Customer Reviews for

I Am an Executioner: Love Stories

Average Rating 3.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Quirky, unexpected, amusing, distubing. I would definitely recom

    Quirky, unexpected, amusing, distubing. I would definitely recommend this book but these stories are not for everyone. Parameswaran has a wonderful way of bringing his characters to life through their voices, and while some may be unsavory they are nontheless complicated and entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Ming was my favorite story of them all. It was brutal but very

    Ming was my favorite story of them all. It was brutal but very heartbreaking from the tigers point of view. The elephant story was fabulous had it not been for the horrendous footnotes. It was so annoying. I might recommend this book to only some of my friends but not all of them. I also don't think I would ever buy one his books again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I don't usually pick up books of short stories, but since I like

    I don't usually pick up books of short stories, but since I like to be a somewhat well-rounded reader, this Barnes and Nobles Discover New Writers summer 2012 pick appealed to me.  "I am an Executioner: Love Stories" by Rajesh Parameswaran (say that name 3 times fast!) had a title that was intriguing, considering executioners kill people.

    I started to summarize each short story, and then got a little bored of that tactic, but here are a few below:

    The Infamous Bengal Ming: Told from the point of view of a tiger, Ming is so in love with his trainer that he accidentally mauls and kills him.  He proceeds on his journey with all good intentions, only to continue to cause chaos.  This is my FAVORITE story because of Ming's struggle between domestication and natural wild instincts.

    The Strange Career of Dr. Raju Gopalarajan: This one confused me, although the author won an award for it.  A man is fired from CompUSA, and decides to impersonate a doctor, only to, of course, not to so well.  That part I understood, but the ending left me a little stumped.

    Four Rajeshes: This is a story about a homosexual man who gives love in harsh ways (love accompanied by painful swats for whatever he feels like).  One day, a man enters his life, bothers him immensely with his strange-looking writing, and disappears from his life, only to permeate his mind.

    On the Banks of the Table River:  What a cool story!  Told from the alien's perspective from the planet Lucina, these "insects" try to adapt to living on a planet where humans enjoy visiting.  At the same time, it seems that a native child, Nippima, might have gotten herself into a little bit of trouble.  Loved this story!

    I also really enjoyed the title story, I am an Executioner.  It was such an interesting take on a love story, and not what I was expecting!

    Elephants in Captivity (Part One) was really painful for me to read.  It's super short but has ridiculously long footnotes that made it really confusing and unappealing.  I didn't even want to be not-confused with that story.  If you pick up this book, I'd say that chapter is a skip!

    All in all, the book was half enjoyable.  I really did like some of the stories, especially the ones I could understand!  However, some were confusing and made me feel like I wasn't smart enough to "get" the message.

    Barnes and Nobles Discover New Writers loved it, and the author has won awards for some of his short stories.  I'm mixed on this.  If you're in for a challenge, and to enjoy some of the stories and maybe not others, go ahead and pick it up.

    Have you read any AMAZING short stories?

    Thanks for reading,

    Rebecca @ Love at First Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Thoughtful and on the edge.

    Obtuse and oddly imaginative consideration of "Love Stories"...the entries, I Am An Executioner and The Infamous Bengal Ming are especially complex and challenging, yet with a certain tenderness and gentle understanding of the human condition. You'll stay alert while in their company!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    What makes this book brilliant are the extreme creativity of the

    What makes this book brilliant are the extreme creativity of the plots; the very highly varied voices in which the tales are told; and the author's elegant and sometimes unusual language (e..g. the stories about the elephant and executioner are examples respectively). While several of his stories invoke other great writers including Kafka, R.K. Narayan, Poe, Borges, and even Stephen King, Parameswaran really does redefine the notion of the short story, as Gary Shteyngart says on the back cover. Who else has produced a collection as creative, varied, and well written as this?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    I am not sure of the point this book is trying to make. Not onl

    I am not sure of the point this book is trying to make. Not only was it boring, but it was extremely disturbing and gruesome. The reviews say witty and funny, but I had to stop reading after a few chapters. I am not one to give up on a book and tend to painfully wait it out to the end, but it honestly unsettled me enough to stop after chapter 3. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1