Customer Reviews for

I Am the Cheese

Average Rating 4
( 133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I read this for my 9th grade english class

This is the only assigned book that i read thoroughly cover to cover my freshman year and i'm so glad i did. i loved it so much. its a beautifully written mental journal of the protaganist struggling to find himself. its the same journey we all take at that age but he h...
This is the only assigned book that i read thoroughly cover to cover my freshman year and i'm so glad i did. i loved it so much. its a beautifully written mental journal of the protaganist struggling to find himself. its the same journey we all take at that age but he has a wrench thrown in. it's written in a mix of prose and transcripts. the prose cuts between first and third person. it seemed confusing to me but when i started it was completely clear. this is a beautiful story. i was sobbing at the end.

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

??

while reading the book most things made sense and seemed interesting but the end i was so confused and had so many questions. I was disapointed because i thought it would be a great book.

posted by Anonymous on January 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    A reviewer

    do not be frustrated when you first start this book. I am fourteen and extremely impatient, but I was determined to read this book... That was a great decision. This novel is a bit slow in the beginning, but get past the first fifteen pages or so and you'll be hooked. We are the audience for Adam's mental journal. He brings us on the long awaited journey to find his father, and while doing so, we also witness his conversation with the 'doctor' he must have sessions with every day. You'll be rooting for Adam every step of the way. Be prepared though, to cry for him at the end. 'enjoy!'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2000

    Kids: Read this out loud with a parent!

    My 13-year-old daughter was assigned this book in an 8th-grade English class, but I think both its format and subject matter are perhaps too confusing for such unsophisticated readers. I would recommend that it be saved until late in high school, even though the protagonist is a young teenager. My daughter got so confused by this novel, that she got way behind in her assigned reading. And so she asked me to read it aloud to her. This proved quite helpful for her, since we were able to stop and puzzle over certain incidents together, rather than her trying to figure things our for herself. (She couldn't, most of the time, and so she often gave up.) This novel, though brilliantly written and quite compelling to read as an adult, is extremely dark and complex. I really feel that we are asking too much of our middle-schoolers, developmentally, to grasp this at home on their own. If teachers insist on assigning it in middle school, I would suggest that they read it IN CLASS together with their students. There are too many frightening aspects of mind-control and inuendo that could send an adolescent with the least bit of self-esteem problems into a deep, downward spiral of depressing thoughts. A teacher explaining and watching for untoward reactions from his/her students could help to move these thoughts into a more positive realm. We should try at this age to re-affirm our children's values of self-worth instead of scaring them to death! If teachers would take the time to read this in class with their students, I believe I AM THE CHEESE is definitely worth the effort. Cormier does a masterful job of weaving various motifs throughout his narrative -- the chills, the bicycle, even the color gray, as well as several others. As a former college instructor, I would think this novel could provide the basis for some excellent, thought-provoking compositions by juniors or seniors in high school. But, as I said to begin with: Kids, read this out loud with an adult!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Imagine biking a far distance to visit your dad. The character d

    Imagine biking a far distance to visit your dad. The character did just that. This book is entitled I Am The Cheese by Robert Cormier.
    This book is about a boy named Adam Farmer who lives in Monument, Massachusetts.

    Adam wants to bring his dad a present in Rutterburg, Vermont. On Adam’s bike ride to Rutterburg, Vermont he runs into a bunch of problems. The book has two sets: past and present. The past is mainly the story and the present is revealed in a dialogue on a tape.

    One of the things I liked about this book was the mind twisting action. I also liked the ways he solved his problems, because I think I knew what was going to happen and it ended up differently. He solves his problems kind of a weird or in a funny way. The things I did not like about the book were how long Adam’s parents kept secrets from him.

    Adam has good physical and emotional traits. For his physical strength he can bike a long period of time before he has to take a break. Adam can travel a far distance in a short period of time. For emotional features Adam says how much he misses his girlfriend and how sad he is during his ride. Adam’s physical and emotional features play an important role in the story because they motivate him to keep moving without stopping. This makes him human.

    I would recommend this book to people who like suspense, action, and romance. The thing’s the reader must do in order to enjoy the book is to imagine being a character in the book and experience the things that is happening to them. This is a book I would suggest you buy for your own reading pleasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Do you ever feel like you¿re alone? Well, that is how Adam Farme

    Do you ever feel like you’re alone? Well, that is how Adam Farmer feels like throughout this whole book called “I Am the Cheese” by Robert Comier.

    He lives in Monument, Massachusetts and he is going to Rutterburg, Vermont to give his dad a gift. “I Am the Cheese” is about Adam’s life. On this journey Adam discovers many secrets behind his life.

