Customer Reviews for

I Dream of Genies

Average Rating 4
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Best Book - A Recommended Read

    When fun, fear, family, and far-away places get mixed up with the two-thousand-year-old cat Obo, with Eden, a fantastic looking genie that's been bottled up for centuries, and Matt Ewing, an ordinary small-business owner, I Dream of Genies becomes a warp-speed adventure that pits these three against seemingly insurmountable odds. The magic, mayhem, raging hormones, and irrepressible humor take the reader on a journey full of fantastic places, places from history, myth, legend, and fairytales. How about making love on a flying carpet! WOW!

    Like all genies, Eden (yes, Eden) lives a life of servitude and must do what her master asks. She never expects to receive but expects to always give and do someone else's bidding. The one thing she wants most is FREEDOM. After being rather unceremoniously dumped out of her bottle, Eden's magic is all messed up. Her control is out of whack. The humor that arises from this lack of control makes events sparkle as the plot is propelled along toward a destiny that will not be reached until Eden, Matt Ewing and the cat Obo are tested to their limits.

    The good-hearted Matt Ewing helps Eden who was knocked unconscious when dumped from her bottle. He does not know she is a genie-a genie that has been fascinated with him for a long time. With a struggling business to keep out of bankruptcy, he has no time for foolishness, but what's he to do with a confused genie with no place to live, no suitable clothes, and with an allure that dives him crazy. Thus begins his adventure of a lifetime-oh, yes, speaking of life, he comes close to losing his time and again as he and Eden work to free her from the clutches of Farug, the powerful, evil vizier of the High Master.

    The mysterious, self-centered Obo the cat knows his way around (as he should after 2000 years). He is entangled in the survival of Eden and Matt as they all three work to outsmart or trick mythical and magical evil forces that would thwart their plans.

    I Dream of Geniesis full of phenomenal characters like the baby dragon Humphrey (what a surprise to learn who he really is), the butterflies, hummingbirds, the mythical beast in the garden, the drunk, talking gargoyle and his companion the drunk skunk, pixies, goddesses and on and on.

    Judi Fennell's breathtaking imagery and exquisite descriptions create a world that lures the reader in to see true love take root and grow as scary adventures, fun adventures, and humorous side trips take place. Ms. Fennell's imagination, humor, and her literary knowledge creates a tale of giving love where both Eden and Matt have their wishes come true-a tale that shimmers, shines, sparkles, and sizzles with mind-blowing love scenes and world-rocking adventures.

    I Dream of Genies is a respite from the usual, a spellbinding flight into fantasy with a gentle, safe landing back into a happy-ever-after.

    Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun to read! I love a good romantic historical novel and fantas

    Fun to read! I love a good romantic historical novel and fantasies (but not too far out there!). This one's pretty enjoyable! Cute, funny, an easy read. Here are some other easy-reads you may enjoy, too! Thanks for a fun story, Judi Fennell!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Great escapist romance, sweetly funny

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Good book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun, Genie Romance!

    Judi Fennell has struck gold with another fun and fantastic romance! This one starts a new trilogy of genie themed books. If you love Aladin and Arabian Nights tales you'll love this. Fennell's imagination and endearing characters make this a story you won't want to miss!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Action Packed Carpet Ride!

    I dream of genies is a funny action packed carpet ride that keeps you wanting more! I love the character of Eden and found all of her magic uh ohs to be quite hilarious! Throw in her in hunky wood working love interest Matt...a smart cracking talking cat Obo and a baby dragon and you are on a wild ride you won't want to end! I can't wait for book 2 in the series Genie knows Best due out on November!

    Froggy
    Froggarita's Bookcase

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Quirky and Fun

    Even when author Judi Fennell was a child she had her nose in a book and her head in the clouds. Her mother would implore her to "Get outside," when all she wanted was to watch "Bewitched" or "I Dream of Jeannie" on television. Now she is an award-winning author and a three-time finalist in online contests after studying Spanish at Penn State. Titles in her Mer series include: In Over Her Head, Wild Blue Under, and Catch of a Lifetime. Genie Knows Best and Leave it to Genie follow this book in the series. She resides in Pennsylvania with her family.

