BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

I Am Number Four (Lorien Legacies Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5286 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3321)

4 Star

(1167)

3 Star

(462)

2 Star

(160)

1 Star

(176)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

95 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

Wow...an unexpected treat

1st - I bought this book when I saw the preview for the movie. 2nd - I am not a lover of stories about teenagers. That said, I really enjoyed I Am Number Four. It had my sci-fi element, my good versus evil, and a few elements of surprise. The older, my cynical side of m...
1st - I bought this book when I saw the preview for the movie. 2nd - I am not a lover of stories about teenagers. That said, I really enjoyed I Am Number Four. It had my sci-fi element, my good versus evil, and a few elements of surprise. The older, my cynical side of me thinks it could have kept the teen love aspect. It just made it seem like the boook was written specifically to be turned into a movie. Unintentional snobishness aside, I was pleasantly surprised at the way the story had me from the go. Was it the most involved, moving writing I have ever seen? Nope, but it didn't need it. I appreciated the story first and foremost and quickly got over the fact that Isaac Asinov didn't write it. I found myself moved in parts and speeding through pages in my Nook, trying to find out what happened next. This is obviously a part of a series, and I'm anxious for the next Chapter. There are many secrets to uncover. Grab this for a quick read on an airplane or a lazy Sunday.

posted by EdmundDantes on December 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing. DO NOT SUPPORT!

When I first read about I Am Number Four I was excited. The story sounded fun and the plot seemed as if it had potential. I was warned prior that the book wasn't that good, but I picked it up any way because I like to try for myself. The book was too long and I found my...
When I first read about I Am Number Four I was excited. The story sounded fun and the plot seemed as if it had potential. I was warned prior that the book wasn't that good, but I picked it up any way because I like to try for myself. The book was too long and I found myself struggling to finish it. The storyline wasn't very original at all, the characters were flat, and the love story was way too easy and made me gag. Nobody finds someone that perfect! On top of it, I read into the man behind this franchise. James Frey is a money-hungry, evil man who wants to manufacture the next Harry Potter and Twilight. He doesn't care about a good story. He is simply hiring young writers, telling them what to write, and taking all the credit. If you want to read more about this go read for yourself. Type JAMES FREY FULL FATHOM FIVE into google and click on the first link. ANYONE who supports writers should not support this. As I said, I was excited... up until I picked up the book, thought it was bad, and then found out the truth. TELL EVERYONE YOU KNOW.

posted by Drowning-Helena on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 462 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 24
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    I am number four

    The book was good/ and i look foward to the other books in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    :)

    So good, just so good...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than the Film

    I decided to read this because I discovered that just because a movie is based on a book, doesn't mean its closely based on the book. The film version is close to the book, but I like the details in the book one doesn't get in the film. This book didn't really entice me into reading the next book in the series. a decent read, but to me it felt more like Blood and Chocolate, you have the teen drama, romance, and the trying to fit in even though your way different from those around. Only difference was the being hunted and being alien story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Its okay

    Wont remember it in the future

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    It was alright

    Quite boring,some action in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    It wasn't bad....

    Unfortunately, not even the mental image of Alex Pettyfer could keep me interested in this book. Parts were awesome, but not enough parts. I wouldn't recommend it, but I won't bash it. I just felt it was missing something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    Decent new YA series

    This book is the first volume of a new YA series by elusive author Pittacus Lore. The series is about nine children who are evacuated from their home planet Lorien, along with their guardians, and brought to Earth to escape annihilation from another alien race, the Mogodorians. As the children grow, they begin to receive their legacies, or special powers, which will ultimately help them fight the Mogodorian race and redeem Lorien from utter destruction. The Mogodorians are also on Earth, hunting down the children. Because of a special charm on the children, the children can only be killed in numerical order, and when one child is killed, all the other children instantly have a scar appear on their leg. I Am Number Four follows the adventures of child Number Four, John Smith, as he begins to receive his legacies, and as he and his guardian try to stay hidden in the remote town of Paradise, Ohio.

    This book was the monthly selection for my book club. There are several women in the group who love YA books. I am not one of them, but I am always willing to read new and different stuff, and the book club helps me expand my horizons. In my opinion, this book is on the good side of mediocre. Being a YA book, with a very simple writing style, it was a very fast read. I think I finished it in less than 3 days. All of the characters actions and movements are spelled out in great detail, so it almost felt like I was reading a movie script. The author does a fairly good job setting up the plot and characters, and the plot moved very smoothly throughout the entire book.

    The two main characters, 15-year old John and his guardian Henri, are loners that have to keep moving from place to place so the Mogodorians don't detect them. The author establishes this very clearly in the beginning, and it seems the characters are both accepting of this long-standing rule. So when the pair arrives in Paradise, it didn't jive very well with me that John suddenly is attracted to girls and refuses to leave when they are in peril. A I read, I kept wondering, "Why now? Why does this boy, in the middle of puberty, suddenly notice girls NOW? Why does he decide to rebel against all rules NOW?" For any normal teenager, rebellion and sexual attraction don't happen overnight. Of course, if the author didn't bring up these obstacles in the main character, there wouldn't be a story. But I think it could have been worked into the character development a little better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Good but "made for hollywood"

    Fun read, but so far a typical formula book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Okay - but I was unimpressed

    There are a lot better books out there to read than this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun read, but nothing new

    If you are the target reading group, young adult, this is probably all news, but if you are as old as dirt, my age group, there is a lot that has happened in other books. Sort of a modern Superman, with out a cape, but there is a groovy outfit. It is sweet, it has page the page turner thing going on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Entertaining but...

