Customer Reviews for

I Capture the Castle

Average Rating 4.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Superb

I first read this book as a bored undergraduate (my college hall library had a copy which I started reading in the absence of anything more suitable)in the late 1960s, and have always remembered it as one of the books that made a significant impression on me. So much so...
I first read this book as a bored undergraduate (my college hall library had a copy which I started reading in the absence of anything more suitable)in the late 1960s, and have always remembered it as one of the books that made a significant impression on me. So much so that I recently bought my own copy to read and re-read (which I have!). The fact that a book about the hopes and fears of an adolescent girl in the late 1940s can fascinate a bored male student normally more interested in beer, ciggies and girls in kinky boots should give you some idea of the gripping power of this tour-de-force of imagination and fine detail.

posted by Anonymous on December 21, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good but could be better

I think this book was worthy of some praise but not necissarily the best. The characters are pretty good but I think it would be better if it was not written in diary format. But I do have to admit that it did get incredibly boring and only lovers of reading can see th...
I think this book was worthy of some praise but not necissarily the best. The characters are pretty good but I think it would be better if it was not written in diary format. But I do have to admit that it did get incredibly boring and only lovers of reading can see the point in this story. I enjoyed reading it but I couldn't read it more that once.

posted by Anonymous on October 15, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Warm, wise and witty, a lovely (and quite funny) story of young

    Warm, wise and witty, a lovely (and quite funny) story of young love in a crumbling English castle. The voice is delightful and although I was, as I began reading, a bit concerned about the diary-entry structure, I needn't have been. Suits perfectly. And it made me want to drink lots of tea, which is always a bonus. Enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Captured my heart

    I bought an old copy of this book at an Estate sale in my town. This book just made me smile the whole time I was reading. I wanted to live in the castle and you can't help but love all the quirkiness of this family. The characters in this book are unforgetable and I am surprised that you don't hear more about this book. I highly recommend this book for a large age range. young adults and up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Delightful

    I made the mistake of watching the movie first - I`d never even heard of the book before, which is shameful. I did not like the movie at all, actually I couldn`t even finish it - despite the excellent cast, it did not pull together. But the book is a completely different matter. It all lies in the narrator`s voice, which is fresh, delighful, witty and funny. It really is a coming of age novel. Some have compared it to Pride and Prejudice - well, I didn`t see that. For one, this book is not romantic at all - despite the love stories and that`s why it hits you as real, I guess.
    In any case, read it and see for yourself. I enjoyed it, I think it well written and sometimes extremely funny!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    Very Cute coming of age book

    I loved reading this book. It took a few chapters to get into it, but then you were hooked! The characters were developed in such a way you thought they were getting to know your good friends. I highly recommend reading this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Classic Romance

    This novel had one of the most charismatic, insightful narrators I've ever met. The writing itself is done brilliantly, with a sense of humor to match. This novel is a modern classic that deserves to be on the same shelf of Austen and Bronte, who the characters so try to emulate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2005

    pretty dang good

    This book was really hard for me to put down. I love books that are a sort of diary thing, because you're almost completely in the mind of the narrator and can hear all their thoughts and ideas. It was really well-written, though there are a few things that I really wanted to change about it. Still, it was really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2004

    An honest and rare find

    Beginning in the first few pages I was very moved by the originality and setting, the words flowing wonderfully together. I felt that the author had many things to say to her readers and not just entertain with the poetic structure. The book was charming, golden and antique, like a long lost treasure found in the attic of our grandparents. The setting and language for our time is, yes, long out-dated, but Smith's messages are still very relevant and needed in this world today; that no matter how old they may seem they can never grow dusty or be covered in rust.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2004

    Great Book

    I wasn't five minutes into this book before I knew it was going to be great. The seventeen-year-old girl who narrates is imidiately likeable and gives you a knew perspective on life-in a good way. I also have to admit that her artistic, but impoverished family was more than a little like my own-slightly dramatized. The romance is fun, sometimes tragic, and keeps you reading without taking over the plot. I would recomend this book mostly to girls or women who enjoy romantic, but quality literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    Memorable, truly memorable!

