Customer Reviews for

I Am Rembrandt's Daughter

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 7, 2009

    Finding truth in your feelings

    This book was a great read for when your feeling down and want to destract what ever is going on in your life. It just shows that nothing is what you originally thought and can turn the bad into good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    little disappointed

    I kept reading the book for a great turnout in the end but it didn't turn out that way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    WTF! YOU ALL SUCK HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    How could some(but not all) not read this wonderful,exiting book! I mean it may look diffrent and old fashion and boring, but for me i have the real book in my hands right now and i go to Centennial Middle School and i picked it all by myself and im still reading it. All i know that this book is the best book i have ever read so far in my 11 in a1/2 years of life!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    interesting take on a real life story

    THis book is about a girl named cornelia whos father, Rembrandt, and cornelias half brother titus, are all living in amsterdam in the 1600-1700's. There father is a old painter who refuses to paint what is popular and so they are living very sparingly in a old house where cornelias only company is her cat and titus. one day titus comes back from trying to sell his fathers paintings and says he is engaged to be married. This made cornelias world go upsidedown until she met carel, the love of her life... or so she thought. Thsi book was very interesting, especially because it is a true story happening during the time after the big epidemic, yellow fever. Although carel didnt actually exist during that time, it feels like when your reading this book you step back in time and feel the pain cornelia feels everyday towards life and her feelings towards the fiction character, carel. THis book was a hard one to put down and was a good book to read if you feel as if you need a refresher on the time where yellow fever was at its peak again. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    interesting read

    Although the storyline instantly captured my attention I found it to be lacking a certain something. A good rainy day book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Bibliomaniac

    i loved this book. you dont know who she will end up with and it so twisted in the end. you never see it coming. i liked it cause rembrant was an actual famous artist and that captured my attention with it. but if you live romance then you'll love this book! cause its so romantic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    Are you looking for a fantastic book, well here it just might be

    This book is absolutly wonderful. I learned that you don't have to be top dollar in oder to become so. I also would recommened u to read this book because it is really imspiring and it has a great romance! Also I can tell that the author of this book did alot of rseaching. You may think that when you first read the book that you are reading a biogrphy, but really you aren't. Because you will learn alot about Rembrandt. I would have to say this book was the best book i ever read and that you would not want to let it go!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    Wonderfully written

    This book was fantastic. An easy read with a lot of conversation which I love. From the author's notes, I can tell Lynn Cullen did a lot of research. I now know a lot about Rembrandt, but it was not like reading a biography at all. A very sweet romance! Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2007

    Perfect!

    I love this book - could not put it down! Easy reading with a very interesting story! Glad I read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2007

    Ridiculously Good!

    Wow, I had never heard of Lynn Cullen before I read this book. Now, I am looking forward to reading other books from her. Cornelia VanRijn is Rembrandt's daughter. Oftentimes, she is ashamed of her father for his bad manners, eccentricity, and her family's poverty-stricken life. Cornelia wishes to paint for herself, but as she hints, Rembrandt doesn't pay any care. She thinks that he completely favors her brother, Titus, but one day, Cornelia learns more about her past--and realizes who her true father is, and how much Rembrandt, who shows it in strange, subtle ways, loves her. With a touch of romance, this book is a masterpiece. After I read it, I found myself curious about Rembrandt's paintings. I couldn't put this book down, and I read it in a day. Excellent writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2007

    One of those books that you don't ever want to end...

    This book was incredible. Not only did it have tons of interesting characters, but it also had massive amounts of historical significance. I'd never really heard of Rembrandt until i'd read this book, but he turned out to be my favorite character, fictional or not. For anyone interested in art, amsterdam, or a feel-good romance, this is the book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2