Customer Reviews for

I Don't Know How She Does It: The Life of Kate Reddy, Working Mother

Average Rating 3.5
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

I enjoyed this book- it was well written. I identified with Kate, so I am familiar with situation she went through. Worth the read

posted by evanescenceSE on September 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

disappointing

My sister sent me this book years ago and I finally read it because they are turning it into a movie with Sarah Jessica Parker. I figured it had to be OK. AND I wondered what message my sister was trying to send me.
Well, the first half of the book was extremely bo...
My sister sent me this book years ago and I finally read it because they are turning it into a movie with Sarah Jessica Parker. I figured it had to be OK. AND I wondered what message my sister was trying to send me.
Well, the first half of the book was extremely boring; any mom knows what it's like to juggle. And THIS mom (Kate) had an in-home babysitter and husband who HELPED !! And she was complaining ?!!?
Anyway, the author tries to wrap the book - and Kate's life -up in a nice little bow at the end. How quaint. And unrealistic.

posted by Momof8Fay on June 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    I enjoyed this book- it was well written. I identified with Kate, so I am familiar with situation she went through. Worth the read

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Magnificent!

    This is magnificent! How many women today live like this? When does it stop? How can it stop? Kate is everything and wants everything. She's ambitious and talented, she needs her career. She's loving and caring and needs her kids and husband. There just isn't enough time!. Sound familiar? This is magnificent! You will not regret your purchase!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Great Book!

    This is a book that both working and SAHMs will relate too. I loved it and couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    This book was a great read. Entertaining. The reader can ident

    This book was a great read. Entertaining. The reader can identify with the hectic, never-ending fast-pace of Kate's life. The book is written in a way that you understand why Kate tries to maintain her career, her children, her husband, and her home in the way that she does. The wording is whitty and funny as the book highlights the continued disparities between parents who work and are female versus male.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    I loooove this book

    One of my favorite reads ever. It was wonderful to have the issues that I was facing as a full-time working mother documented in such a funny way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    WONDERFUL

    Excellent book! A must read for a working mom!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    Great read, fun but full of substance

    I laughed a lot reading this book. Still, she gets the details of being a working mom right!
    I love that they cast Sarah Jessica Parker in the movie..Cant wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    This book was my life!

    This book was a fantastic, funny and slighlty sad all packaged in one binding. As I read it, I kept thinking, 'holy cow, this is my life!' It is a great book for any woman who has a high pressure job or executive career they must balance with family life. It's nice to know that type of life is experienced by others, even if in fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2004

    This Book Changed My Life

    After reading this book, my life made a drastic change for the better. It made me take an intense look at my life and propelled me into a world of self-discovery. Working 50 hours a week and watching my babysitter raise my two children, I realized that I too was in Kate Reddy's shoes. Her unhappiness made mine even more apparent. This book persuaded me to quit my lucrative job for the sake of my family. I made it a point to find part-time work that would allow me to stay at home and raise my own children. Many thanks to the author for highlighting the hardships a working mother goes through and the tough choices we as parents need to make.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2004

    IF YOU'RE NOT LAUGHING, YOU'RE CRYING

    I have never read a novel like this one that has made me cry as hard as I've laughed. Maybe it's because I recognized myself so much in the character. For those of us juggling careers and motherhood, Pearson captures all the challenges, heartaches, and joys with incredible clarity. Leave it to the British to bring us such sarcasm and sharp wit!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    Poignant but Hilarious!