    Written somewhat poorly. I understand it is a teen novel but that doesn't mean it should have such poor/repetative sentence structure. Otherwise I felt it was an average teen, highschool, paranormal drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    rick riordan

    I really enjoyed the story, but hated the way it was told. The writing style used is so awkward that it makes the story drudge along and does not make me feel invested in any of the charecters. I really expected this book to be more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    A good read

    This was okay. I'm holding judgement until the next book is released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Worth the read

    The book really did grab my attention. At first. The idea and concept was interesting yet for some reason I can't help but think I'm reading about Superman and his teen years in Smallville. That's not to say the book was bad, it was good, yet there just some parts in it where it made me think why the hype over this book?

    The writing was good. I liked how John started developing his powers throughout the book. It was also nice to see that he wasn't about to be bullied around by Mark (who's a total twit but he eventually does learn the error of his ways). He does stick up for himself and does fight back so at least he's got a backbone. He is likable although he's your average every day kid with superpowers. However I couldn't really entirely like him as a character, it just seemed as if he was lacking in personality and there wasn't much to him except that he was not from Earth and has tremendous super powers.

    I really did prefer the sidekicks in this novel; Henri, Bernie Kosar, and Sam. All three were my favorites. Both Henri and Bernie deserve a lot of kudos for what they went through for John (and their actions literally drove me to tears). Sam also proved to be a very loyal friend and pull through for John, and their friendship is a good one. It does give John a nice stable element in his life where he's always had to pick up his bags and go whenever things were to go wrong.

    The plot was all right. It was really exciting and fast paced for the first part of the novel and as John learns new skills, and learns about his home world and people, you learn more about his background and why he's here with Henri. I liked reading this part of the book, and it also gives you information on Henri and what his purpose is. Everything seems to be going well, including a couple of scraps with Mark, and some troubles with hiding his real identity. Then throughout approximately halfway through the pace slows down. John's fallen in love. For some reason this just slows down everything and it gets annoying and infuriating. John seems to be oblivious to the danger surrounding him, and his romance with Sarah, although sweet, just seems to be more of a page filler than anything else.

    At this point of the book, I was starting to get frustrated. I don't really give a dime about Sarah and John. There's killers out there out for John's head and all he's really caring about is when the next time he gets to see Sarah. Oh for crying out loud. Really? you have to have pages and pages of this? I stuck with it, and tolerated it, in the hopes I'll get rewarded in the end.

    Yes, I was rewarded! the last third of the novel focuses on a lot of action (and I mean A LOT) and when another of John's kind comes into the picture the action is increased threefold. I loved reading this part. There was so much going on at once but it was such a gripping read you couldn't tear yourself away. The ending doesn't really leave the reader in a cliffhanger but it does point the way for the second book.

    Even though the pace does slow down midway, sticking through with it does end up being rewarding. It is a good book for young adult readers and I'm wanting to know what's going to happen next. From what I hear, I'd read the book first then see the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not half bad...

    I am an avid science fiction reader who has recently found the adult sci fi selection of new releases a bit overcrowded with space operas and hi-tech warfare. I first saw the trailer for the movie and then saw the book in the store. Prefering to read the book first, I picked it up and was pleasantly surprised.

    The first half of the book is great and does a very good job of detailing why the 9 Loriens are on Earth and where they came from. However, the last few chapters of the book is a lot of "I hit this guy first, then I took out that guy's knees. After he was down, I went after the third guy"...and on and on and on.

    I can't say whether I liked the book or the movie better. I think the movie left out too much back story while the book got a little long winded three-quarters of the way through. I imagined the main character to be younger and more innocent than his movie counterpart (although the actor was really nice eye-candy!) I thought the main character's love interest, Sarah, was more of a fresh-faced, bubbly girl that everyone in high school liked instead of her artsy, "above all this high school stuff" movie character. The only character that was really consistent between the book and the movie was Six. I think I wouldn't have liked the movie as much if I hadn't read the book and vice versa.

    I've read that this book was written after the movie was in production and some reviewers thought it was poorly executed. I have to disagree. That's been done before with horrible results. Take "Legally Blonde"...the book was written after the movie and was terrible, there was absolutely no point in reading it. In the case of "I am Number Four," which is a great sci-fi idea, one has to read the book for the details and watch the movie for the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    Lots of Suspense, not much Depth

    The action and suspense starts in page 1 and barely ever lets up. You know trouble is always just around the corner, the hero charges ahead knowingly, and you can't wait to find out how he is going to make it through. The author doesn't really spend much time filling in the details, the sci-fi background is thin and not unsophisticated. Not the same level as you would find in a Michael Crichton book, much less mature. But still a pretty good, short little page turner...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Disappointed

    The sample was good. The reviews were good. The book itself seemed written for a young teen and instead of being well written for reading, it seemed well written to become a movie. Lots of flash and not alot of depth. Try the maze runner...that was a fantastic series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Okay read

    Lots of suspense but I did not think it was that well written. The authors flow was not great. Seemed like it was too choppy for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    It was a so, so book.

    i loved the beginning. it had me on the edge of my seat thinking omg whats going to happen next??? i <3 the beginnig but the ending was boring plus, i heard the movie sucked so next time i wont be getting the sequal, ill b getting something different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    This is a very good book but tooo short for me

    I lloved this book and cant wsit tl the next one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 462 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 24