Customer Reviews for

I Can Make You Thin: The Revolutionary System Used by More Than 3 Million People

Average Rating 3.5
( 506 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(105)

2 Star

(109)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

51 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

This really works!

I was skeptical when I first picked this up since I've tried so many diets before. But after reading I Can Make You Thin, I'm a believer. I eat what I want, when I want, and I still lose weight. The book and CD help me to recognize when I'm really hungry and when I'm ju...
I was skeptical when I first picked this up since I've tried so many diets before. But after reading I Can Make You Thin, I'm a believer. I eat what I want, when I want, and I still lose weight. The book and CD help me to recognize when I'm really hungry and when I'm just using food to feel better.

Mr. McKenna does something that no diet could ever do. He makes you feel better about the body you have now, rather than beat yourself up about the body you don't have yet. Once I learned to like who I am, I started to lose weight and think more positively. It's easy to stay on this system and not worry about willpower all the time. A++!

posted by MattMullin on November 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

Hypnosis for Weight Loss

As a clinical psychologist trained in hypnosis I can tell you with absolute certainty that hypnosis does not work for weight loss. Any positive results generated by this book/cd is strictly placebo effect results. The mind is very powerful in affecting the body. Truly b...
As a clinical psychologist trained in hypnosis I can tell you with absolute certainty that hypnosis does not work for weight loss. Any positive results generated by this book/cd is strictly placebo effect results. The mind is very powerful in affecting the body. Truly believing you can lose weight will aid in any weight loss effort. However, there is no empirical scientific evidence to support that hypnosis helps in weight loss. It also will most certainly NOT help if you are eating whatever you want without exercise. That isn't possible from any scientific reality. Simply put, the only way you will ever lose weight is if you consume fewer calories than you burn in a given day. Miracle pills, magic potions, and self-hypnosis cd's can't change that which is so heavily supported by science it falls into the domain of being "proven."
Trust me, if self-hypnosis for weight loss worked, I and everyone I know would have bodies like Greek Gods already.

posted by PsychologyGuy on January 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    I Don't Diet Any Longer...

    After reading Paul's book, I've noticed a great change in the way I approach food. I try to actually 'taste' what I'm eating, take my time, eat only when I'm hungry, and it really works.<BR/><BR/>Now, I eat what I want, but only in moderation - AND I don't feel hungry all the time. What Paul reveals in the book is pure common sense, but a necessary read for those who feel trapped in the diet cycle.

    47 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting Approach

    Well, this is an interesting approach to losing weight. I just got the book last week so I am not sure what the long-term outcome will be. However, as for now I like the book and the idea of working on my subconscious. I also believe that the included CD can be really helpful. I listen to it each evening after going to bed, just before falling asleep. <BR/><BR/>I am over 40 and controlling my weight has become more difficult in the last few years. I recognized long time ago that all the ¿wonder diets¿ that are based on willpower never work in a long run. The most helpful book so far in that respect was for me ¿Can We Live 150 Years? ¿ Your Body Maintenance Handbook¿. It helped me control my weight for the last few years. Now, I am trying Paul McKenna¿s approach and I am hopeful that it will improve my good grip on my weight. On a negative side I find ¿I Can Make You Thin¿ rather expensive considering the amount of information it contains. I think these books should not cost more than $10.

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Tapping For Weight Loss - Why It May Work For You

    Paul is right on. Diet's are our enemy. They are a permanent solution for only a small percentage of the population. Why? Because weight is far more than what you are eating, it's more about what is prompting you to eat. It has to do with your stress level, your suppressed emotions, your self-esteem, and how you feel about your body. <BR/><BR/>The guidelines and information Paul gives you in his book are not new, but they are presented in a logical easy to follow format. They are designed to help you begin to focus on your eating habits. He gives you guidelines to help you recognize when you are eating because you need nutrition and when your hunger feeling is prompted by your emotions. He has also included a hypnosis CD. And YES, hypnosis does work. Why? Because it's the quickest and most effective way to access your subconscious mind where you can find and resolve the reasons behind your overeating. As a hypnotherapist, I have seen clients literally change overnight after discovering and releasing their emotional triggers. <BR/><BR/>The "tapping technique" in his book is based on tapping on specific points on the body that correspond to meridians used in Chinese medicine and was developed by American Psychologist, Roger Callahan who named the treatment "Thought Field Therapy." There is no scientific evidence that TFT is effective, and the American Psychological Association has stated that TFT "lacks a scientific basis". The evidence adduced in support of TFT by Callahan and other proponents comes from uncontrolled case reports that were not peer reviewed. Because of the lack of controlled studies psychologists discredit any claims of success by Callahan. <BR/><BR/>However, Gary Craig, who trained with Callahan in the 1990's, created EFT, a simplification and improvement of Callahan's TFT techniques. The theory behind EFT, based on an ancient theory of acupuncture, is that negative emotions are caused by disturbances in the body's energy field and that tapping on the meridians while thinking of a negative emotion or event alters the body's energy field, restoring it to "balance". EFT has been the subject of three peer-reviewed publications as of 2007, one of which concluded that the findings were largely consistent with the hypothesis of the study. The difference between EFT and TFT is found in the application. In TFT, a specific sequence of tapping points (known as an algorithm) is used for a particular problem. The sequence is determined using muscle testing. In EFT, the sequence of tapping points is deemed to be unimportant, and therefore individual algorithms are not required for different problems. Instead, a comprehensive algorithm is used for all problems. Critics of the procedures label them as pseudoscience and reference a study in 2003 that shows that EFT, a modeling treatment, and a placebo all produced a significant decrease in anxiety and fear over a control group. An article in the Guardian suggested that "the act of tapping parts of the body in a complicated sequence acts as a distraction, and therefore can appear to alleviate the root distress. The therapist repeats a reminder phrase every few seconds throughout the treatment, to draw the client's attention back to the problem." <BR/><BR/>I haven't used it myself, so I can't personally comment on its effectiveness; however, I know a number of Hypnotherapists who do use it and there does seem to be evidence tapping may assist your efforts.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    I am absolutely seeing results, mentally and physically