    The thing I like about this book is the way Adam is really brave. I wish I could be brave like Adam. That is part of the reason I like this book. Another thing I liked was that Adam is willing to talk to strangers. The things I disliked were when he was on his bike to go to his dad in Rutterburg, Vermont. The reason I disliked it was that it never made sense to me. The book was confusing because it was complex and had many pieces to the story.

    Adam is very weird in many ways but he is a very nice person and shy to people he doesn’t like. In the story, his bike gets taken and he has to talk to this fat guy to find out where his bike is. This shows how he is shy to strangers.

    The kind of reader that would love this book would be people who like mysteries. Readers should expect to be really confused in the beginning, but at the end you will get it and it will make sense! I think that readers will like it a lot because it is really hard to put down. I recommend buying this book today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Do you think he¿ll be able to find out his real identity? I Am t

    Do you think he’ll be able to find out his real identity? I Am the Cheese is full of adventures. Once you start reading you’ll want to keep turning the pages and never stop. The author is Robert Cormier.

    This book is about a young boy named Adam Farmer. He goes on a bike ride to visit his father in Rutterburg, Vermont at a hospital. He brings along a package for his What I like about this book is Adam. He is determined to go see his father so far away.

    One example why I like this is because of Adams words; “It’s cold as I pedal along, the wind like a snake slithering up my sleeves and into my jacket and pants legs, too but I keep pedaling.” What I don’t like about the book is Whipper, he’s a person Adam met while resting at a restaurant. Whipper bullies Adam and threatens him. He also pushed Adam into a ditch. Another reason why I dislike this book is because Adam’s family kept secrets away from him. Families should not keep secrets away from one another.

    One theme of this book is loneliness. Loneliness is so important because it can affect your life. Loneliness hurts and it’s bad because you’d like someone to keep you company and someone to keep you smiling or laughing. Also, you’d like someone to not give up on you and be able to go on with life.

    If you are interested in adventures, families, or secrets, I recommend you read this book because it is quite surprising. In order to read this book you must understand the message they are trying to tell you and pay close attention. This book is worth buying for your own personal library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Do you ever wonder what it would be like not knowing who you rea

    Do you ever wonder what it would be like not knowing who you really are? It would be strange and frightening to be a lost teen. In the book I am the cheese by Robert Cormier, Adam farmer thinks he is on a journey, but finds himself to discovering many hidden secrets of his life.

    In the book I Am the Cheese, Adam farmer goes on a journey from Massachusetts to Vermont to find his father. In additional to this story, Adam is also discovering new secrets about his family, his life, and him self.

    One thing that I liked about the book was the setting and how to understand where Adam is and what is happening you have to really pay attention. One thing I didn’t like was how there were three stories that I needed to follow; Adam’s bike trip, his discussion with his therapist, and memories of his parents.

    In I Am the Cheese, Adam feels emotional, sad, and confused. All of his feelings start to change when he talks or about Amy. Socially Adam does not like people. His only real friend is Amy, otherwise he is alone, quiet, and still.

    I would highly recommend this book to any one who likes a complex story. Also to enjoy this book you need to have a good imagination and must notice everything that goes on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    If you like adventure, action, mystery and drama books then you

    If you like adventure, action, mystery and drama books then you should read I am the Cheese by Robert Cormier

    This book is about a kid named Adam Farmer who is on a bike and traveling to Rutterburg, Vermont to deliver a package to his father. Throughout the story he runs into a lot of drama that prevents him from getting to his destination safely.

    What I like about this story is Adam Farmer. He always makes the story interesting when he’s either mad or sad or if others disrespect him through the story. I had no dislikes about the story and that is very rare.

    Adam Farmer is a kid who is very smart in school but does not have street smarts. Adam is positive that there’s something wrong with him, but isn’t sure what it is. This character does not have what it takes to survive in the outside world. I know this because he’s not good at solving complex situations. Throughout the story Adam learns a lot about his family and himself.

    I recommend this book to 10th grade boys or older who enjoy adventure, drama and mystery books. This book takes a while to get interesting so you should give it some time. I think readers should buy this book because it’s a good book. This book also gives you the curious feeling that pushes you to want to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    You are on your bike and people are trying to kill you, but you

    You are on your bike and people are trying to kill you, but you just missed getting hit by a car. Then a dog starts chasing you and you hate dogs. The name of this book I Am the Cheese the author name is Robert Cormier.

    I am the Cheese is about a boy who is in his own little world and his name is Adam Farmer. He travels on a bike ride to go see his father but at the end there is a twist.

    The thing I like about this book is when Adam goes on the adventure and all the trouble he makes, like when he beats up Junior Varney. I like everything in this book and that is rare for me.

    Adam gets along well with other character if he feels safe. Adam likes Amy because he feels safe around her. Adam stands in the weird group. In the story Adam is at the bottom of the chain.

