BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

I Can Make You Thin: The Revolutionary System Used by More Than 3 Million People

Average Rating 3.5
( 506 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(105)

2 Star

(109)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

51 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

This really works!

I was skeptical when I first picked this up since I've tried so many diets before. But after reading I Can Make You Thin, I'm a believer. I eat what I want, when I want, and I still lose weight. The book and CD help me to recognize when I'm really hungry and when I'm ju...
I was skeptical when I first picked this up since I've tried so many diets before. But after reading I Can Make You Thin, I'm a believer. I eat what I want, when I want, and I still lose weight. The book and CD help me to recognize when I'm really hungry and when I'm just using food to feel better.

Mr. McKenna does something that no diet could ever do. He makes you feel better about the body you have now, rather than beat yourself up about the body you don't have yet. Once I learned to like who I am, I started to lose weight and think more positively. It's easy to stay on this system and not worry about willpower all the time. A++!

posted by MattMullin on November 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

Hypnosis for Weight Loss

As a clinical psychologist trained in hypnosis I can tell you with absolute certainty that hypnosis does not work for weight loss. Any positive results generated by this book/cd is strictly placebo effect results. The mind is very powerful in affecting the body. Truly b...
As a clinical psychologist trained in hypnosis I can tell you with absolute certainty that hypnosis does not work for weight loss. Any positive results generated by this book/cd is strictly placebo effect results. The mind is very powerful in affecting the body. Truly believing you can lose weight will aid in any weight loss effort. However, there is no empirical scientific evidence to support that hypnosis helps in weight loss. It also will most certainly NOT help if you are eating whatever you want without exercise. That isn't possible from any scientific reality. Simply put, the only way you will ever lose weight is if you consume fewer calories than you burn in a given day. Miracle pills, magic potions, and self-hypnosis cd's can't change that which is so heavily supported by science it falls into the domain of being "proven."
Trust me, if self-hypnosis for weight loss worked, I and everyone I know would have bodies like Greek Gods already.

posted by PsychologyGuy on January 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    This really works!

    I was skeptical when I first picked this up since I've tried so many diets before. But after reading I Can Make You Thin, I'm a believer. I eat what I want, when I want, and I still lose weight. The book and CD help me to recognize when I'm really hungry and when I'm just using food to feel better. <BR/><BR/>Mr. McKenna does something that no diet could ever do. He makes you feel better about the body you have now, rather than beat yourself up about the body you don't have yet. Once I learned to like who I am, I started to lose weight and think more positively. It's easy to stay on this system and not worry about willpower all the time. A++!

    51 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2009

    If you use it, it will work.

    Basically this is a very simple program to follow. Listen to the CD every day for about ten days or two weeks. Read the book. Slow down when you eat, stop when you are no longer hungy, stop and ask yourself if you are really hungry before you raid the fridge, move your butt more often, use the simple techniques to stop cravings. It's really not a diet, but learning how to eat the way normal-weight people eat. This works, but you have to make an effort.

    39 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    Well Written Fantastic and Yes it Works!

    If you want this to work and you are willing to put forth the effort it will work! Lets face it nothing is free and you get out of something exactly what you put in to it. I can not tell you how many ways I have tried to loose weight, and generally the loosing is not the problem at first. But what comes flying back when your "willpower" fails. I could never understand why I could do so good for 4 to 6 weeks and then just flat fail. 24 weeks into this program and still going strong I now know it was my own subconscious, that was causing me to fail. Yes some of the information here is the same but some of it is wonderfully eye opening. <BR/><BR/>I found out about Paul and his approach late last summer, I have been practicing it ever since with help of his self hypnosis cd. My life has changed for the better and permanantly! <BR/><BR/>By the way I am not affraid to leave my username and with a little practice of the principles laid out in the book or Pauls DVD series I believe that you could learn to love yourself and that this could actually work for you. But if you are so quick to dismiss everything taught in the book and threw away the CD because it was usless then chances are this will not have any impact on your life. Obviously you are not ready to let go of the missconceptions that have gotten you to where you are today<BR/><BR/>All of us that are or have been overweight know the basic principles of weight loss. But this books gives you away of getting there with out all of the self sacrifice that causes us to fail! USE the CD everyday for two weeks, really use it relax and allow your self to be hypnotised by it. I bet you that your outlook on food and the way you eat will change for the better and you will see results that can last a lifetime.<BR/><BR/>Scott

    34 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    I have lost 25 pounds

    This makes so much sense. I have lost 25 pounds and still counting. I have tried everything and this is the only system that works for me.