    I am really finding the book and CD to be very helpful. I have been listening to the CD at night and in the morning for the reminder...I find myself putting down my fork between bites and savoring the food, not eating mindlessly.<BR/><BR/>This is not hypnosis, it is like reprogramming the way you think about food and eating! I keep hearing his voice in my head (in a good way)LOL! I am seeing results! I am responding so well that in the morning I hit the floor immediately after the CD ends without thinking...All prompted from the messages in the CD!<BR/><BR/>This may not be for everyone...but its worth a try! I will keep it up while the getting is good.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Visualize Yourself Thin

    A Cd that teaches you to visualize yourself thin! Tap or no tap this book will help you by motivating you to take action! While the whole hypnosis may be hard to get by I found the information over all useful and informative. But we all need to exercise to tone our muscles, overall give it a try you may end up more positive about what you are trying to do with your life.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    Not Exactly Thin - Yet

    The accompanying Hypnosis CD is working for me in two ways. First, after more than a decade of being sedentary, I have suddenly started exercising regularly since listening to this every night for a month. Getting me to exercise is an amazing thing. I am happy and grateful. Also, I have taken an interest in learning how to eat healthier. In spite of this, the suggestions on mindful eating (to eat slower and savor the food) have not taken hold with me. I must have some deep seated need to devour my meals. I am continuing to listen to this Hypnosis CD and hope that my slow weight loss (10 pounds in 4 months) will continue or accelerate.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Differing from the other reviews

    I just read the other 2 reviews, and I have to differ from them. This book (like most books) has some good, strong "pearls" to help someone lose weight. As a professional fitness trainer, I would say that this book CAN help you, if you are mentally and emotionally prepared to alter your eating habits ---however, I can say that many people who are looking to lose weight fast aren't really preparing themselves for fitness/diet success. So, in some ways, I guess I align with the other reviews. But, I still feel that there are good things to be learned (and utilized from this book). However, as I have said in other reviews, and as I tell ALL of my personal training clients, the book "Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow" is the key to their fitness/diet happiness. It is the foundation of successfully attaining fitness/life goals AND is a quick read. Make sure you pick that up and read it first!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A good book for lots of reasons.

    Although promises made are not necessarily promises kept, I found this book primarily inspiring and uplifting from the point of view of an overweight woman. I have lost a few pounds, and the "suggestions" are solid
    nutritionally. The CD that is in the book is very good if you are even slightly suggestible, and it is quite relaxing and also inspiring. Using a diary type approach and doing the exercises are also important, or the Cd is not as effective without them. You also need to follow through, keep it up and don't get "lazy'.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good, But Still Prefer Body Esteem

    Paul's technique is interesting and his approach to not dieting is definitely in the right direction, so I'm giving him four stars. Much of his technique relies on the CD that is included with the book. I personally just couldn't get into it and relax, but apparently, judging by the reviews, it has worked for many people, so I'm not going to place the blame on him.

    I bought this book out of curiosity more than anything. I found his TV show interesting so I wanted to check out his book first hand. I've already mastered my own ideal body through a different technique that was established by Sherri Dawson in Body Esteem: Body Esteem: Weight Loss Through Self-Discovery (includes 2 Audio CDs). It's been a year and a half since I found her book/CD set and found my own personal path to freedom.

    I guess the point I want to make is that you can do and it doesn't take dieting, but a viable approach to internal change. There are certainly several paths, but they all lead to the same place. I suggest you try some different books and find what works for you. I'm including a couple of others that I know have helped others. My saving grace was Sherri Dawson and her beautiful recordings, yours could be Paul or Steven Gurgevich The Self-Hypnosis Diet: Use the Power of Your Mind to Reach Your Perfect Weight. Just believe in yourself and forget the diets because they simply don't work in the long run.