    I would highly recommend I am the Cheese if you like a good twist in a book. A reader that would like this book is a person who likes an awesome ending. Readers have to notice that there are three stories in the book in order to enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Can you imagine how life would be like if your family kept secre

    Can you imagine how life would be like if your family kept secrets from you? Well that’s what I Am the Cheese by Robert Cormier is about.

    I Am the Cheese is a story about Adam Farmer riding his bike to Vermont to find his dad. There are a lot of twists and turns along the way, and at the end it is nothing like what you thought it would be.

    Robert Cormier’s way of mystery was really great. I liked how when I thought something was happening, it suddenly would twist and become something different. The author did a great job picking the characters. Even though he didn’t specifically explain how the characters look, he explains the way they act. Some of my dislikes are the confusion this book gives me. I didn’t like how throughout the novel I wasn’t ever truly sure what was happening. Another thing I didn’t like was the slowness of the book. The beginning is really slow, but it starts getting more intense towards the end.

    The main character in the book is Adam Farmer. Adam Farmer is a really important character because he is the one telling the story. He feels lied to and he starts finding out the truth bit by bit. He feels confused about why he’s being lied to. He feels like after finding out the truth he gets closer to his mom and dad.

    I would recommend I Am the Cheese to anyone that likes mystery books. The type of reader that would love this book is someone that likes fast and short books. I think readers need to expect the unexpected in this book because once you are reading it, you never know what is going to happen next. You won’t regret buying I Am the Cheese by Robert Cormier, so do this today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    The first person perspective that I am the cheese by Robert Cor

    The first person perspective that I am the cheese by Robert Cormier gave me, was the feeling of a masterpiece being fabricated in my imagination. The constant questioning of the next event was astonishing to me. Also the idea that there is only one character that the story follows was a whole new route explored by me when I read the book. Also the idea that no relationships are involved, was irregular to me in relation to other books that have many. I found that the adventure and mischief that happened in the book related to a childhood fantasy of running away. I really felt like the book was a description of some of the events I went through during middle school. I would strongly recommend I am the cheese to young adults, and anyone who wants a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    Top of the line Cheese!

    Robert Cormier entertains us yet again with his novel I am the cheese. The book has two different stories within and each share the same character. One of the stories is about a teenage boy named Adam and his journey to Rutterburg, Vermont to deliver a package to his father. Along the way he is encountered with a few problems like mischievous kids and someone stealing his bike. During his journey he keeps talking about the matter that he should have taken his pills and that his pills would have helped him stay focused but the book never revealed the importance of the pills. The other story is about the same character, Adam, being interrogated by the government about his past. As the psychiatrist asks questions, Adam once again mentions he needs the pills to make him focus and each meeting is cut short because he is tired or can't think. In the end, they recover Adams past and find that his real name is Paul Delmonte and that his family has been hiding from killers for years. In the end of each of the stories, they reveal how they relate to each other almost as if its one big story in the end. That was the part that confused me because it was as if the story of Adam going to Vermont was just a dream. I made two conclusions, either one he was dreaming or two, he was dead because he saw everyone from his journey in the end at one big place and that's what left me wondering. Other than the ending I thought this book was very intriguing and left me wanting to turn the page until the very end. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes mysteries and action. If I had to rate this book I'd give it a 4 out of 5 because for the most part it was interesting or had action but some parts were dull and I had to force myself to keep going on. If you are looking for a good book to read in the final weeks of summer, then I suggest I am the cheese by Robert Cormier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    the best summer reading book

    I am the cheese is a great book. But this book may have some twists and turns from a young kid riding his bike to his dads and a mental older boy being questioned by a doctor.In am the cheese takes place in monument, Massachusetts and Rutterburg, Vermont. While the young boy is going to see his dad in Rutterburg, Vermont he runs into some misfits with his bike and some dogs. While the older kid is in the mental hospital the doctor ask him some questions and tells him to get stuff off his mind.I am the cheese is a great book and I recommend this book for any school. If you like to hear about people getting worried you too would love this book. If you like some action and some scary parts this is the right book for you.At the end of the ride the younger kid learns that dogs are meaner then he tought.if I had to read any author I would choose Robert cormier because he is a good writer and he has the best books ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Dairy Good Book!

    "I am the Cheese" is a psychological thriller by Robert Cormier. I found this book interesting because it would go from Adam telling the story to a recording of him in therapy. I love psychology so it was very interesting to see how the therapist (Brint) got information out of Adam. However, Adam fights with him every once and a while. He would get aggravated with the therapist and make them suspend from their session. I think it would've been cool if all or most of the book was written as the therapy sessions.

    In the beginning, Adam is riding his bike to Rutterburg, Vermont, from Monument, Massachusetts to deliver a package to his father. Suspenseful, this package is, because they don't tell you what it is. It seems like it probably takes place in the 1950's. He loves this girl, Amy Hertz, and he insists on being more than friends. She is full of mischief and always enjoys a thriller.

