Customer Reviews for

I Am the Messenger

Average Rating 4.5
( 396 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(253)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Taylor Rector for TeensReadToo.com

Ed Kennedy is a nineteen-year-old cab driver who is kind of a nobody! He hasn't achieved anything great, isn't a genius, his mom despises him, and his dad died of alcoholism. The only real thing that he has is his dog, named the Doorman, who everyone says desperately ne...
Ed Kennedy is a nineteen-year-old cab driver who is kind of a nobody! He hasn't achieved anything great, isn't a genius, his mom despises him, and his dad died of alcoholism. The only real thing that he has is his dog, named the Doorman, who everyone says desperately needs a bath. And, he's in love with Audrey, a girl from a bad neighborhood, just like him, who also happens to be one of his best friends since forever. The thing is, Audrey doesn't know that Ed is in love with her, and worse yet, she says she doesn't believe in love.

One day, Ed and his friend stop at a local bank, but a robbery begins while they are in line. And Ed stops the guy.

So then he becomes a local hero. He is just trying to live a normal life, and then he gets a playing card in the mail with three addresses and times on it. Ed doesn't know what to do. Should he just throw the card away, like his friends instruct, or should he go to the first address to see what this is all about?

This book would be a good recommendation for fans of THE DA VINCI CODE and the movie National Treasure.

Ed is such a cool character! He seems like such a normal guy, who does things that normal guys do, and lives a very ordinary life. Until he gets the card in the mail, and he's not so ordinary anymore.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Put it Down Mid-Book..

My librarian recommended this to me..I will never ask him to recommend a book to me again. First of all, I HATE putting down books after I start them, even if they're awful. This book however, I could not stand!
I started it and thought "it will get better.." It doesn'...
My librarian recommended this to me..I will never ask him to recommend a book to me again. First of all, I HATE putting down books after I start them, even if they're awful. This book however, I could not stand!
I started it and thought "it will get better.." It doesn't.
The perspective: drove me insane. "I sit at the table." Drives me crazy.
The language: OVER DRAMATIC. It killed me! (The guy made a overdramatic thought at every action. Not to mention, the main character isn't a character you'd like to know.)Originally, I didn't mind the main character. But he grew on me as a loser who has no aspirations in life.
**CAUTION** if you are a realistic person, do NOT read this book.
However, I'm sure some people will like this book. If you like over dramatic thoughts and "deep" language.. then go ahead. But don't say I didn't warm you!

posted by JRews on June 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 396 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Taylor Rector for TeensReadToo.com

    Ed Kennedy is a nineteen-year-old cab driver who is kind of a nobody! He hasn't achieved anything great, isn't a genius, his mom despises him, and his dad died of alcoholism. The only real thing that he has is his dog, named the Doorman, who everyone says desperately needs a bath. And, he's in love with Audrey, a girl from a bad neighborhood, just like him, who also happens to be one of his best friends since forever. The thing is, Audrey doesn't know that Ed is in love with her, and worse yet, she says she doesn't believe in love. <BR/><BR/>One day, Ed and his friend stop at a local bank, but a robbery begins while they are in line. And Ed stops the guy. <BR/><BR/>So then he becomes a local hero. He is just trying to live a normal life, and then he gets a playing card in the mail with three addresses and times on it. Ed doesn't know what to do. Should he just throw the card away, like his friends instruct, or should he go to the first address to see what this is all about? <BR/><BR/>This book would be a good recommendation for fans of THE DA VINCI CODE and the movie National Treasure. <BR/><BR/>Ed is such a cool character! He seems like such a normal guy, who does things that normal guys do, and lives a very ordinary life. Until he gets the card in the mail, and he's not so ordinary anymore.

    26 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ...........

    Markus Zusak is the best author ever-NO JOKE! The only book I can say is better than this one is The Book Thief (also by him). The story is perfect for finding yourself and realizing that you're not the only person in the world, and even though you think your life is bad there are other people in the world who are worse off than you. I love this book and not one person I know that's read it has disliked it.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is one of my ALL TIME FAVORITES

    After having read and enjoyed Marcus Zusak's "The Book Thief" I decided to see what else he had out there. Lucky for me, I found this! I can say honestly, it is one of my favorite books and one of only two that I literally could not put down. I found myself up at two in the morning with half of the book still to go and all I could think was "I can finish it....I have to finish it!"<BR/><BR/>The story line is simple enough. A young man accidentally foils a bank robbery and because of that is singled out (by someone) to become a hero. They start sending him playing cards in the mail, each with three clues on it. He has to figure out the clues and do whatever needs doing. The results vary with everything from his befriending an old woman who has no one else left in her life, to stopping a man who has been beating his wife and child most of their lives. In the end, he learns a lot about himself.<BR/><BR/>It is an incredible, emotionally gripping roller coaster that will leave you thinking back on every decision you've made in your life and evaluating how it has affected you and those around you. It will challenge you by making you think about how you affect people around in your life. I highly recommend it for any teen or adult who loves the sort of book that you can't forget. This is a great book club title because it encourages discussion and, quite frankly, you can't help but want to share it!

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    I am the Messenger sends the Reader on an adventure with just an ordinary under-age cab driver. It truly thrills.

    In the book I am the Messenger, by Markus Zuzak Ed Kennedy is just a normal, sensitive, hopeless, underage cab driver. He really does not know what to do with his life, until a mysterious ace of diamonds playing card with several street names written on it ends up in his mailbox.
    Ed embarks on a journey around his town stopping at certain houses and changing people's lives for the better. Some people he knows and others he does not; all along discovering more about himself. Ed's story moves through many colorful acquaintances, including, Daryl and Keith - the bumbling hit-men, the stern man in the taxi with yellow eyes, and the sneaky woman who decides to cause trouble for Ed at the Sledge Game. All of whom seem to work for the same person. Throughout his journey Ed cannot help but wonder who is the one dictating all the playing card madness.