    32 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    It works!!

    I've tried lots of diets, and none of them worked. McKenna's plan did. I've already lost 35 lbs. It's simple & easy to follow. Best of all, I don't spend my whole day worrying about what I'm eating. What a relief!<BR/><BR/>Thanks, Paul!!

    24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliant! This has changed my life!

    In January, I weighed 266.6 lbs and was miserable. I have tried and failed many diets, including several attempts at weight watchers. The diets were so hard, required so much willpower, and showed so little results. It was just too hard for me to stick with those programs. Plus, six months after each one I always ended up heavier than before I started.

    Paul McKenna's program is the answer I have been waiting for. His four rules, outlined in the book, are sensible and so much easier to follow that restricting food and counting calories. I read the book, and then listened to the CD every day for three weeks.

    It is now August, and I have lost 34.5 pounds. This program has been so liberating, and so easy. I am so thrilled with the results, and so is my doctor. She is now suggesting this program to patients who cannot stick to old-fashioned diets.

    I have NEVER had anything positive to say about a diet six months after starting it. But Paul McKenna's program is different.

    I am not limited any longer. If I want something, I eat it. I eat slowly and stop when I am satisfied. Now, instead of 4 pieces of pizza, I am generally happy with one.

    Paul McKenna has probably saved my life with his program. I highly recommend it to anyone.

    21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2009

    Fantastic!

    I got an email from Barnes & Noble a couple of weeks ago featuring the book by Paul McKenna called "I Can Make You Thin."<BR/><BR/>Over the last 15 years I've been everywhere from 190 lbs at my lowest to almost 300 lbs at my highest. Right now, with the "help" of Weight Watchers (which I actually no longer recommend) I'm at 220 lbs... but I want to be thinner still yet. I want to be what I KNOW I can be... 190 or even 180, 170 lbs! So I researched Paul online... read up on NLP (Neuro-Linguistic Programing ¿ which is amazing stuff) and ran out yesterday and bought the book at my local B&N.<BR/><BR/>I read it straight through... one sitting... cover to cover.<BR/><BR/>I literally can not tell you how many ways my life is already changing because of it!<BR/><BR/>Everything from the way I've thought (or not thought) about food today, to how I'm seeing "diet" commercials... almost like I see commercials about quitting smoking... something I don't do and don't need to quit. In other words, its like my mind has been "reset"... "reprogrammed" and don't NEED to diet anymore!<BR/><BR/>The craving busters and other exercises and "tips" and "tricks" in the book really worked! I'm actually thinking differently... I can't say that strongly enough. People are right, he doesn't say anything "new"... but it's not just what he says, it's how he says it and doing what he says.<BR/><BR/>It's 1 day after getting the book... the first "full" day of following his suggestions and I can't wait to see what 2 weeks... 4 weeks... 6 months... the rest of my life will bring!<BR/><BR/>I'm so glad I gave this a chance!

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    Trust this not psyc guy!!

    Psychology guy is talking rubbish!!!<BR/>I am living proof of it!! I find our so called expert review ridiculous, therefore you are too! Get some proper experience and then try again! <BR/>I would hate to be your patient-seeing as you have no idea!<BR/>This book is fantastic, i picked up my copy on a trip to the UK before it came out in the US and it changed my life.....I can assure you i am no placebo affected person, after many years of trying to lose weight- this worked!!! <BR/><BR/>i would recommend to anyone-<BR/><BR/>And another thing-i am a medical professional too-i would like to refer psychology guy and anyone else to the studies below.<BR/><BR/>Ref: Bolocofsky, David N.: Spinler, Dwayne; Coulthard-Morris. Linda<BR/>(1985). ¿Effectiveness of hypnosis as an adjunct to behavioral weight<BR/>management.¿ Journal of Clinical Psychology, 41 (1), 35-41.<BR/><BR/>Cochrane, Gordon: Friesen, J. (1986). ¿Hypnotherapy in weight loss<BR/>treatment.¿ Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology, 54, 489-492.<BR/><BR/>Kirsch, Irving (1996). ¿Hypnotic enhancement of<BR/>cognitive-behavioral weight loss treatments¿¿another meta-reanalysis. Journal of<BR/>Consulting and Clinical Psychology, 64 (3), 517-519.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2009

    Worth Reading!!

