Customer Reviews for

I Dreamed a Dream

Average Rating 4.5
( 535 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(352)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Emotions overflow.

Susan has a voice to wring emotions from the most hardened heart. Her version of "Cry Me A River" is outstanding. I've never heard better in my 74 years on this earth.

posted by LovesAGoodRead on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

"Dreamed a Dream" Not Worth It

I guess I'm just spoiled by Barbra Streisand and Celine Dion because Ms. Boyle just didn't thrill me at all. No inflection or emotion in her voice; simply flat and monotone throughout. Beautiful voice she has--I'll give her that, but a beautiful singing voice can only c...
I guess I'm just spoiled by Barbra Streisand and Celine Dion because Ms. Boyle just didn't thrill me at all. No inflection or emotion in her voice; simply flat and monotone throughout. Beautiful voice she has--I'll give her that, but a beautiful singing voice can only carry you so far, especially when it cracks at certain points within each song and when it doesn't convey any drama or personality. I'm sorry, Ms. Boyle. I really wanted to like your CD; but in hearing it, I can see why you didn't win the competition. This CD is just not worth buying. In fact, I'm returning it. Very disappointed with it.

posted by TaffyAR on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Susan Boyle

    It was great even though she sang most songs with the same
    mono tone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Where is the voice?

    I love Susan Boyle, but "they" have tried to change her - and not for the better.
    Her voice on "I dreamed a dream" sounds like a teenager instead of the throaty, mature, sophisticated sound she displayed on the viral video of her audition.
    Arrangements are good -Buy the CD - but hope that the "old" Susan's voice will be back on her next offering.
    Change her brows, change her hair, but please leave her voice alone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wishful Thinking

    She has a very good voice and does an outstanding job with "I Have a Dream". The other songs on the CD were ordinary with fair backup music. I bought the CD with great expectation but was disappointed with this production.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    NOY A GREAT CD

    LACKS PASSION IN THE VOICE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A little disappointing...

    Loved Susan Boyle's tv debut. The songs chosen for her cd were a little disppointing. Loved Dream a Dream and Cry Me a River... but that was about all. Hope the next one is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    OK

    The best song was I Dreamed a Dream. I was disappointed--hope she would be wonderful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Good Listening

    This is the Susan Boyle we all saw and loved on England's Got Talent. She's spot on when she sticks to her genre - big sweeping show tunes and hymns - but a little weak with jazz standards. Would like to see some more from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Susan debuts her first cd

    This is a nice cd. Some of the songs showcase her lovely melodic voice, while most of her songs are kind of run of the mill dull. If she makes another album I think she needs to challenge herself more with some upbeat songs as well as the ballads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    weird mix

    The voice is great, the phrasing dramatic. We all get that, but what a weird mix of songs. Why "Silent Night" mixed with "Wild Horses?" The performances were nice, but everything's a ballad. If Susan Boyle isn't just a flash in the pan, they're going to have to work harder at producing a cohesive product that will stand up as a whole, not just an eclectic mix of songs she already knows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nice, but if I had listened to the tracks prior to purchase, I would not have bought it.

    I guess my expectations were high and maybe that is why I was disappointed with this purchase. I think her singing sounds likes it's been engineered just for this CD. I was looking forward to getting it because on every occasion when I heard Susan Boyle's voice prior to getting this CD, her voice made my skin literally tingle with emotion, unfortunately not so with this CD. There were times, it didn't even sound like her singing and the song selections don't do her voice justice.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    ****

    Susan Boyle has a beautiful voice. Unfortunately some of the selections were too slow, drawn out; almost painful. On her next attempt, I hope more upbeat selections are made.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    She's an amazing story

    ...but I wanted a more "raw" experience. Given that most of my taking-in of her work has been live and moderately 'produced'...I just found the production a bit over done. 1,000 faux strings, proper studio work, etc. Don't get me wrong - loved the CD, just not what I was expecting and I think it somewhat misses the mark on what her audience is used to hearing from her...raw, minimally produced and real. I also wanted to hear her let rip, but it felt as though she was never quite allowed to tap into that raw well of energy she has always just beneath the surface. I hope her next album will be a bit more raw and natural.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Susan Boyle - what should have been

    We all agree she has an outstanding voice. But this CD just drags on so laboriously - it will put you to sleep. Go back to YouTube and listen to her performance of I Dreamed a Dream - it was far superior. That version had passion and energy. And her vocals sounded better. Her interpretation of songs like Wild Horses is certainly unique, and refreshing. But every song seems slower than the previous one. I hope that her next CD showcases at least some vivaciousness, uptempo songs, and somehow captures the joy and enthusiasm that she expressed in her initial performance. Because, unfortunately, it's missing from this CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    What Have They Done to Susan???

    I must be the only person who is disappointed in this CD! I have been listening to this CD in my car for the last several days; I don't know musical terminology so I am probably not using the correct words to describe what I find wrong with this CD!
    She is dragging out "It's the End of the World". Tonight I listened to I Dreamed a Dream on Youtube from her BGT appearance. She had a "deeper" voice and she belted out much more than she does on the CD. I expected her rendition of Amazing Grace to be different; she sings it in a monotone. I don't blame her, I just think someone took raw talent and tried to harness it and eliminated what I loved about Susan Boyle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3