BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

I Can't Tell You

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    An interesting read

    While this book may have been confusing and difficult to read at times, I thought it was funny, extremely relatable, and entertaining. I enjoyed all of the characters and felt they were well-developed, even for a book with no real dialogue or description. I recommend this book to anyone looking for a funny, yet still emotional read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    fantastic!

    this book was one of the best books i have ever read. it has everything, and its just wonderful. i couldn't put it down. read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    Great book !

    The first thing i noticed about this book, was the unique style of the narrative. For example, the story is told through notes, symbols, and drawings. This is not your average book. Jake decides talking gets him in too much trouble, so he stops and jots down everything instead. If you're looking for something different, fun, and eye catching this is the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2007

    My favorite book.

    I simply can't put in words how much this book spoke to me. I usually pick out a girl's book with a female protagonist and such, but this book is for any gender. It weaved through the struggles of Jake, his fight against the wrong words, and his relationship with Xandra. The ending, some may say, was terrible, but I disagree completely. It put the icing on the cake and I loved every bite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    The best book written in history

    I read this book for the first time in the eight grade, picking it up because my it was the first thing that caught my eye when my mom told me to hurry up. I began reading it in the car and couldn't put it down. It's not like any other book you would normally find in the Youth section and anyone from that age period and up would easily relate. It's humorous and deep and it is written like normal teens act. I have honestly read this book over 12 times and each time I re-read it, I pick up more of The Funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    Hilary franks novel, i can't tell you. two thumbs up!

    Hilary Frank's novel I can¿t tell you is by far two thumbs up. I have only read one other book that really stands out to me, Swear to Howdy. The novel I can't tell you really stood out to me because it¿s original. There's not another book that are written notes. The first chapter or two it takes warming up to the character and getting used to the style of writing. The subject is common for humans today. Friends get mad at friends, but Hilary Frank adds a special twist to the book. The main character Jake refuses to talk. He spends his time writing notes on Calculators, Recites, Paper, and tissues. Jake is in college, and him and Sean (his best friend) are/were roommates. Jake keeps trying to okay everything between Sean, but the more he talks to Sean the worse the situation gets. I can't tell you is recommended by me to teenagers between the ages of 13-college. It really does give you helpful advise, and a must read for schools with a lot of drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2006

    good book- bad ending

    I loved this book! i loved it so much that i even read the whole book at barnes and nobles! it was good but i hated the ending........it made me sad. i still reccomend it for others to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2005

    Stick with it!

    When you open this book, it will look totally strange and like someone has been doodling and writing notes...and that's because someone has! It is a very interesting way to go about writing and I think it helped make the book flow very quickly. The concept is great and is typical of college... read it and stick with it even though it is written in a strange fashion. It's great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    Great for a long, lonely night.

    I just bought this book on a whim. Originally, I had bought it for off time at school. But when I read it just to check it out, I was addicted. Couldn't put it down. It was funny, original, and painfully true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2004

    Emotional Puller... but

    I have a hard time starting books. Especially ones that have a different style of writing. I started reading this book very confused, and skeptical. I didnt like the style it was written in, and I didin't follow the storyline. However after a while, I really could relate to how Jake felt about Xandra. But then, when she started dating 'Batman' I have to say, it pulled emotions out of me that I didn't know books could. I WAS Jake in the story, I felt what he was feeling when Xandra was one the phone with 'Batman'. But when Xandra started to turn into a serious girl, and she couldn't/wouldn't relate to Jake's puns anymore, I got angry, and even started to cry at some points. When I reached the last pages of the book, I was honestly waiting for a dramatic turn-around, but when it didn't happen. I was so dissapointed with how the story ended. I'd like to think that since we dont hear about Xandra for a while, that she got back together with Jake. But my mind knows better than that. I'd like to read more of Frank's works, but I'm very nervous about reading books that dissapoint me, because they usually get me into a wierd funk for a few days... but maybe that's my wonderful teenage mind working!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2004

    the most freaking awesomest book ever\\**

    this book is AMAZING. there is no other word. after reading this book youll pick up on jakes little quirks like hearing everything literally and making a joke out of everything. if youre looking for something different and original, this is it. buy it, read it, and give it to a friend. youll miss writing notes with your friends too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2004

    This was an AWSOME book

    I dislike reading, yet I read this book in ONE DAY! During School, after school, throughout my day I couldnt stop reading. I really got the chance to get into this book and feel related, like I knew the main character and everything. I Strongly recommend this book to anyone seeking a book. I couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2004

    i feel so connected...

    I love this book soooooooooooo much. I was hooked on the book from the beinning. After awhile you feel like you know this person and can really relate. Its all about hearing whats not said and reading between the lines. I could really feel for Jake and what he was going through. It made me want to stop talking too because it is just an amazing pholosphify that you can't screw anything up if you don't say anything at all. I would recommend this book to anyone who understands what it feels like to love someone who is oblivious to the fact of your feelings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2004

    I can't even begin to tell you...

    ...how great this book is. You can really learn a lot about a person when they don't speak. You learn to listen to whats not said. Jake teaches and learns a great lesson in this. I can't wait for Hillary's next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2