    This has got to be one of the best books I¡¦ve read as it is both poignant and hilarious. I could only nod sadly when I read those parts about how sexual equality at work is all bogus and how companies see it as extending a favour to working mothers when they allow them to continue working after childbirth; and how men could so easily be seen as better fathers than their own dads simply by being able to change diapers and how working mothers will necessarily be seen as worse mothers than our own mothers just for holding a job outside the home despite all the hard work that we put in to hold the two together. Some parts I read just made me laugh out loud ¡V like Debra¡¦s story of the princess and the frog prince in reply to Kate¡¦s request for reminder as to why women started the feminist movement; and the part when Kate deliberately takes her time to brush her teeth to avoid sex with Rich just to gain more time for herself. I would certainly reccommend to every mother out there - whether you are a working mom or a stay-at-home mom or a working mom about to give up your career.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2004

    Daughter of Mommy-CEO

    As the now adult child of a full-time CEO mom, I completely understand the stresses placed on Kate. This book has, often through humor, offered me a look into my mother's busy schedule and what goes through her head every time she hops a plane to work. It's fabulously written, with laughter frequently following tears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2004

    a.k.a. 'You really can't have it all'

    Brilliant, totally clear-eyed and brutally honest meditations (if one can use the term in such a fast-paced narrative) on Womanhood, Motherhood, Childhood, and Neighbourhood in the Modern World. Because we can do it all, we try to have it all... and it's painful to accept that we can't---and, finally, a relief to realise that we shouldn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2004

    My Favorite Book! I love it.

    I could see myself in Kate Reddy's shoes. It was nice to read a book that so clearly hit the nail on the head when it comes to the life of the working Mother. The office behavior of the men was very much similar to reality. I was disappointed she left her job but happy to see her in something new in the end. HIGHLY RECOMEND THIS BOOK TO WORKING MOTHERS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2004

    PRAYERS FOR THE WORKING MOM Author Recommended

    Kate Reddy is a character that working moms will find believeable...so believeable that it has apparently made people uncomfortable. 'I Don't Know How She Does It' should not be read like its the Bible for working mothers...it isn't. Remember, this book is ficticious. Consider it as you would a satire or parody with just enough elements of truth to keep it relevant. If you're a working mom looking for a light book to laugh about, then this is a good book for you. If you're struggling to keep up, overwhelmed and searching for help, then this book would probably just make you mad. For FUN: Read I Don't Know How She Does It.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2003

    don't be too serious

    This is not really a self help book as many anticipate. It is true in form and will make you cry and laugh. It does make you think but may make others simply mad. If you are guilty of the things she points out, then it will not be funny to you unless you confess to your inner soul thoughts. Just read it for the joy of looking into a sort of mirror type reflection without getting straight answers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2003

    The dilemma of a working mother.

    Allison Pearson does an excellent job of capturing the life of a working mother. I could have sworn that my heart was beating at a faster rate than normal as I raced through each day with Kate Reddy. Just the volumes of data the woman had to remember left me dizzy. The book left me teary-eyed as I pondered the dilemma of a working mom. I felt defeated when Kate had to leave her job eventually to appease her family. It is not a small feat to work and raise children, but I would not want to have to choose one or the other. Oh, but I was excited when Kate Reddy started to pick up steam again at the end of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2003

    Kate is Great!

    This title is perfect, as any working mother would know. This was one of the best books I have ever read for many reasons: 1. I was a working mother, so I could relate. 2. The lengths that Kate goes to seem like a perfect mother are hilarious! 3. This book is not just for working mothers. It is for all moms, because it captures the emotion that is true to all moms, working or not. I am buying copies (in paperback) for my friends and my sister because I just want everyone to enjoy this great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2003

    outstanding!!!

    this book made me cry and laugh..it's so painfully true!! any mom should totally relate ..if you're not member of 'the muffia' that is :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    Surprising book

    I felt as if someone has been spying on me during the last four years. I'm also a career woman who juggles 12 different currencies in 6 different time zones, accross 15 countries. My daughter is as demanding as Emily and my husband as loving and caring as 'slow' Richard. I could not believe also many other similarities between Kate and myself. Even the end, which for many could have been dissapointing, for me was a healthy choice and one of the kind I expect to be able to make within the next ten years, for the sake of many people who surround me and for my own health. Lively picture of modern life and its challenges. Thank you Allison for such a wonderful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3