    Good luck to all!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    unlike any book relative to weight I've ever read.

    Simply put, this book/CD has the potential to change lives forever relative to eating. It isn't about diet and/or exercise. It specifically addresses how we 'relate' to food and why we eat. The author offers simple practices to manage "triggers". Once one finishes the book, a commitment of a half hour a day for appx.10 days is needed to use the CD. I can't say enough about the impact of the CD. It must be experienced to be understood.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Only YOU can make you thin, but Paul can help!

    Paul McKenna has a wonderful, soothing voice and delivers a terrific guided hypnosis CD to accompany the book. I found the CD great to listen to and relax, taking in the points from his book and helping to reinforce good habits.

    The book itself is filled with very easy to use instructions, inspirational tips and real-life stories from those who have changed their lives due to this "program".

    What it boils down to is to motivate you to eat less and move more. Be more thoughtful and concious of what you are doing and once you remove any other reasons to eat beyond true hunger itself, you will find yourself healthier. It is all complete common sense in a new package.

    I did find it more insightful that many "diet" plans as it is aimed at making you look at food and life in general in a completely new and positive way so I enjoyed it.

    Since it has made me think more clearly about food and exercise it has certainly been a success for me. No tons of weight lost yet, but I do feel that he has inspired me to make changes that have improved my eating habits and my health....so I recommend it to those who really want to make the change themselves. The book will not make you lose weight, but you may just do it yourself!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Worth a try!

    I've read the book and I'm in the 2nd week of listening to the CD. I think it's working - getting a mind set on eating habits. Every time I sit down to eat I think of the things I've read and heard from his book and CD.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good information

    I have to say that the information in the book and CD make sense to me. I'm not sure that I couldn't find the information in other books, or that the information is new, but it was a good practical read. I've lost seven pounds since I got started.

    I do recommend it, and also the one book that gave me the tools and confidence to make the most of myself and my life, Optimal Thinking: How to Be Your Best Self.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    Helped, but not with my weight...

    I was very skeptical about this, so I tried the library's copy. The cd did not, actually, make me lose weight, but from the very first day, my stomach stopped hurting. This helped me figure out a different health problem and get it sorted out. I was so happy that my stomach was not hurting that I bought myself a copy of the book and cd. Unfortunately, my neighbors got a couple of yappy little dogs that they refuse to discipline, so I am not able to use this anymore, even with headphones. Once we go through the bureaucratic hoops required to get them to take responsibility for their pets, I hope to get back to it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Something I Can Use

    I like this book and the CD. The information is simple and broken down into a book that you can easily read in one quiet afternoon if you wanted to. The CD is wonderful for stress release and relaxtion - and helps to reinforce all the GOOD habits you want to keep in your life that will help you have a healthy lifestyle. I have bought just about every new book on the market and alot of them promised alot and delivered little to nothing while bogging me down with all kinds of info I didn't need or ask for. This one has been one of the best I have invested in so far. I would recommend it for someone starting out or someone like myself who has tried it all and is looking to cut through to the meat and potatoes if you will of a program. The book gives alot of examples of how to trick yourself out of cravings and unhealthy habits and the CD is a good way to reinforce the positives in your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    Food for Thought

    Excellent presentation of some ideas for improving your attitude toward and your approach to eating. Probably many facts you are well aware of and simply do not apply a mealtimes. Certainly a good, sensible approach to weight loss and weight control.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    Pretty Good

    As it claims, it is not a diet book. Rather, it alters reader's behaviors around food. It is a very useful reminder.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    A New Way of Thinking

    I at first was skeptical about this concept but in the first week I lost 5 pounds, was calmer, and gained a new appreciation for the concept of nurishing my body. Paul McKenna has found a way to give me an "aha" moment. I am eating better, feeling better about myself and am so glad for picking this book up. Down 15 pounds, and doing it without feeling deprived in any way! Thanks Paul!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    This is how you should lose weight

    I highly recommend this book because this is how you should eat. What a concept- Eat until you are full?! This is nothing new but most adults forgot about listening to their bodies. I have lost 17 lbs since early February by following Paul's method. I now eat 6-8 times a day but much smaller meals and I exercise every day for 30 minutes. This is something I can fit into my busy life as a single mom.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Can Make You Thin(k)

    I enjoyed Paul McKenna's 'I Can Make You Thin' because it has helped me to get past my self-imposed nay-saying and move on to a more positive outlook and approach to weight loss. I'm sure the audio CD is helping as well, but it's 'background' compared to the book. As I indicated in my headline, the book has definitely made me a better thinker with regard to my weight loss experience. I'm looking forward to losing my goal of ??? lbs.!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6