BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

I Am a Soldier, Too: The Jessica Lynch Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I really liked this one.

This book is about Jessica Lynch.A soldier in the 507th Division that was ambushed in Nasiryah ,Iraq.This book is very suspenceful and it will leave you hanging on to your seat. As you get further in the book you will understand what she and her familywent through. Jess...
This book is about Jessica Lynch.A soldier in the 507th Division that was ambushed in Nasiryah ,Iraq.This book is very suspenceful and it will leave you hanging on to your seat. As you get further in the book you will understand what she and her familywent through. Jessica Lynch was a Prisoner of war(POW)during Operation Iraqi Freedom in March 2001. I think this book is excellant. It is very compelling.You will understand what life in Iraq was like during the war and Saddam's reighn of terror.You will also learn about the Fedahin terrorist and what they did.This book will tell you how sick these people were.This book really touched me.This book is dramatic, a little funny, and very suspenceful. I couldn't stop reading until I was through with the book. You should definatly read this book.I promise you will enjoy it. When you finish it you will feel a little bit taller.This book makes you think.It really opens your eyes and mind to reality.What they did to woman if they captured them disgusted me and definatly opened my eyes to what life was like in Iraq during the war,It will do the same to you as well.This is a five star book.

posted by Anonymous on February 15, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I don't want Jessica Lynch in my foxhole

I like to give everyone a chance to tell their side of the story. I allowed Jessica Lynch to tell hers. But I really didn't see anything that was worth reading in this book. Of course I feel comfortable telling you this since I have honorably served 6 years in the mi...
I like to give everyone a chance to tell their side of the story. I allowed Jessica Lynch to tell hers. But I really didn't see anything that was worth reading in this book. Of course I feel comfortable telling you this since I have honorably served 6 years in the military. This book has proven to me that minorities like myself will never get the same treatment in the military or in American society for that matter. I left this book with the impression that Jessica Lynch was a substandard soldier. She was not able to fire a single round and her weapon jammed, probably because she lacked the discipline to properly maintain her rifle. But thanks to her light skin, the media was able to give her the title of a hero. Pretty much degrading the meaning of the word. According to her story, she did not perform anything worth noting as a heroic act. She didn't do anything more than her fellow soldiers, like Shoshana Johnson who was pretty much ignored due to the fact that her skin was a little too dark to be called a hero. I did learn something though. I learned that today's version of a hero has drastically changed from that version we had in World War 2, the greatest generation. They were real heroes and real soldiers.

posted by Anonymous on November 13, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    A Reader in Absolute Disgust

    As the daughter of a soldier in the United States Army, I was extremely offended by the account rendered in this book. We all know what a pity it was that this young woman was put through this trying time, but it is in no way fair to hold her above all those others that have died, been injured, maimed, or worse, for their country. She got to come home, the men who died in Somalia in 1993, did not. The other 11 casualties from her company went home in boxes. She has the nerve to say that her rescue was overdramaticized and she never wanted to be a part of something that supported the war in Iraq. I think she is suffering from an acute case of Wesley Clark-itis: one moment supporting the US Military, and then the next, defaming and slandering it to gain personal recognition. People are now calling her a hero and a victim of the Bush administration. She is no hero, heroes do not seek credit to their name, nor pity--her ordeal is a sad one, but not a new one. She was a clerk in a Maintenance Company that took a wrong turn, and instead of focusing thanks and praise on a military that make the ultimate sacrifice to protect the right of ungrateful Americans to slander them, she did what every Liberal in America wanted--retired from the Army and made herself appear robbed by the Bush Administration. Amazing how it happened after medals were awarded and honors given--Wesley Clark anyone? Maybe she'll be a guest speaker on his campaign trail, since lies are all the democrats seem to be able to muster now.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    I don't want Jessica Lynch in my foxhole

    I like to give everyone a chance to tell their side of the story. I allowed Jessica Lynch to tell hers. But I really didn't see anything that was worth reading in this book. Of course I feel comfortable telling you this since I have honorably served 6 years in the military. This book has proven to me that minorities like myself will never get the same treatment in the military or in American society for that matter. I left this book with the impression that Jessica Lynch was a substandard soldier. She was not able to fire a single round and her weapon jammed, probably because she lacked the discipline to properly maintain her rifle. But thanks to her light skin, the media was able to give her the title of a hero. Pretty much degrading the meaning of the word. According to her story, she did not perform anything worth noting as a heroic act. She didn't do anything more than her fellow soldiers, like Shoshana Johnson who was pretty much ignored due to the fact that her skin was a little too dark to be called a hero. I did learn something though. I learned that today's version of a hero has drastically changed from that version we had in World War 2, the greatest generation. They were real heroes and real soldiers.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2003

    what about those that are still there

    First off, one must have been in the military to gauge a military book. I can say I have been. Secondly, it does a little more justice that I am a woman. A woman who served 4 honorable years, had my heartaches, but always believed in the red white and blue. Somewhere Jessica forgot that no human, regardless of race creed sex or religion enlists in the service without a few truths. First, they love their country and want to serve her. Secondly, soldiers, sailors Airmen and Marines have DIED and will continue to die for freedom. Third, there are still over 3 thousand MIAs from a little war the public tried to sweep under the table called Vietnam. Some might have passed on, some might be brainwashed and still alive...but when they were asked for their unit's movements and allied secrets...they said nothing, except for the laws of conduct. I am a military fighting person, I serve in the armed forces that protect our country and our way of life, I AM PREPARED TO GIVE MY LIFE FOR THAT CAUSE. (sorry it's not exact but it's been awhile) TO say 'I didn't support the US in iraq' and a few other choice sentences let's me know, as the press has shown, that it was a poor girl who wanted to get free school to become a teacher. THAT IS NOT A STORY. There are still strong men and woman overseas following the code of conduct who will either re-enlist or come out and be shell shocked as to what the country thinks of a hero to be. America should not boycott Jessica, but the author and the publisher who decided the all mighty dollar was the most important issue they needed to face. In full, A ghost written memoir that I will give to the salvation army.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2003

    Fabricated Premise Published by Knopf

    The premise that Lynch was raped and tortured has to be fabricated in this book when Lynch does not remember that night nor does she know what happened in the hospital facility. And doctors don't even back up the claim that she was raped that night. How can the publisher claim, and I quote: '[This] is the story this country has hungered for, as told by Lynch herself to Pulitzer Prize-winning author Rick Bragg. In it, she tells what really happened in the ambush; what really happened in the hospital; what really happened, from her perspective, on the night of the rescue.' The hunger is TO MAKE MONEY that will fill Bragg's pockets, as well as Knopf's purse--there is no doubt it's Lynch who's getting raped by sensationist journalism on the behalf of Bragg. Shame on you KNOPF and BRAGG for trying to exploit her experience and manipulate readers into something fabricated by a journalist who's already been sacked at the New York Times for concocting false premises. This reeks of get rich quick schemes that rides on the coat tails of patriotism.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    Little Credibility

    It's amazing that anyone would write a book based on this story, except to make money. Jessica admits to absolutely no recall for the most important part of the story....anyone who goes into a war is a hero, but this story is weak.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2003

    No Facts - More Fiction Without Proof

    Contends are nothing new same as past TV news or newspaper articles. Lot of made up fiction without real facts. Not very interesting story just a country girl growing up in WV. There are many stories like this one out there...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1