    Throughout the book many themes are used to propel the story. Though the most important is finding your way in life, others include life goes on, change helps you learn more about yourself as well as others. The book is a wonderful, charming story. It has memorable characters and is quite a page turner. Though it is about 400 pages in reality 357 it keeps a great pace with the events in the story and the sarcasm and language really make it a fun read. The book is really a story meant for young adults but even adults will find it a short entertainment. One problem with the book though, is that some of the characters are really not needed. Though the story comes full circle at the end, taking out some of the characters wouldn't have change the story one bit.

    Anyone should read this charming story because not is it only packed with action for the action-lovers; but it has romance for the romance-lovers, and a great plot with good characters for the one's who just love a good story. Markus meant does not only appeal to every type of person in this story; but also was able to take a lighter side to the Holocaust in his other book The Book Thief about a girl named Lisel who steals books around her town to feed her thirst for knowledge.

    I am the Messenger is an incredible book filled with the needs of every type of book lover. It has a great story line. Charming characters, story line, and some of life's morals. It is truly a charming read and is a story that hopefully will remain in teenagers and adults bookcases for years to come.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Put it Down Mid-Book..

    My librarian recommended this to me..I will never ask him to recommend a book to me again. First of all, I HATE putting down books after I start them, even if they're awful. This book however, I could not stand!
    I started it and thought "it will get better.." It doesn't.
    The perspective: drove me insane. "I sit at the table." Drives me crazy.
    The language: OVER DRAMATIC. It killed me! (The guy made a overdramatic thought at every action. Not to mention, the main character isn't a character you'd like to know.)Originally, I didn't mind the main character. But he grew on me as a loser who has no aspirations in life.
    **CAUTION** if you are a realistic person, do NOT read this book.
    However, I'm sure some people will like this book. If you like over dramatic thoughts and "deep" language.. then go ahead. But don't say I didn't warm you!

    7 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2009

    A book that really kept my interest...

    With Ed Kennedy living a bland life as an underage cab driver with just his dog, The Doorman, he felt as if nothing was coming his way. His mom hated him, his dad had died, he had feelings his friend Audrey (but she wouldn't feel love towards anyone), and he was threatened by a criminal after being the "star of the scene" when he was a victim in a bank robbery. However, when Ed gets his first card in the mail, things start to change. Ed starts thinking outside of what's there to go way ahead of himself and change the lives of others. Helping and hurting, he is given spades, hearts, clubs, and diamonds with different mysteries to unveil on every card. Each story is a new experience for him, and that is what I loved about this story. It wasn't just one main plot. Every situation was eventually linked into one, and that one story was his. The beginning was clever, the storyline was thorough, and the ending was amazing. All in all, this book was extremely hard to put down and I loved every bit of it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Age

    Great but if youre sensitive to profanity or under 12 i suggest you wait to read it

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Good Book for older readers

    I loved this book, and it has the same charm that markus puts into every book of his. But, if you are under 14 years old i would advise you to wait a couple years before you read it. It is full of 'adult themes' but is truly a wonderful book, so dont be deterred by this. Just eait untill you are a bit older, and then read up!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2006

    Amazing

    This book is indescribable. There is a magic to the writing and the events that makes it such a pleasure to experience. The only sub-par element is the amount of willpower it takes to put it down when you don't have time to read it all in one sitting. There isn't a whole lot else to say, except that anyone unsure about reading the book should most definitely give it a shot.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    In Love

    I loved it. It tops charts for me and definitely was good. I reread it several times:)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    YOLO

    This book reminds me of the true meaning of YOLO

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2007

    A reviewer

    I started this book with high hopes. The plot sounded interesting, so I read it. I started reading it. I did not finish it. I had to abandon it for the lack of clarity. I could not make any sense of it!!! Why would a person actually go after a card with addresses on it? Why would they be nervous about it? I- personally- just discard it and go on with my life... I wouldn't get all worked up about it! Ed seemed just so unrealistic. If you're into that, 'Ooo... how scary a card with addresses on it... how creepy.' then this could be a great book for you. If you're into, 'A card in my mailbox. With addresses on it. That's weird. I'm throwing this away.' then don't read this. I also didn't like the constant bad language in the book.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    This book was amazing. My mind was tested with the mysterious ap

    This book was amazing. My mind was tested with the mysterious appearance of every set of cards. With every card, comes a new quest to help others, and for the main character to find his true identity. I was disappointed with the ending, because it left me confused, dazed, and wanting more. I recommend for 12 and up

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    Besides the few problems I had with this book - oh wait, there w

    Besides the few problems I had with this book - oh wait, there were none...
    This book is exceptional. It is breathtaking and magical and special. Definitely special.
    The best part of this book was the ending. It is so perfect, and ties the whole story together perfectly, I suppose as an ending should. But this one was spectacular. It was great.
    It took me a while to grow comfortable with the characters in the novel but once the story got started, I felt like I was a part of that slummy town in Australia. 
    So, read this book. It relays a beautiful message AND it is quite entertaining. I finished it in a couple days. I also recommend it to fans of John Green.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Good read..

    Great story, good read, cheesy ending

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Great book!!

    I love Markus Zusak and this was another great read, mysterious and you can't stop reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Good

    Great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!  

    Great book!  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Favorite book!

    This book really makes you rethink the way you live your life, a great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Made me want to be a better person

    Gave me insight to myself...made me stop making excuses for so many things..even started using my treadmill every day again! Loved this book amd rhe other book by this author..the book thief..two of my all time new favorites!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 396 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20