Customer Reviews for

I Am the Cheese

Average Rating 4
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I read this for my 9th grade english class

This is the only assigned book that i read thoroughly cover to cover my freshman year and i'm so glad i did. i loved it so much. its a beautifully written mental journal of the protaganist struggling to find himself. its the same journey we all take at that age but he h...
This is the only assigned book that i read thoroughly cover to cover my freshman year and i'm so glad i did. i loved it so much. its a beautifully written mental journal of the protaganist struggling to find himself. its the same journey we all take at that age but he has a wrench thrown in. it's written in a mix of prose and transcripts. the prose cuts between first and third person. it seemed confusing to me but when i started it was completely clear. this is a beautiful story. i was sobbing at the end.

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

??

while reading the book most things made sense and seemed interesting but the end i was so confused and had so many questions. I was disapointed because i thought it would be a great book.

posted by Anonymous on January 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2008

    I read this for my 9th grade english class

    This is the only assigned book that i read thoroughly cover to cover my freshman year and i'm so glad i did. i loved it so much. its a beautifully written mental journal of the protaganist struggling to find himself. its the same journey we all take at that age but he has a wrench thrown in. it's written in a mix of prose and transcripts. the prose cuts between first and third person. it seemed confusing to me but when i started it was completely clear. this is a beautiful story. i was sobbing at the end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    'The cheese stands alone'

    The book ¿I Am the Cheese¿ I a great book. Is if full of suspenseful events that will lead you to keep on reading. The book has two plots to it. Some of it is Adam Farmers Journey to ¿find his father¿. And some of it is the interrogation between the ¿psychologist¿ and Adam Farmer when he is at the insane asylum. Throughout the book you know that there is something wrong with Adam but it is hard to tell just what it is. As the story goes on you start to see more of a connection between the two plots in the story. As more time passes more of Adams past is revealed and even more of a connection is seen. At the end you learn that Adam suffers from amnesia and were never on a trip to find his father. You also learn that his family was in hiding and has a secret past. ¿The cheese stands alone¿ Adam says he is the cheese, and he will always be. He thinks he will always stand alone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    A reviewer

    do not be frustrated when you first start this book. I am fourteen and extremely impatient, but I was determined to read this book... That was a great decision. This novel is a bit slow in the beginning, but get past the first fifteen pages or so and you'll be hooked. We are the audience for Adam's mental journal. He brings us on the long awaited journey to find his father, and while doing so, we also witness his conversation with the 'doctor' he must have sessions with every day. You'll be rooting for Adam every step of the way. Be prepared though, to cry for him at the end. 'enjoy!'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    ??

    while reading the book most things made sense and seemed interesting but the end i was so confused and had so many questions. I was disapointed because i thought it would be a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2006

    I felt empty

    While reading this book, going along on Adam's journey i felt if not confused, empty like the book genuinely depressed me. I really wouldn't reccomend this book to an individual. Maybe to a class to see how other people felt about it but not leisurly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2000

    Kids: Read this out loud with a parent!

    My 13-year-old daughter was assigned this book in an 8th-grade English class, but I think both its format and subject matter are perhaps too confusing for such unsophisticated readers. I would recommend that it be saved until late in high school, even though the protagonist is a young teenager. My daughter got so confused by this novel, that she got way behind in her assigned reading. And so she asked me to read it aloud to her. This proved quite helpful for her, since we were able to stop and puzzle over certain incidents together, rather than her trying to figure things our for herself. (She couldn't, most of the time, and so she often gave up.) This novel, though brilliantly written and quite compelling to read as an adult, is extremely dark and complex. I really feel that we are asking too much of our middle-schoolers, developmentally, to grasp this at home on their own. If teachers insist on assigning it in middle school, I would suggest that they read it IN CLASS together with their students. There are too many frightening aspects of mind-control and inuendo that could send an adolescent with the least bit of self-esteem problems into a deep, downward spiral of depressing thoughts. A teacher explaining and watching for untoward reactions from his/her students could help to move these thoughts into a more positive realm. We should try at this age to re-affirm our children's values of self-worth instead of scaring them to death! If teachers would take the time to read this in class with their students, I believe I AM THE CHEESE is definitely worth the effort. Cormier does a masterful job of weaving various motifs throughout his narrative -- the chills, the bicycle, even the color gray, as well as several others. As a former college instructor, I would think this novel could provide the basis for some excellent, thought-provoking compositions by juniors or seniors in high school. But, as I said to begin with: Kids, read this out loud with an adult!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2015

    Speckledfur

    Littlekit a small grey tabby with green eyes
    Rosekit a female kit with brown eyes and cream/brown fur

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2015

    Luna 9:54eastern

    Ok. Tell u what. Go join Fireclan at fireclan res. 1 or if u have any rps u want me to join

