Customer Reviews for

I Am Number Four (Lorien Legacies Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5287 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3322)

4 Star

(1167)

3 Star

(462)

2 Star

(160)

1 Star

(176)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

95 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

Wow...an unexpected treat

1st - I bought this book when I saw the preview for the movie. 2nd - I am not a lover of stories about teenagers. That said, I really enjoyed I Am Number Four. It had my sci-fi element, my good versus evil, and a few elements of surprise. The older, my cynical side of m...
1st - I bought this book when I saw the preview for the movie. 2nd - I am not a lover of stories about teenagers. That said, I really enjoyed I Am Number Four. It had my sci-fi element, my good versus evil, and a few elements of surprise. The older, my cynical side of me thinks it could have kept the teen love aspect. It just made it seem like the boook was written specifically to be turned into a movie. Unintentional snobishness aside, I was pleasantly surprised at the way the story had me from the go. Was it the most involved, moving writing I have ever seen? Nope, but it didn't need it. I appreciated the story first and foremost and quickly got over the fact that Isaac Asinov didn't write it. I found myself moved in parts and speeding through pages in my Nook, trying to find out what happened next. This is obviously a part of a series, and I'm anxious for the next Chapter. There are many secrets to uncover. Grab this for a quick read on an airplane or a lazy Sunday.

posted by EdmundDantes on December 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing. DO NOT SUPPORT!

When I first read about I Am Number Four I was excited. The story sounded fun and the plot seemed as if it had potential. I was warned prior that the book wasn't that good, but I picked it up any way because I like to try for myself. The book was too long and I found my...
When I first read about I Am Number Four I was excited. The story sounded fun and the plot seemed as if it had potential. I was warned prior that the book wasn't that good, but I picked it up any way because I like to try for myself. The book was too long and I found myself struggling to finish it. The storyline wasn't very original at all, the characters were flat, and the love story was way too easy and made me gag. Nobody finds someone that perfect! On top of it, I read into the man behind this franchise. James Frey is a money-hungry, evil man who wants to manufacture the next Harry Potter and Twilight. He doesn't care about a good story. He is simply hiring young writers, telling them what to write, and taking all the credit. If you want to read more about this go read for yourself. Type JAMES FREY FULL FATHOM FIVE into google and click on the first link. ANYONE who supports writers should not support this. As I said, I was excited... up until I picked up the book, thought it was bad, and then found out the truth. TELL EVERYONE YOU KNOW.

posted by Drowning-Helena on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 462 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 24
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    not that good

    i read couple of page of it on Harperteen.com and it was little interesting

    3 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Lovely book few qualms

    While I enjoyed this book there was a considerable lull in the midle, in between the Halloween party and Henri going to the headquarters of the magazine They Walk Among Us. Sam was a little too odd for my taste, and Sarah seemed a bit fake. Besides these slight qualms this book was phenomanal and I cant wait to read The Power Of Six.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just okay

    With three stars i say it was okay. I liked it. It could have been better. I will read book two when its out.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    not that good

    meh spent too much time being a highschool drama, it seemed he only had a super powered battle in the last few pages. hate the female love intreast, way to much of a mary sue.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    I love these books.... P. S. Girls read my post

    I am in north carolina I go to Rockfish Christian School and I am free!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    will make a fun movie

    this book was clearly written with a movie script in mind but was a quick, enjoyable read nonetheless.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    OK

    This book came as free content on my Samsung Galaxy for Nook. The description was very intriguing so I decided to read it. It is definitely for a young adult audience. The writing style was a little immature for me as an adult, but the story was good with plenty of action and the characters were very likeable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    This Book was an easy enjoyable read. However, the romance i





    This Book was an easy enjoyable read. However, the romance in the novel is a bit cliché.
    The story is about a 15 yr. old boy named Number Four who arrived on Earth after the destruction
     of his planet Lorien. He represents a small group (ten) of Garde children who are meant to use
     their special protective powers bestowed by the planet Lorien to defeat the Mogadorians.
    The Mogadorians have used and destroyed their own planet, the planet Lorien, and are
    bent on destroying Number Fours new home. The Mogadorians are after all of the Garde children
    but because of a spell must kill them in number order. These children are spread all over the globe.
    The first three children are dead and it is Number Fours turn to fight for his life. 

    This book was action-packed, suspenseful, and fun.
    The characters of Number Four, his guardian: Henri, His girlfriend Sarah, and a new found
     friend named Sam, band together to save the day.  Yet, because the book is written from the
     perspective of Number Four, the other characters are not given the same level of depth.
    For instance, Sarah becomes a fairly flat character as she develops a relationship with Number Four.
    She is supportive, understanding and loving, yet, does not experience very much emotion beyond
    the cliché girlfriend type. Their relationship is on the sappy side and is too typical to be interesting. 

    This Sci-Fi action novel provided a new twist to the overrated alien book.
    This created a well-written and exciting book that allowed one to lose himself in the pages.
     However, the unique quality of the work was momentarily lost during the long pages of sappy
    romance between Number Four and Sarah. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    ...

    They found One in Malaysia.. <p>
    Two in England... <p>
    And Three in Kenya. <p>
    . <p>
    I am Number Four. <br>
    I am next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Tell me...

    Does this seem like a copy of James Patterson's Daniel X series? I will still try out this book, but I was just wondering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    Enjoyable read

    Enjoyable read, main characters well developed but conclusion long signposted disappointing. I will read the others in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Great book!

    I am not much of a supernatural fan, but this book was great. Easy to read, fast paced book. Can't wait to read the next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    To wow

    Kant wait for alliegent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Too streched and long

    It was way to streched and long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Goodafternoon everyone here is my review.

    Goodafternoon everone here is my review for i am number four book. I really like. when i frist thought was alright but i was not alien untail i read the host by stephenie meyer and i read obsidian then i am number four. I want see the cw channel star crossed which about alien as well. Have a good day everyone good bye.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    I am number four

    Good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Just a comment

    For those of you who are thinking the romance is acceptable, because the Loric love more deeply than humans, read the power of six, just to prove how wrong you are.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Liked but didn't love.

    I enjoyed this book, but it didn't have nearly the depth that the Hunger Games had. I'm 24 and loved the Hunger Games, but this book was a little more juvenile. Would have been perfect for me a couple years ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Blank

    The book was okay, but I would rent it at a library, don't buy it. The movie was good though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Ughhhh

    Ok so it was a good book but 30 somthin pages of im numbet 4 r u kidding well duh this is the add on book to im number 4 so obiosly i read it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 462 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 24