Customer Reviews for

I Am Second: Real Stories. Changing Lives.

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    When I started to read this book, I was expecting something else

    When I started to read this book, I was expecting something else so it was a pleasant surprise to find this book packed full of testimonies, I know some people here are calling them stories but I feel that cheapens what these people had been through. It shows that some of these people that we think have it all together are real people that had their own problems and that it was through giving their lives to Christ that a change came about. While these testimonies are powerful and made this one book that was hard to put down, the impact comes at the end where the concept of putting God first and making yourself second is explained. I have said it before but I will say it again, this book shows that even those put on a pedestal (sports heroes, musicians, models, etc.) are real people with real issues, just like us. This is one book that I would recommend to anyone and everyone I know.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    This book was an incredible addition to the I Am Second movement

    This book was an incredible addition to the I Am Second movement! I love how the include a variety of people struggling with issues so many people are faced with in their lives today! I also enjoyed that they include testimonies from everyday people as well (not just celebrities)! Although I like that they included celebrities to help the non-famous people of this world realize that these people that are so easily put onto a pedestal struggle with much of the same things as we do. I also loved that they included the "links" to not only the personal video of the person giving their testimony that can be scanned via phone but also include other similar testimony videos that can me scanned as well! I think that feature is very helpful in our tech savvy world that we live in today! Having seen many of the videos prior to reading the book, I thought that I already knew the story. However, they put in a lot of other knowledge that added richness and depth to it, especially the background knowledge.
    And having the book available in paperback is a wonderful option for those who do not want to spend money on hardback.
    The only thing I would maybe add would be a short background on the I Am Second Movement somewhere at the beginning of the book.
    But overall I though it was a fantastic book and a wonderful tool for people everywhere, Christian or not!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    One of the best books I have ever read. Such a testimony. This

    One of the best books I have ever read. Such a testimony. This book will change your life. We show videos every Sunday of a life that was changed. Can't wait to share this with my friends in our book Club. If you haven't read it you need to ASAP.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2013

    This is so much more than a book, its a very personal look into

    This is so much more than a book, its a very personal look into lives transformed by the love of God! Imagine a group of people, from every walk in life, on a journey together. They all start out in a different place, from varied backgrounds and circumstances. Each one of them has their own talents and treasures, yet they have discovered they are broken people. They are searching to fill a void within themselves that is God shaped and God sized. In the midst of this they are all lead to the same place. Each one of them learn through a relationship with Jesus the importance of putting God first in their lives and becoming Second. It almost sounds biblical doesn't it? This isn't a story of people 2000 years ago experiencing a move of God. These are stories of people, right here, right now, seeing the goodness of God made manifest in the land of the living. They are real people just like you and me; athletes, soldiers, business professionals, single parents, married couples, divorced couples, people dealing with pain, loss, addiction, self worth issues, questions of faith. You name it, this book addresses it. You may recognize some of them as celebrities, some you may have never heard of. You may have only seen their glory, but now you get to hear their story! I remember the first time I went to check out the I Am Second website,...I watched Nate Larkin's film. It changed my life. I had already given my life to Christ but for the first time ever I didn't feel alone in the shameful struggles that lead up to my fall before I learned to put God first. Not only does the book demonstrate how a person's life changes once they receive a Godly heritage through salvation, it provides a road map for being Second in your own personal walk in life and the empowerment that follows. Get this book, get one for a friend or loved one. It will change their life. We truly cant experience victory until we learn what I means to be second!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Since I was very little, I have been fascinated by fairy tales a

    Since I was very little, I have been fascinated by fairy tales and epic stories.
    The kind of joy I felt after listening or reading one of those last for many days and some of them even years.
    The characters and their insights, the romance and the intrigue, the fantasy, the mixture of battles and beauty.
    Perfect fuel for the imagination and precious dreams.
    "I am Second: Real Stories. Changing Lives" book is a compilation of powerful stories as well but with two main differences:
    1) these stories did actually occur and 2) it could really happen to you as well.
    This is a book that to find it's true meaning does not need to be read with the mind but with your soul.
    To find its clues, do not approach to it as a literary work.
    Instead, open your heart to receive the amazing power of the most captivating real love story of all times:
    how JESUS has rescued all of us for eternity.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    This book is full of stories of real people and really life. Sto

    This book is full of stories of real people and really life. Stories of redemption, hope, faith, trust, and love! There wasn't one story that I couldn't connect with wether it be the feelings of loneliness or abandonment, to the healing and restoration. Not only has this book been used to give me hope and strengthen my faith, but what a tool it will be to give someone you know going through these same things! I have a list of all the people that I want to share it with! The five stories added to this book to make up the "extended edition" are just as amazing as the rest, with the same prospective of love and redemption, coming out new and different places, stages and struggles in life! 




    Over all an amazing book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    ¿I Am Second¿ is really wonderful book. It¿s one thing to read c

    “I Am Second” is really wonderful book. It’s one thing to read created stories and it’s another thing to read real stories of people who live with us at the same time. It’s so touching and inspiring to read stories of people and see how they are changed with the help of God., their past life, and now... It’s amazing when you can read about miracles in other’s life and have hope to have in your life too… Just open your heart to this book, read it with the real faith in God and open your heart to God let Him to work in your life as in this people’s life.  Just read the book and you’ll see it… 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    This is THE most amazing Christian book. Such encouragement and

    This is THE most amazing Christian book. Such encouragement and empowerment. It is a book that promotes the determination to put Christ 
    first and ourselves second. To find him in everything we say and do and the amazing creation around us. This book is definately a must have.
    For teens, family's, Bible Study's, Youth Groups, even a church wide book study. Its awesome. DO NOT MISS IT. BUY IT NOW.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    This book is one of the best, if not the best book I have ever r

    This book is one of the best, if not the best book I have ever read. I read the first I Am Second, and it changed my life...I went from a lost soul to being found and really being able to understand what it means to be a Christian and learn about what God's love does for us. This book is just as, if not even more effective than the first. The new I Am Second has different stories that reach out to so many people. Anyone who reads this book will find at least one of these stories that will impact his/her life forever. I know this first hand because it has happened to me. This is truly one of the greatest books that can ever be read. This book is an easy read, it can be read within hours. I personally recommend this book along with the other I Am Second books to everyone in my life!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    I don't even know how to express how much these stories have per

    I don't even know how to express how much these stories have personally impacted my life. The films alone are so moving and this book completely captures the emotion behind every story. Every detail is painted so well that you can imagine the scenes and events of what each person faced. The amount of raw truth and honesty in this book takes you from feeling like a tiny person, alone in a huge world to realizing every person has their struggles. From celebrity to average Joe, the stories from these individuals collectively unite them in their need for that one missing thing. This book will bring you hope and inspire you to seek the fulfillment that is far beyond what this world offers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent eye opening book,

    Excellent eye opening book,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Real people, real stories, real God! These stories jump off the

    Real people, real stories, real God! These stories jump off the page, and really intrigue the reader into getting the details of individuals you can related and know (many are famous such as Kathy Ireland, Darrel Waltrip, and Josh Hamilton). There are also many stories from every day people (CEO's, prostitute, and many other professional athletes as well).

    These stories come with access to their video testimonies as well as others related with the struggle they are talking too.

    I am Second is an incredible personal experience and everyone's story is so different with the same theme .. no matter what, we all have and serve a very loving, forgiving, and growing Lord. I would highly recommend getting the new paperback release as it also follows up with some stories heard before, including a riveting follow up with Brian "Head" Welch (ex Korn singer).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1