Customer Reviews for

I Can Make You Sleep: Overcome Insomnia Forever and Get the Best Rest of Your Life!

Average Rating 3
( 153 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

He CAN make you sleep

I have battled with insomnia for years. The thought of falling asleep without sleeping medication stopped entering my mind a long time ago. I decided to put this book to the test and after just 3 days I have noticed a significant difference. You MUST follow the tips in ...
I have battled with insomnia for years. The thought of falling asleep without sleeping medication stopped entering my mind a long time ago. I decided to put this book to the test and after just 3 days I have noticed a significant difference. You MUST follow the tips in the book for it to be effective, but they DO work. I have sleeping better, feeling better and have more energy. The great thing about this book is that the tips he states you need to follow are what is needed for an overall productive life. I highly recommend it!!

I also recommend EMOTIONAL INTELLIGENCE 2.0 as a book filled with calming methods you can use all day long!!

posted by Allison_Davis on September 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Waste of money

I thought I would learn something new. Everything in the book can be found in magazines, online, from friends, TV, & doctors without paying for it in book form. It is a rehash of everything I have ever read or heard without anything original.

posted by crawlDR on November 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    He CAN make you sleep

    I have battled with insomnia for years. The thought of falling asleep without sleeping medication stopped entering my mind a long time ago. I decided to put this book to the test and after just 3 days I have noticed a significant difference. You MUST follow the tips in the book for it to be effective, but they DO work. I have sleeping better, feeling better and have more energy. The great thing about this book is that the tips he states you need to follow are what is needed for an overall productive life. I highly recommend it!!

    I also recommend EMOTIONAL INTELLIGENCE 2.0 as a book filled with calming methods you can use all day long!!

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    The best non medicated sleep aid ever!!

    I can't believe how fantastic this is. I have have sleep problems for as long as I can remember. Due to work I have to take a lot of long hall flights, which I was never able to sleep through. I picked up this book at the airport and played the CD in the back through my laptop. I was the last person to wake up in my area of the plane - for the first time ever!! As soon as I got home I read the book and studied the techniques which are so easy to follow & everything makes such sense.
    If you have trouble sleeping you have got to invest in this book & CD, they really work.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    Another winner from McKenna

    I'm a big fan of Paul McKenna's work after using his Thin book to great effect. I thought I'd give this one a try, as I've always found getting off to sleep to be a bit of a struggle and would wake up tired in the mornings. All I can say is this is definitely working for me as not only do I appear to be getting off to sleep quicker than normal, but I'm waking up feeling more refreshed than I have in years. Thanks, Paul!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    Finally, a good night's sleep!

    For a while, I'd been having trouble sleeping - mainly due to my stressful job. I just couldn't get off to sleep and then would wake up after a few hours, going over things I haven't done. The CD in this book really has been life-changing for me. I listen to it every night and I'm like a different person. I was functioning on auto-pilot before - now I don't dread going to bed and I wake up more able to cope with the demands of my day, with tons more energy. My advice is, if you realise you've got a problem with sleep, then this is the answer.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Yes, it does work

    I got this for my teenage daughter (the vampire, who only came out at night) to help her reset her sleep patterns. She now is functional again during daylight hours. She had no trouble grasping the information and using it right from the start. Even she is thankful for it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    So desperate, I'd try anything and glad I did!

    I'd sort of resigned myself to living with insomnia. I'd pop a tablet if I knew I had a big day coming up, but it was getting easier to reach for them and I felt they were making me grumpy. So, I thought I'd give this a go, even though I didn't hold out much hope. I can only say that I'm very glad I did. It's turned my sleeping patterns around. I actually looking forward to listening to the CD. I wholeheartedly recommend it!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Agree with zzzzzzzzzz

    Have not slept for more than 4-5 hours a night. I have yet to actually hear the entire CD but am averaging 6-8 hours nightly now. Have recommended to several patients who have trouble sleeping.
    Well worth the monetary investment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    Excellent!

    Quick and easy to use. Am making my way through the book but listen to the CD all the time and it's worked for me.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2009

    This book helped me

    By making the changes suggested in this book I have improved my sleep very significantly. The author identifies numerous activities and habits that can negatively affect your sleep and describes how to eliminate these as sleep factors. My sleep improved immediately and has continued to improve with elimination of the habits that were literally keeping me awake. My research indicates that failure to sleep properly can cause multiple health problems in addition to making a person less functional during the day. I was concerned that my poor sleep was affecting my health and I was not anxious to pursue a medical treatment unless it was absolutely necessary. I don't believe any approach to sleep problems will work for everyone because there can be many different causes of the problem, however this book should help most folks whose situation does not require medical intervention.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    Great Book to Read

    Very easy to read and follow the exersises that are presented in this book. My wife and I were able to sleep better by following these exersises in this book. If you are having trouble sleeping or just want to improve your sleep then this book is for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    I Can Make you Sleep

    This book and CD are helping me get a full nights sleep. What a blessing after years of bad sleep pattern.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    ZZZzzz

    I have labeled myself as a chronic insomniac for the past three years. This book is making a liar out of me and I love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    It works!

    I really enjoy this book. It is very informative and full of helpful tips and exercises to help you sleep. It has worked for me. However, the key point is you have to DO the exercises.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Worked for me!

    I do seem to be sleeping better. The strategies Paul McKenna gives were helpful and I haven't listened to the CD at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    Not a hoax

    Before I bought this book, I read the other reviews on this website. This book has improved my life tremendously. I have been having many sleep issues and did not want to ever resort to sleep medications. The CD is the best part of this deal. It's around 21 minutes long and I've never stayed awake long enough to hear the complete CD. I used it every night for about a month and seldom have to use it anymore. It really does reprogram your sleep patterns. I raved about this book set to my sister who was a real skeptic. Now she is spreading the word to others. For the minimal cost of this set, it is worth a try for anyone with sleep issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    Sleep - It's a good thing.

    Well written and compact. Speaks directly - and in some cases bluntly - about habits that contribute to poor sleep. The CD, used in connection with the book, helped me achieve greatly improved sleep after three days/nights. While some of the information was not new to me (I'm an RN) the presentation as a whole made sense to me and it worked very well. When the setting is appropriate, I would not hesitate to recommend it to patients who share their sleep complaints with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    Effective non-narcotic sleep aid

    Paul McKenna has done a real service to the millions of folks world-wide who suffer from insomnia. This book covers the subject thoroughly, is practical and fun to read, and gets real results. McKenna's advice about how to clear your mind of clustering thoughts, deal with personal worries, take a positive mental attitude, and create a sleep-inducing environment is accessible and doable. I'm sleeping much better already. In fact, I'm yawning writing this review. Try this fun, useful, really effective book. You'll (yawn) love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    Love this book and cd!

    Love this book and cd! I had used sleep aids for aproximately 10 years and was afraid I would never sleep naturally again. The book is easy to read, the tools taught are simple and the cd is hypnotic. I was sleeping without aids in 3 days and feeling great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    This book has changed my life

    The methods in this book seem like common sense for the most part but I think that it provides the motivation to make changes to one's life in order to get the sleeping cycle back on track. For nearly 6 years I was not able to sleep without medication but after reading this book and applying the methods I was able to sleep for the better part of the night within the first 3 days without medication. It has been over a month now and I am still sleeping great and have not used sleep medication since.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A good book!

    I purchased the book as a present for someone that I know that has had problems sleeping. I read the book myself and found that many of the suggestions are practices I have put into action and yes I do sleep much better and longer. I am now more rested and focused. I recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2