Customer Reviews for

I Can Make You Thin: The Revolutionary System Used by More Than 3 Million People

Average Rating 3.5
( 506 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(105)

2 Star

(109)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

51 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

This really works!

I was skeptical when I first picked this up since I've tried so many diets before. But after reading I Can Make You Thin, I'm a believer. I eat what I want, when I want, and I still lose weight. The book and CD help me to recognize when I'm really hungry and when I'm ju...
I was skeptical when I first picked this up since I've tried so many diets before. But after reading I Can Make You Thin, I'm a believer. I eat what I want, when I want, and I still lose weight. The book and CD help me to recognize when I'm really hungry and when I'm just using food to feel better.

Mr. McKenna does something that no diet could ever do. He makes you feel better about the body you have now, rather than beat yourself up about the body you don't have yet. Once I learned to like who I am, I started to lose weight and think more positively. It's easy to stay on this system and not worry about willpower all the time. A++!

posted by MattMullin on November 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

Hypnosis for Weight Loss

As a clinical psychologist trained in hypnosis I can tell you with absolute certainty that hypnosis does not work for weight loss. Any positive results generated by this book/cd is strictly placebo effect results. The mind is very powerful in affecting the body. Truly b...
As a clinical psychologist trained in hypnosis I can tell you with absolute certainty that hypnosis does not work for weight loss. Any positive results generated by this book/cd is strictly placebo effect results. The mind is very powerful in affecting the body. Truly believing you can lose weight will aid in any weight loss effort. However, there is no empirical scientific evidence to support that hypnosis helps in weight loss. It also will most certainly NOT help if you are eating whatever you want without exercise. That isn't possible from any scientific reality. Simply put, the only way you will ever lose weight is if you consume fewer calories than you burn in a given day. Miracle pills, magic potions, and self-hypnosis cd's can't change that which is so heavily supported by science it falls into the domain of being "proven."
Trust me, if self-hypnosis for weight loss worked, I and everyone I know would have bodies like Greek Gods already.

posted by PsychologyGuy on January 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    Didn't work - another diet gimmick

    Okay, if you can eat everytime you are hungry and ONLY when you are hungry this book is for you. I work as a nurse, 12 hour shifts. Im lucky if I get a bathroom break much less the convenience of taking a meal break when I'm actually hungry, not passed the point of starvation or having to eat before I'm ready because I actually have the time. This method requires planning and literal thought before putting anything into your mouth. While I think it's do-able for some, it's not a fix for everyone. The CD doesn't work either.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    who can make me care

    These aren't books there door stoppers, coffe tables, and kindling for fireplaces.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    More of the same

    This is useful if you're looking for a sensible way to lose weight. However, it really is simplifying what is nothing more than common sense - stop eating when you're full. I do agree with McKenna when he calls diet food cardboard crap and paying attention to when you're hungry and when you're full. These are important tools to use while trying to understand why you eat in the first place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Information, little help

    I think the information in this book is very interesting and informative however its a lot of common sense. The cd kept up at night instead of letting me drift to sleep listening to it.

    This is not an instant weight loss solution but will help you if your willing to make the changes it talks about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    waste of time

    I read the entire book and listened to the CD. The book is full of very basic information. Easy to read, but a waste of your time. The CD is a little creepy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    WON'T WORK if you only have 5-10 lbs to lose..

    2.0 out of 5 stars WON'T work if you only have 5-10 lbs to lose..., March 17, 2009
    By L. Lan - See all my reviews
    (REAL NAME)

    I read the book and listened to the CD day after day for 3 weeks. I absorbed and followed the four rules... but after my third week, I gained 3 lbs! My original goal was to lose about 5 lbs; but I think the CD/book made me over analyze what I "wanted" to eat (Rule #2: "Eat what you want")... so I ended up actually eating more calories than I think I normally would. I think a more strict diet works best for me. I feel that this book would work if you had over-eating or emotional-eating issues... but I don't think it's going to work for people who just want to lose that last 5-10 lbs to get to your goal weight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    Not recommended to lose weight

    This book (CD) is good if you want a relaxation regime but it did not help me to loose weight or gain the incentive to exercise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Disappointing

    Not so much "revolutionary" as "common sense". If we could follow his rules for success we wouldn't be buying his book in the first place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Good Read

    Easy to read and quite informative if you will follow the guidelines. But, you have to make a conscious effort to have any weight loss. Relaxing tape and it seemed to help the first couple of weeks but you really have to listen EVERY night and make the effort. Don't think I lost any weight but it does make you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Kinda silly but interesting.

    Not particulalry useful but somewhat interesting. Liked the tape which is very relaxing and put me to sleep but kinda wish I'd spent the $ on something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    There is nothing new here. Very disappointing.

    It is a book telling what you already knew. It is presented in easy, short chapters and is very clear in its useless information. The DVD is a gimmick. You can toss it. The only people I feel MAY benefit from this book are young people who have NEVER dieted before or read anything on how to lose weight. It is like most diet books, all hype and regurgitation of other books. Sigh. Telling me to exercise, eat less and only when I am hungry is really not doing me any good. I need to be rich and be able to afford a personal trainer and dietitian. The simple advice in this book is don't eat so much and he charges over 15 dollars for that. I am curious why all the other reviews are 5 stars and anonymous.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6