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2015

    Casey's Cra-Cra life

    "OH FISH DUCK DUCK!!!!" I screamed at an amninatronic chicken. I closed the door. My power was draining lower and lowrr. I ripped of my elmo tee. The fan was blasting but i didnt feel a thung. I wokeee up. "Ahhhhhhhh PANKACES!!!!" My sister said. I stared at the man standing in the middle of the roomm He was wearing a pancake costume. "Hey-ho get ya spam meat pancakes!" He said in a idian/german accent. I pushed him out of my room and pushed him down the stairsm He fell and tumbled down every step. I dusted my hands off and spanked my hampster until he stopped screaming (he hates pancakes even though his name is pancakse) "SHUT UP!" I screamed. "But i hate pances." Pancakes said in a deep macho voice.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    Repeat this

    Kiss your hand three times then repeat this message on three other books and then look under your pillow

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2014

    A good psychological drama/thriller.  I enjoyed some elements of

    A good psychological drama/thriller.  I enjoyed some elements of suspense throughout the book.  A good read.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    What?

    Why is it called i am the cheese also this book is confusing boring and stupid if there was minus nine thousand and one rating then it would get lower than that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Fnfg

    Have to read this book in school. Very confusing to me but reading what others have to say it makes sence

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Imagine biking a far distance to visit your dad. The character d

    Imagine biking a far distance to visit your dad. The character did just that. This book is entitled I Am The Cheese by Robert Cormier.
    This book is about a boy named Adam Farmer who lives in Monument, Massachusetts.

    Adam wants to bring his dad a present in Rutterburg, Vermont. On Adam’s bike ride to Rutterburg, Vermont he runs into a bunch of problems. The book has two sets: past and present. The past is mainly the story and the present is revealed in a dialogue on a tape.

    One of the things I liked about this book was the mind twisting action. I also liked the ways he solved his problems, because I think I knew what was going to happen and it ended up differently. He solves his problems kind of a weird or in a funny way. The things I did not like about the book were how long Adam’s parents kept secrets from him.

    Adam has good physical and emotional traits. For his physical strength he can bike a long period of time before he has to take a break. Adam can travel a far distance in a short period of time. For emotional features Adam says how much he misses his girlfriend and how sad he is during his ride. Adam’s physical and emotional features play an important role in the story because they motivate him to keep moving without stopping. This makes him human.

    I would recommend this book to people who like suspense, action, and romance. The thing’s the reader must do in order to enjoy the book is to imagine being a character in the book and experience the things that is happening to them. This is a book I would suggest you buy for your own reading pleasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Think of yourself riding your bike miles just to go see a specia

    Think of yourself riding your bike miles just to go see a special person. This book is called I Am Cheese by Robert Cormier and it’s about a boy name Adam Farmer, who rode his bike to Rutterburg, Vermont from Monument.

    Adam was an ordinary kid who was riding his bike to Rutterburg to go see his father at the hospital. Adam lived with his parents at Monument. He likes a girl named Amy Hertz; he met her at the library when they bumped into each other. Adam found out some secrets his parents were hiding from him.

    The thing I liked about this book is that Adam Rode his bike all the way to Rutterburg, Vermont. I liked how he would go that far to go see his father at the hospital. I also liked how the old man at the train station gave him the direction were to go, I would get lost if somebody didn’t show me the directions. There was nothing in this book that I didn’t like. It’s just typical of me to say I liked everything in a book.

    Adam is always frustrated when he couldn’t figure something out. At first he was a boy that never doubted his parents, but when he found out secrets they’ve been hiding from him, he started becoming suspicious. He felt trapped because he couldn’t figure out the puzzle to the secrets they were hiding.

    I would highly recommend I Am The Cheese to anyone that likes to get their selves deep into mysteries and secrets, readers should expect a lot of figurative language and tape recording in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Do you ever think how scary it would be to go on a rode trip by

    Do you ever think how scary it would be to go on a rode trip by yourself? Well, it would be scary if you were alone on your bike. The book I am the Cheese by Robert Comier is about, a boy named Adam Farmer goes on a journey to find his father in a town far away.

    In the book I am the Cheese Adam travels on his bike to meet his father some where far away. He meets lots of people for directions and for other things that might come up as he is traveling.

    The best part of this book is how the author tells Adams life, and how he makes I feel realistic. The characters in this story take a while for them to kick in and get to be known in this book. There is nothing that I really dislike in this story, this was a great book that I liked very much, and it is a genre that I like.

    The main character Adam in this story is interesting and he seems to figure out things that are hard to get to and he knows how to protect himself at certain parts in the book.

    I would recommend the I Am the Cheese. I would recommend this book to readers who some likes a good story with some twist and turns. Readers need to be aware of how Adams life is twisted in his story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Do you ever feel like you¿re alone? Well, that is how Adam Farme

    Do you ever feel like you’re alone? Well, that is how Adam Farmer feels like throughout this whole book called “I Am the Cheese” by Robert Comier.

