friends with a kid obsessed with aliens. Everything in this book seemed cliched, like a typical book about high school. Even the end fight scene was uneventful, the twist was expected, the people that died were expected to die, there was no emotional value, and the ending was exactly what everyone would have guessed. And one of my big problems with this was that John is an alien. He has amazing strength, sight, and hearing, and can run like the Flash, but you are trying to get me to believe that he can't see anything at night?! Are you kidding me?! This book just had too many cliches, and was just boring.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great idea for a story line, but poorly executed. I read to esc

    Great idea for a story line, but poorly executed. I read to escape reality, and therefore love sci-fi/fantasy. If the author is good, he/she can immerse you into the world and make you believe it, even if you doubt it. There was poor character depth and the ending was just too far fetched with some loose ends that made it unbelievable. was really considering stopping midway, but since it had so many good reviews, I felt like I had to finish it and give it a chance...sorely disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    Whiney

    OMG CAN THE MAIN CHARACTER STOP WHINING FOR ONE PARAGRAPH?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    when I started this book I thought that it was very good, but th

    when I started this book I thought that it was very good, but then as I kept reading I found it harder and harder to keep going. It was starting to drag along. I tried to like this book, I really did but I just couldn't get through it. i'm sorry, I don't normally write bad reviews on books so this is a bit new to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    It iv It ids ok

    Ok

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Half-pitched

    Over all, I was highly dissapointed with this book. I was expecting something awesome, but I disliked both the main character and the supporting ones. The plot line feel flat, and I was bored reading this book. As an avid reader, it was very predictabal.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    This Book Was a big disappointment. I read it because my friend

    This Book Was a big disappointment. I read it because my friend hand let me read the book in class and the beginning had hooked me, but as I progressed though the book I had found myself getting bored and wanting to stop reading the book. I still struggled all the way through it and I found it predictable, cliché, and poorly written. The idea and plot are great but the writing was poorly executed, you might have to read a paragraph over again or several times to grasp what is going on. The Characters I didn't care much for. The events that occur are very predictable and sometimes there is a twist that was not as predictable but it still doesn't quite excite you because the outcome isn't that much of a shock. If you read the book anyways due to the fact that nearly 3000 people have said it was great I can tell you that you might be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Like several others, I was drawn to I Am Number Four after seein

    Like several others, I was drawn to I Am Number Four after seeing the movie previews. I’ll preface this review by saying this: I like science fiction novels and I like young adult novels. That said, I really wanted to like this book, I did. Indeed, I did like the general storyline, ideas and characters. However, the writing just plain put me off. I can’t tell if the writing is purposely succinct, but it reads like a fanfiction of merely average quality. Frankly, the style comes off as amateurish and left a bad taste in my mouth. I think the most advanced vocabulary word used in the entire novel was segue. Perhaps the terse prose was intentional to attract younger readers. I strongly dislike the idea of dumbing things down just to appeal to today’s youth. This book had potential–unfortunately, it couldn’t quite live up to it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Really good, and entertaining too

    Pretty awesome. Lots of alien fighting action going on here. But if you get tired of all the romance, just stick with it until the second one. Way better than the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Should I buy it? How long is it?

    I bot some giftcards and I really want this book, but I'm not sure. I read really fast and I want to know that this book will last longer than two days. Thanks for your help! :P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    Written poorly

    This book is written by a smart 4th grader at most. The imagination element and the alien universe was interesting but beyond that, as a piece of literature, it is just sad. The writing was incredibly choppy, there was no atmosphere, the scenes were poorly directed and the characters and their relationships were just bland. In fact, this author even got me to dislike the main character. From the little personality he had, all I could collect was him being selfish and abusive of his powers. For one he used his powers on his guardian and he half tortured men (the magazine guys) who were victims themselves and left them to die. It's as if this author had an interesting movie in his head but failed completely to translate it onto paper. Just watch the movie, don't bother with this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    Written for preteens/boring/long winded

    I like the idea but the book is poorly written. I feel like the targets are 12 year olds. Everything is so nonchalant. As in "Oh no my best friend has gone missing, he was kidnapped by pirates!" Then they go look for him and find him on the next page of the book with half of the book still unread. Just everything is so easy, no challenge there's no urge to go on. Stuff isn't explained so well either, his legacies come at the most ...awkward and not awesome times. Then after a chapter he all of a sudden has full control over his new found power; which in most books the main character doesn't even have full control of supernatural power by the time the book has ended (it is implied they will get better throughout life). I don't know maybe I'm just growing too old for these kinds of books but I feel like it could have been a little more in depth and grown up, especially with what's at stake; he's running away from an evil alien race that is trying to kill all that's left of his own kind; an evil race trying to take over the universe, that's kind of a big deal. The author just throws the idea around like it's nothing. Buy at your own risk, the book isn't bad, but boring and too long...there are many pages and not much happens til the end...which wasn't even what I had expected it to be (in a bad way).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Nothing special

    Just your typical derivative teen sci-fi novel desperate to be the next "Twilight." There was nothing particularly exciting or unexpected here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Beware+++this+is+the+beginning+of+a+series+and+leaves+you+hanging

    I+was+enjoying+this+until+the+rushed+last+few+chapters+which+leave+you+at+the+beginning+of+a+continuing+adventure.++WHAT%3F+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    To slow

    nothing happened it was just his life at school

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8