Customer Reviews for

I Am the Central Park Jogger: A Story of Hope and Possibility

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2003

    The Strength to Carry On

    This memoir was very well written and successfully accomplished its purpose of demonstrating a healing process not focused on anger but on love and discovery. As a college student I feel this is an excellent book to read because it introduces the idea of conquering one's fears and the unknown. Although I have never experienced such a tramatic experience I respect and greatly admire Trisha Meili's way of overcoming this tragedy. This was an amazingly courageous book that influences its readers to be proactive and each day try to take baby steps to improve upon the person they are and strive to be. I definitely enjoyed reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2007

    Not what I expected

    All I can say is that this book seems like it was written by a Wall Street banker - which it was. I was expecting an inspiring story of creating a new life after a truly tragic attack, but it just seemed like a very cold and distant account of the events that followed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2005

    Courageous

    Anyone who can put into words a traumatic event that has changed their entire environment and mental state has the courage to do anything. I was so intrigued by this since I was just a young girl when this happened. I too read through the book very quickly. I think the books inspires us all to look at what we hold dear in our lives. I appreciated her thoughts on how her life appeared before the attack, how grateful she was to have had those memories, and those are the things we seem to forget in the time of crisis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    a story of inspiration

    An engaging novel about a woman determined not to be beaten by the odds. It really details her journey from before the horrific act, to the aftermath, to her life today. At times it comes across as a little wordy though, with the medical jargon but a novel that should be read nevertheless especially if you are faced wtih odds that you are not supposed to beat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2003

    Powerful Healing

    Last October 20th, 2003 I attended a speech Trisha Meili gave at St. Charles Hospital here on Long Island, New York. She talked about her brain injury and recovery. In April of 1989, five teenage boys were accused of raping, beating, and leaving Trisha for dead in Central Park where she jogged. The media named Trisha, 'The Central Park Jogger.' As Trisha gave her speech, her voice lit up. She talked about her months of recovery and healing. After the speech, I had Trisha sign my copy of her book 'I Am The Central Park Jogger.' From the bottom of my heart, I honestly told Trisha, she's an inspiration to me. My comment made her very happy. This prompted me to read her story. Never once was I disappointed with 'I Am The Central Park Jogger.' Just like in her speech, Trisha, in a clear powerful voice wrote about her brain injury and healing process with the help from family and friends. That is what kept me interested. This book goes to show how your life can change in an instant. Don't take life for granted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2003

    I am intrigued by this book

    I was asking questions about this woman and just what had happened to her. My questions were both answered and not answered. I do think it's inspiring that she healed so well after the devistating attack but I would like to know a little more of her thoughts and those of the family behind her. What is it that she is trying to say here? Is it that all good wishes from friends and family came true or was there an aspect of spirituality? I give the book three stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2003

    Surviving and growing.

    An affirmation that everyday people are the real heros. This young lady dwells not on the attack itself, but how she was able to overcome and go on with life. As the mother of a spinal cord injury son, Trisha Meili has reaffirmed my belief that healing never stops it just goes on in a different direction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2003

    BEYOND SURVIVAL

    I READ THIS BOOK, BEING FAMILIAR (AS A NEW YORKER)WITH THE EVENTS OF APRIL 19TH & 20TH, 1989. IT ONLY TOOK ME THREE DAYS TO READ THE BOOK FROM COVER TO COVER. MS. MEILI DOSN'T GO INTO AS GREAT DETAIL OF HER INJURIES AS ONE WOULD EXPECT (SHE REFERS THE READER TO UNEQUAL VERDICTS, BY TIM SULLIVAN ESQ). INSTEAD SHE DESCRIBES HER JOURNEY FROM BEING IN A COMA(BASED ON WHAT FRIENDS, FAMILY AND DOCTORS HAVE TOLD HER) TO TODAY, & THE IMPACT THAT ALL THE WELL-WISHERS HAVE HAD ON HER RECOVERY OVER THESE 14 YEARS. SHE HAS A VERY POSITIVE OUTLOOK, & VERY CLEARLY EXPRESSES IT IN HER WRITINGS. SHE ALSO DESCRIBES THE POSITIVE EFFECTS SHE HAS HAD ON OTHER'S LIVES. THIS BOOK IS A MUST READ. WHEN IT RAINED, SHE LOOKED FOR AND FOUND THE RAINBOW IN HER LIFE. WAY TO GO TRISHA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2003

    Amazing!!!

    I enjoyed the book 'I am the Central Park Jogger' by Trisha Meili. Like a lot of people, I was shocked at the incident of April 19, 1989 when a 28-year-old investment banker was severely beaten and raped in New York' Central Park. A lot of us prayed for her recovery, expecting the worst, but praying for the best, not knowing her name. Well, now we do through her book. It is well written and a good narrative in the first person before and after the attack. Between that is done in the third person because she had no recollection of the attack and the descriptions by law enforcement and medical personnel can give a better picture of she was facing. They tie in very well. One cannot be a pessimist after reading this book. You have to pull for her because she has a positive attitude toward this as she tries to come back and does. There are some problems and she does not try to sugar coat them. But it was a far cry that medical experts feared for her. The book is not for whiners or professional victims either. There is no blame to anyone, rather letting the justice system take its course. She believes in the task ahead and thinking about the future, rather than the past. The second part of the title is' A Story of Hope and Possibility'. That is appropriate for this time of year. It coincides with the Easter season which is a season of hope and renewal. One reason for the book was to thank and reach out to the people who prayed for her recovery. We should be thanking her for coming back from such a horrible attack and having the courage to write such a powerful and moving book. She is a hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2003

    Inspiring story of Survival

    Highly recommend this book!!!! Just couldn't put it down. Wonderful story of the spirit and will to live and overcome all obstacles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    A Story of Courage and Determination

    This is a story of a very intelligent, courageous and determined young woman who beat all odds and triumphed over death. She has not time for revenge, only to become the person she once was. Her family, friends, and medical personnel inspire her to do her best. I only wish there were photographs, if only in back and white, to show the reader Trisha thru the years and of her family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1