    Eden has spent most of her immortal life serving her many masters in the Service as a genie. As if that wasn't bad enough, she's spent the past two thousand years trapped in a bottle as punishment for something she's not sorry for. So when mortal Matt Ewing releases her from the bottle, she relishes her new found freedom. Matt's been trying to save his business, and Eden is more than willing to help. Except her magic is a little rusty, and her "mistakes" are becoming more than a little embarrassing. Worse, her freedom is only temporary, unless she can break the chains of magic holding her to service. But that too comes with a price, for someone is after her, and he's more powerful than either of them. And his motives mean much more than Eden's freedom, it could mean Matt's life.

    First, the premise for this book seemed really cheesy and cliché to me, that is, before I actually read the book. Though not a lot of books have used this foundation, Judi Fennell was able to break a few of the norms we'd associate with genies and write a truly unique read. My only criticism is the few times we are in the antagonists head, Faruq, was kind of like reading a hilarious Stephen King segment, sporadic and unnecessary.

    In saying that, I was sincerely pleased with how much I enjoyed this book. The quirky humor and character antics had me laughing from page one. It was a beautiful blend of humor, romance, and fantasy. Throw in a talking cat and an unruly baby dragon and you have yourself one heck of a ride. What I wasn't expecting is spending more time in the fantasy realm than the real one. Bravo. Nicely done and highly recommended.

    Kelly Moran
    Author and Reviewer
    Bookpleasures

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    Fun Quick Read

    Kick back at the beach and read something that is different and fun. Characters are well drawn and likable. Love that cat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A hilarious story of genie antics gone wrong. Think pink stop si

    A hilarious story of genie antics gone wrong. Think pink stop signs and donkeys in the yard! Eden has been stuck in her bottle for a very long time, then one day accidentally gets free, right into the lap of her crush, Matt. Then the wild and crazy adventures start!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Sezy

    Jkkiuihv

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Good read

    This is a good, funny and quirky kind of book. You will enjoy this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Imaginative

    Lighthearted romp through a fantasy romance. It is not likely to be a classic, but it was clever.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a little over the top

    Not very realistic

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Example: Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    GREAT READ

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    Fun Fantasy Read

    This is a cute fun read. I enjoyed the banter and the crazy cat.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Great Read

    Loved this book. Was f fun read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Wonderful World Building

    I loved the Egyptian and Arabic influence in the book. While I Dream of Genies plays on the "I Dream of Jeannie" idea, the book makes it's world with consequences.

    The High Master reminds me a bit of the more chess-playing Dumbledore in Harry Potter with the same overall omnipotence yet there's a playful side that is interjected within the story. And that extends to every character. Eden was a likeable character that you rooted for while Matt was similarly not two-dimensional. The bad guys were horrible but didn't cross any irredeemable lines that brought down the entire book. The Dijinn world was complete and made sense, down to the hierarchy. Even the pantheon of gods and goddesses. And the special mentions of notable Egyptian historical figures.

    The only thing I wish was more fine-tuned was the romance, hence the lack of 5 stars and just 4, but it book works even without the fully explained love. In the middle of my heavy classwork load, I still managed to complete the book in a matter of days because I couldn't put it down. Definitely worth buying.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    Very Entertaining book

    I really enjoyed this book and found it very entertaining.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    terrific romantic fantasy

    Her three thousand year anniversary of confinement is arriving soon with no end in sight. Eden has begun feeling more than just claustrophobic living inside a bottle for almost two millennia though her abode is quite comfortable. Her problem is watching the hunk run past her everyday from the window of Murphy's Antiques as she wants him in uncontrollable lust.

    Matt Ewing is a nice person who believes his perfect brother has all the Luck of the Irish; whereas Matt irritated by the comparison lives under a dark cloud. Eden wishes to escape at the same Matt wishes his luck changed. When she lands in his lap unconscious, he thanks the Lord for dropping the lovely miracle on him and considers receiving her with a kiss. However, he soon believes his luck remains twisted; as the woman he now cherishes turns out to be the world's most incompetent genie, but in his mind the world's greatest lover.

    I Dream of Genies is a terrific romantic fantasy that pays homage to the TV show that made belly buttons in NASA. The story line is brisk lighthearted fun with seemingly incompetent boobs as the lead couple who prove that a minus times a minus equals a positive. The support cast (including her BFF Wilson the tree outside named after a stowaway volleyball) adds to the endearing romantic comedy.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4