    He lives in Monument, Massachusetts and he is going to Rutterburg, Vermont to give his dad a gift. “I Am the Cheese” is about Adam’s life. On this journey Adam discovers many secrets behind his life.

    The thing I like about this book is the way Adam is really brave. I wish I could be brave like Adam. That is part of the reason I like this book. Another thing I liked was that Adam is willing to talk to strangers. The things I disliked were when he was on his bike to go to his dad in Rutterburg, Vermont. The reason I disliked it was that it never made sense to me. The book was confusing because it was complex and had many pieces to the story.

    Adam is very weird in many ways but he is a very nice person and shy to people he doesn’t like. In the story, his bike gets taken and he has to talk to this fat guy to find out where his bike is. This shows how he is shy to strangers.

    The kind of reader that would love this book would be people who like mysteries. Readers should expect to be really confused in the beginning, but at the end you will get it and it will make sense! I think that readers will like it a lot because it is really hard to put down. I recommend buying this book today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Do you ever think about just having one friend throughout your w

    Do you ever think about just having one friend throughout your whole childhood? In the book I Am the Cheese by Robert Cormier, Adam Farmer doesn’t have a regular childhood like us.

    I am The Cheese is about a boy named Adam Farmer who thinks about who he is. He is an adventure to give his father something. He remains in his own little world and gets uncomfortable when forced to talk to others, during this trip, he stays on his own.

    Something I like about I Am the Cheese is the numbers. The numbers are when Adam and his friend Amy make these dares and no matter what, they both have to do them. I compare these to me because I like to try new things. Another reason I like the book is how the author describes Adam and the events in great detail throughout the book. Some things I dislike about the book are that it shorter than I wanted. Another reason I like the book is that the author had events that weren’t important or relevant in the book.

    The main character is Adam Farmer. Adam feels ashamed and confused and stupid most of the time because he doesn’t know what is going on at all. Adam doesn’t really get along with anyone else but Amy Hertz because Amy was his friend for a very long time, and he trusts her. Adam feels foolish and dumb about himself. He believes the way to fix his life is to find his father and give him a gift. Adam doesn’t share his beliefs with anyone else but himself because he a shy person and stands alone.

    I would recommend the book because the author told it in an interesting way. The author did a good job describing Adam Farmer. The people that would enjoy this book are at a high school grade level or people that like mystery and crime books. What you need to expect so you can enjoy the book, is that in the beginning of the book it is hard to follow. However as the book goes on you will enjoy it. You should get this book because it is one of the most amazing books I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Do you think he¿ll be able to find out his real identity? I Am t

    Do you think he’ll be able to find out his real identity? I Am the Cheese is full of adventures. Once you start reading you’ll want to keep turning the pages and never stop. The author is Robert Cormier.

    This book is about a young boy named Adam Farmer. He goes on a bike ride to visit his father in Rutterburg, Vermont at a hospital. He brings along a package for his What I like about this book is Adam. He is determined to go see his father so far away.

    One example why I like this is because of Adams words; “It’s cold as I pedal along, the wind like a snake slithering up my sleeves and into my jacket and pants legs, too but I keep pedaling.” What I don’t like about the book is Whipper, he’s a person Adam met while resting at a restaurant. Whipper bullies Adam and threatens him. He also pushed Adam into a ditch. Another reason why I dislike this book is because Adam’s family kept secrets away from him. Families should not keep secrets away from one another.

    One theme of this book is loneliness. Loneliness is so important because it can affect your life. Loneliness hurts and it’s bad because you’d like someone to keep you company and someone to keep you smiling or laughing. Also, you’d like someone to not give up on you and be able to go on with life.

    If you are interested in adventures, families, or secrets, I recommend you read this book because it is quite surprising. In order to read this book you must understand the message they are trying to tell you and pay close attention. This book is worth buying for your own personal library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Do you like to read books with thrills and adventure? If so, I A

    Do you like to read books with thrills and adventure? If so, I Am the Cheese by Robert Cormier is a book for you.

    I Am the Cheese is a good book that is filled with adventure. It is filled with adventure because it is all about Adam’s big journey. It is in both first person and third person. It also has a lot of thrills in it.

    For me I liked the whole book, but the best part for me would have to be how the book is filled with adventure. I like that it was about adventure is because I like to go on adventures. I didn't dislike any of it because I usually like books that I read.

    One major topic in the book is fear. The author always brings up Adam’s fear throughout the book. I think he does this to tell readers that no matter what they do they will always have some kind of fear whether it’s a small fear or a big fear.

    I recommend reading this book even if you think you won’t like it. I think this book is meant for a teen reader. To enjoy this book I would recommend that you try to compare it to your life in some way. You should also be prepared to deal with how it is laid out because it is tough. It switches back and forth from different topics. Something that is different in this book from others is how it is in two different point of views. Buy it. It is worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7