    Adam is having a hard time getting to Rutterburg because of many miscellaneous things-a dog blocks his way, trouble makers push him into a ditch; Poor Adam! And he's in therapy for what seems to be amnesia. When Adam is pushed into the ditch, he is unconscious for about 2 hours. AN old couple finds him and helps him. When he sees the dog (which came before the ditch), he is struck with fear. He picks up his pace and speeds by, yet the dog refuses to let him go so easily. It barks, growls, and snaps at the tires.

    Most of the time the author uses the first person perspective. The language use is somewhat modern, but a little old. He uses phrases like "I have to go to the john."

    I would recommend this book to anyone who thinks that they have it hard or that their parents keep secrets from them. YOU HAVE NO IDEA!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    I Am the Cheese

    Adam has decided to ride his bike from Monument, Massachusetts, to Rutterburg, Vermont. Throughout the book, the narratives switch from Adam telling the story in present tense, to him being interviewed, and as he is answering the questions, the narrative goes to a third- person limited point of view. Adam has another past, but it can't be remembered if Adam is to live. At the beginning of the book, Adam sets out to find his way to Vermont to see his father, but later in the book, Adam is being interrogated for the third time to make sure he remembers nothing of his past life. "I Am the Cheese" is a good book with an interesting plot, but it is very confusing. Robert Cormier could have written it better and not jumped around from narrative to narrative. The end was a bit complex and hard to understand and follow. I like how this book has a big twist at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2009

    A Pretty Good Book, but Depressing

    The book is very unique and the character Adam is just wonderful. The author has a creative way of writing. Though the book can be confusing if you miss out on just one sentence.
    Though the book is great, it has a very depressing tone. Just thinking about the book makes me feel sad and sorrowful. No humor, though there is some slight romance between Adam and Amy.
    very good book for group talks and school

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    YLENCIONI's Review

    I read this book for a summer assignment and I had to relate it to the 7 Habits of a Successful Teen. It was a really different book. I mean, it wasn't happy, and it was very confusing. At the end I didn't think it would work for my project but after reading some sparknotes on it it made a lot more sense. I guess I liked it, I gave it four stars because it was unexpected and pretty interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2006

    A book with a deeper meaning...

    What I liked about this book was the fact that it made you think. Over half the books I read are easy to understand and have no true meaning in them. In this book, it covers the dark truth with a happy bike ride. More and more events occur that spark your suspicion. Finally, it becomes clear-this bike ride is not a bike ride, and he is being hidden from the light of the truth, who he really is, where he actually is, and what is really happening. At the end, you will not find the happy ending, as one might hope. Instead, there is an ending that simply makes you wonder who you are, if this has happened to you. I recommend that you do not take large breaks between the book, as the effects will not go as deep as they should. Also, you should read this book individually. I actually read it for a class, and we had to take notes on it. I hated reading it because I would always be forced to stop and write something down. However, when I look back at what I read, I realize that this book is very amazing, with a twist that few books possess. I highly recommend this book, as you will not be disappointed if you can understand the real meaning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    Great Book

    I really enjoyed this book. This book has a lot of suspense in it. It is very different, which is one of the things that make it so great. I loved how it kept surprising you thorough the story. This is the type of book that makes you think. You get pulled into it and you feel for the characters. The end is the best part of the whole book. However, I also really liked the parts where Adam is talking to Brint. I recommend this book to anyone in eighth grade or older.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    He is the cheese

    My Review I am the cheese is a good book it has some mystery behind it. There is this boy that is trying to get to his dad, and he just keeps pedaling. The Reason why I give it a four is because it is a good book but a little slow. It just keeps leading to the conclusion and before the book ends you have most of it figured out, at the end of the book he is going to the hospital and all of the sudden he hears a car coming and if you know what happened when he left the town. Then you would know what happens next. But it keeps going on and on about the car coming closer. But the reason why it wasn¿t that good is because Adam (the main character), dies. They try to see if he has information and when they get to a certain part he shuts down. I am not going to tell you why or else that would ruin the end of the book, but there are some good parts to this tragic tale he had a girlfriend that he just loves and Amy (the girlfriend) just makes him feel happy and makes him trust people more and feel good about himself, but what I thought was the best part was when they are in the church parking lot doing what they call numbers, a guy that works at the church sees them getting into the cars, he thinks they are trying to steal the car, but they are just turning on the radio full blast, and turning on the windshield wipers. He sees Amy but not Adam so Amy runs and Adam gets away without anybody seeing him. I don¿t recommend this book to people that are depressed. Or else they might commit suicide over it and that would be bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2005

    Great Book

    An exellent tale of a teen stuck in the world run by others. Never knowing until the day that ruined his life. He tells a tale of past time death and horrer, while at the same time living a dream. Its a must read that really opens your eyes to what could happen, even be happenning to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3