    I got this book not sure if it was another "diet" book. I got sick of being scammed and disappointed by diet books that just weren't working!! This is not like any other book you will ever read and experience again!! I won't call it a "diet" book because the author is teaching methods that make so much sense that I found myself saying "I could kick myself for not coming up with this myself years ago!" The CD that comes with the book helps tremendously. <BR/><BR/>I used to easily eat 5 slices of pizza at one sitting and now I'm lucky if I can finish one piece plus a small salad. I'm pleasantly full and stuffing myself is a thing of the past.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2009

    Thought I'd try it and glad I did!

    I'm loving the CD. I listen to it every night and just feel so much more relaxed about food. I no longer have to finish everything on my plate and can take it or leave it rather than spend all day thinking about my next meal. I'm losing weight slowly but steadily and it's just so refreshing to use something that works that isn't a typical diet book.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Results!

    My friend started Paul's program in March 2008 after seeing the TLC Show, and as of this week, achieved her goal of losing 100 lbs! She convinced me to try the program as well since I complain about my size, and since reading the UK edition of this book in November and using the CD before bed at night, I have dropped 13 lbs almost effortlessly. Truly amazing - I'll never diet again! Thank you Paul!

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    I also watched the TV series on TLC(The Learning Channel). The approach works and worked for me. Whether it is utilized long term is, as always, up to the individual.

    The book is beneficial but, in addition, I would like the DVD set representing the TV series for the visual support that was very effective.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    Finally something that actually does what it says on the cover!!

    I have been battling with my weight forever, but those days are over. I bought this book in December and got straight on the system. Firstly I was shocked at how easy it was but then amazed at how quickly the weight started falling of. I have now lost an incredible 20lbs in three and a half weeks. All you negative reviewers are either naturally thin or jealous of this amazing creation - GET A LIFE!!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    It's working

    I was lucky enough to get an advanced copy and started using Paul's method in November. I've lost 16 pounds and really do find that I have a different attitude about the way I am eating. A few taps and I can walk away from a craving.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    He CAN make you thin!

    I have heard of Paul McKenna for years and even saw his show on TLC. However, I did not understand the extent of his powers until I came across this book. Bacially, by using self hypnosis, you can find a way to lose weight. It's all in the mind, per se. A lofty ambition, but the dividends pay off in the end! A must read for anyone looking to lose those pounds.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    This book has changed my life

    If you read this with an open mind you can change the way you think of food and ultimately how it impacts your life. I can't wait for I Can Help You Sleep since I don't know one woman over 50 who sleeps through the night.
    Don't read this thinking you'll bring out your Weight Watcher recipes; read it thinking you can change your life.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    Hypnosis proven to work for weightloss

    As a psychologist, I was intrigued by this book, having seen the impressive research that proves that hypnosis works for weight management... <BR/><BR/>Ref: Bolocofsky, David N.: Spinler, Dwayne; Coulthard-Morris. Linda<BR/>(1985). ¿Effectiveness of hypnosis as an adjunct to behavioral weight<BR/>management.¿ Journal of Clinical Psychology, 41 (1), 35-41.<BR/><BR/>Cochrane, Gordon: Friesen, J. (1986). ¿Hypnotherapy in weight loss<BR/>treatment.¿ Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology, 54, 489-492.<BR/><BR/>Kirsch, Irving (1996). ¿Hypnotic enhancement of<BR/>cognitive-behavioral weight loss treatments¿¿another meta-reanalysis. Journal of<BR/>Consulting and Clinical Psychology, 64 (3), 517-519.<BR/><BR/><BR/>I'm sure this book will ruffle a few feathers in the diet industry. At last, an alternative to dieting.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2009

    56LBS lost already!!!

    OMG this is incredible! I am a 42 year old guy who has tried every diet out there. I've lost weight then always put it back on. Who would have thought the answers was to STOP dieting!!!
    This system is really easy to follow, especially for men (you girls already no how great it is...)
    Guys - you have got to give it a go.
    Be well and I hope you all enjoy your new life as much as I am!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    It worked for me!

    I am losing weight and for the first time, I think I'm going to keep it off! Paul is a genius!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2009

    Simple and effective

    This book has completely changed the way I think about food. The advice is easy to follow and if you follow it, you'll lose weight - it's as simple as that. I've lost 10lbs already.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7