Customer Reviews for

I Don't Know How She Does It: The Life of Kate Reddy, Working Mother

Average Rating 3.5
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

I enjoyed this book- it was well written. I identified with Kate, so I am familiar with situation she went through. Worth the read

posted by evanescenceSE on September 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

disappointing

My sister sent me this book years ago and I finally read it because they are turning it into a movie with Sarah Jessica Parker. I figured it had to be OK. AND I wondered what message my sister was trying to send me.
Well, the first half of the book was extremely bo...
My sister sent me this book years ago and I finally read it because they are turning it into a movie with Sarah Jessica Parker. I figured it had to be OK. AND I wondered what message my sister was trying to send me.
Well, the first half of the book was extremely boring; any mom knows what it's like to juggle. And THIS mom (Kate) had an in-home babysitter and husband who HELPED !! And she was complaining ?!!?
Anyway, the author tries to wrap the book - and Kate's life -up in a nice little bow at the end. How quaint. And unrealistic.

posted by Momof8Fay on June 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    I enjoyed this book- it was well written. I identified with Kate, so I am familiar with situation she went through. Worth the read

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    disappointing

    My sister sent me this book years ago and I finally read it because they are turning it into a movie with Sarah Jessica Parker. I figured it had to be OK. AND I wondered what message my sister was trying to send me.
    Well, the first half of the book was extremely boring; any mom knows what it's like to juggle. And THIS mom (Kate) had an in-home babysitter and husband who HELPED !! And she was complaining ?!!?
    Anyway, the author tries to wrap the book - and Kate's life -up in a nice little bow at the end. How quaint. And unrealistic.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Magnificent!

    This is magnificent! How many women today live like this? When does it stop? How can it stop? Kate is everything and wants everything. She's ambitious and talented, she needs her career. She's loving and caring and needs her kids and husband. There just isn't enough time!. Sound familiar? This is magnificent! You will not regret your purchase!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    boring!

    tried to get into it but never could. being a woking mom i was excited to read this book, but it was a snoozer.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    not impressed

    this book was not very exciting. i found it borring.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Don't quite get the hype...

    I so wanted to absolutely love this book. I am an admitted Sex and the City fan and was looking forward to something that would relate to me on that next level. This didn't quite do it for me. It felt flat, slow, and not fulfilling. Yes, there were moments that made me laugh but overall, I didn't feel like I could relate to it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Exaggerated and Depressing

    I am surprised to see so many positive reviews of this book. I am a mother who works full time, so I expected to empathize with the main character and enjoy some 'I've been there' moments. I was disappointed to find that the main character is full of contradictions--and not in a meaningful, realistic, and interesting way. She is supposed to be a savvy career woman, but she sends incredibly unprofessional and crass emails to her co-workers and even a client. She is supposed to be a proponent of gender equality in the workplace, but when a male colleague does something horrible to a female (minority) intern, instead of running it up the discipline chain, as any normal person would do, she imagines a non-sensical scenario that would result in the intern being punished instead of the perpetrator. And then, in total disregard of her ethical responsibilities in dealing with investors' funds, she sets up a poorly explained sting operation of sorts that will lose money for the company and get the perpetrator fired. What kind of savvy professional would do something so stupid, and even criminal? And, on another topic, she is completely horrible to her loving husband and doesn't seem to feel even a scrap of remorse for the fact that she almost has an affair. Even at the end, when the two have reconciled, she says that she regrets not having had the affair! What?!?! This book is just horrible and depressing. Not a fun read at all.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2007

    Funny, but stressful!

    This is a very funny book, but it's enough to make you cry if you are indeed a busy working mother. I was not entertained by the endless 'to do' lists and unending guilt. This book might be more entertaining to those who have already survived raised their children, but for those of us who are still in the thick of it...?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Hi

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Ty's last rap to parker ;,(

    Its not time to die. I never got to say goodbye. Im goin to cry. Im not even shy. Sigh. Well i guess this is my last goodbye. ;,(

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    Vacuous & Pretentious. Becomes monotonous quick.