    Dodie Smith's novel is captivating--from the first chapter, you feel like you know the characters, and you want to know what will happen with them. There are a ton of surprises in store, and the novel ends quite modernly. I did feel there were a few weaknesses, however, mostly in explaining relationships between characters that came out of nowhere. All the same, the book was great, and I could hardly put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2003

    Should check this book out....

    I had this book for quite awhile and picked it up once to try and read it. At first I really could not get into it. Then a few years later I read the whole book and absoutely loved it! I read the whole book in a few short days. I didn't want the story to end and was rooting for characters the whole time. I recommend this book and start it and stick to it, you will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2003

    great but....

    I will say that I loved this book, and the movie. But I was dissipointed in Cassandra's desicions. I wont give anything away, but she did act childish when it came to love. Everyone is in love with someone who dosn't love them. But I loved the fact that Rose found love in an unexpected place. And this person loved her back unexpecdidly as well. But I cried when it came to Stephen...he really deserved someone to love him....and I felt that Cassandra was being selfish with all her feeligns. 'First I like him, But know he kissed me so I like that guy' it was all to elementry. But still Read it you will enjoy it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2003

    A Wonderful Story

    This book will keep you reading. You feel as though you are in the castle watching everything as it happens. The narrator is very descriptive. I loved it when they swam in the moat. You feel that 'first love' all over again. Even though she made mistakes... don't we all when we are seventeen? The characters are so lovable - even the mannikin! I can't wait to see this movie when it is released!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2003

    absolutely wonderful.

    I am still a little in awe of this book. It is beautifully written and completely captivating. Smith's expression reaches out and leaves you incredulous that this book isn't really an autobiography. It wasn't happy or cheerful but satisfying in the sentimental way that leaves you warmly content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2002

    Enchantingly Lovely

    Within the first chapter of this novel, I knew it was destined to become a favorite. But don't set out to read this novel if you want a fast-paced adventure or a story that flaunts it's literary style. It was the book I wished I had written. It is written in the voice of a dreaming teenage girl who is almost an adult. It is to be savored, and just as D. Smith foreshadows, she leaves you to think on the characters. It is momentarily unsatisfying, but in the long term it is the perfect ending. So, if you love Jane Austen, read this novel. It is not the same style, but the same lovely feeling. Read it to explore your youth or to remember it. It is gently romantic and endearing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2002

    A Good Book for a Rainy Afternoon

    A surprisingly different book than Dodie Smith's more famous creation, 101 Dalmations! This book was recommended to me by the owner of a tiny independent bookstore in Dallas, and I certainly wasn't disappointed. This book is only recently back in print. A quick and comforting read, this book is just the thing when curled up in front of the fireplace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2002

    Not so impressed as an adult... But a cute read still

    I like to read different types of novels, so I chose this one. But the vocabulary and mannerism are hard to accept considering the ages of the children; perhaps that's a reason why I didn't like this novel as much as other children books I've read in the past; even the rommance involved is so surreal (except probably Cassandra and Stephen since they're closer in age). By the end of the book you forget their ages, but I don't think that justifies for the advanced sentence structure the children use to communicate with each other and with the adults (even though we know Cassandra is a very intelligent little girl, but still). It's still good but it can really drag if you had higher expectations. Some of the themes explored in the novel are really good though (such as life as a poor person vs. rich one, truly loving someone and being loved in return vs. being someone's 2nd best, writing in its true form, etc etc), and I suppose it'd benefit children to read this novel. So I'd still recommend it to children, but as an adult, I'd recommend something else in the children's category... PS. It is true that by the end of the novel you wish Cassandra had not stopped writing because it makes you wonder what happened to the others and herself (I won't give it away).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2000

    great

    this a great book, espiecally to be read by a fire or outside, laying in the sun. i did have a little hard time getting into it at first, but somehow, i fell into the novel and couldn't stop. the characters are great and so is the writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2000

    Wonderful!

    I Capture The Castle is a wonderful book! Its a must read for anyone who likes books such as Anne of Green Gables. It has a disappointing end- its sad and rather ruins the whole book. I adore this book, except for the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2