    I would give a negative star if I could. I was so looking forward to getting into this, being a mom trying to juggle work and family. But the book never goes past skimming the surface. The main character spends a lot of time admiring how cute she thinks she is. No. Literally. Admiring herself when she passes a mirror. Remarking on how all the guys in the office hit on her. Every single character is nothing but a sketch. Not one is fleshed out in the least. Making the narrative extremely one-sided. Or the characters are cartoony. Like the American who speaks in the stilted parody. The problem is I don't think this is a parody! I think this is the author's best effort! There is just a lack of any self reflection or insight. You want to be able to read a fun book like this and say "Yeah! I go through that too!" But every paragraph just sets apart the classes. Very unrelatable. Even the tense is all wrong. The book is written in the present tense through out. It really is just a series of jaunty magazine articles strung together. Honestly. Would it kill an writer to dig deep? Or learn to construct a scene? Anyway. Don't be fooled by the fact that the author is English. Apparently even THEY have people who can't put a descent story together. Not just us Ah-Mer-I-Cans. Another issue I had with this book is this woman faces absolutely no conflicts or dilemas. Either inner or otherwise. Everything goes her way. For instance: She's away from her kids all day. Sometimes overseas. And there's not emotional pull from that?! Just braggadocio. She makes all this money and Blah Blah Blah. Pages of it. I got through Part 1, and looked ahead to see how much more and I couldn't believe there was enough plot there to keep this story going. And I was right. Basic rule of story writing. Don't Tell, Show! Just underdeveloped plot. Save your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Great Book!

    This is a book that both working and SAHMs will relate too. I loved it and couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    This book was a great read. Entertaining. The reader can ident

    This book was a great read. Entertaining. The reader can identify with the hectic, never-ending fast-pace of Kate's life. The book is written in a way that you understand why Kate tries to maintain her career, her children, her husband, and her home in the way that she does. The wording is whitty and funny as the book highlights the continued disparities between parents who work and are female versus male.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    Well written chick lit!

    I liked this book. I think a lot of moms working or non-working can relate to it and the balancing act that is motherhood. Allison Pearson writes well and you can read through this book quickly. I liked the characters. I know some of the previous reviewers did not. They are portrayed with realistic human flaws. A good beach read or a nice book to snuggle up with at night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    I loooove this book

    One of my favorite reads ever. It was wonderful to have the issues that I was facing as a full-time working mother documented in such a funny way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Waiting for it to improve......

    So far, not impressed as she has a nanny that most women dont have.......... only completed chapter 2 it is boring really boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    A great book

    I enjoyed the depth the characters had, they were very real & reminded me of friends of mine. This was a very enjoyable book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Depressing

    From the movie reviews I assumed the book was a light hearted, amusing but uplifting story. Quite the opposite - overworked very unhappy wife who makes the husband out to be a useless buffoon in a very miserable marriage. Can't imagine the movie was anything like the book or it was a huge flop!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book is great!

    Its funny, serious, demanding and overbearing. Much of what a working woman and mother goes through. Pearson does a beautiful job showing the double standards that still exist in the work place between how men and women are treated and in particular after a women has a child. She shows Kate saying what she wants to really say in her mind as many of us do and then the politically correct thing which she says out loud. She clearly shows the termoil a mother feels at being pulled in 2 different directions wanting to do what she needs to do for her family and children and what "the workplace expects" of her. She also clearly developes a picture at how the womans mind is constantly in motion multi/triple/quadruple tasking to make sure everything is covered. At one point in the story a man who looses his wife - states he is amazed at how much there is to remember - basically rubber stamping what Kate is experiencing.

    All in all this is a good great. I read it because I saw the movie was out and it got me curious when I saw the book. Many of us can relate to what Kate is going through even when they make that final decision on wheather to walk away or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Too Long

    I found it to be very boring after awhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8