Customer Reviews for

I, Elizabeth: The Word of a Queen

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Captivating

I loved this book. The author is an amazing storyteller. I loved her other books as well. I own them in paperback and will put them on my Nook as well so i always have them with me.

posted by AnnePaige82 on July 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Review from One Book At A Time onebooktime.blogspot.com

I picked this book up because Queen Elizabeth I fascinates me. I've read many different historical fictions about her. I really liked the first part of the book. Most things I've read start were her half-sister Queen Mary has her in the Tower of London. So, I haven'...
I picked this book up because Queen Elizabeth I fascinates me. I've read many different historical fictions about her. I really liked the first part of the book. Most things I've read start were her half-sister Queen Mary has her in the Tower of London. So, I haven't read much concerning her childhood and when her father was still alive (at least were she was the focus of the story anyway). I felt that reading about that time period helped me better understand some of her actions as an adult. I also liked reading about her relationship with her half-brother, Edward. But, sadly the later part of the story started to really drag down. I found myself skimming parts. But, I don't blame it on the book really. As stated above, I've read a lot about her. This book really just did not have anything new to add. It focused on the facts and more on Elizabeth the Queen, not Elizabeth the person. So, if you haven't already read some historical fiction about Queen Elizabeth, you might like this one. But, if you already have a lot of information concerning Queen Elizabeth I, you might want to find something else.

posted by pagese on April 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Captivating

    I loved this book. The author is an amazing storyteller. I loved her other books as well. I own them in paperback and will put them on my Nook as well so i always have them with me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    I was sorry it ended

    This book was fanastic from beginning to end. I might have to read it again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review from One Book At A Time onebooktime.blogspot.com

    I picked this book up because Queen Elizabeth I fascinates me. I've read many different historical fictions about her. I really liked the first part of the book. Most things I've read start were her half-sister Queen Mary has her in the Tower of London. So, I haven't read much concerning her childhood and when her father was still alive (at least were she was the focus of the story anyway). I felt that reading about that time period helped me better understand some of her actions as an adult. I also liked reading about her relationship with her half-brother, Edward. But, sadly the later part of the story started to really drag down. I found myself skimming parts. But, I don't blame it on the book really. As stated above, I've read a lot about her. This book really just did not have anything new to add. It focused on the facts and more on Elizabeth the Queen, not Elizabeth the person. So, if you haven't already read some historical fiction about Queen Elizabeth, you might like this one. But, if you already have a lot of information concerning Queen Elizabeth I, you might want to find something else.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    Flawless

    This is one of the finest pieces of historical fiction I've ever read. You will walk away feeling as though you've had a conversation with Gloriana herself -- beautifully written in the first person. I loved this book so much that I bought two copies; one to lend, and one to hoard for myself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must-Read For The Book-Lover

    Rosalind Miles is an amazing author; she manages to write in Elizabeth's point of view without flaw. Most of this is due to her research on Queen Elizabeth I, for, this novel is historically accurate. The other reason for her success is her ability of thorough writing, which allows the reader see Elizabeth's world. I recommend this novel to anyone who enjoys the English Renaissance. Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2008

    Interesting tale of Elizabeth!!!

    This book was well written. It captures nicely the thoughts that Elizabeth I has throughout her life. The scenes are described beautifully and very descriptive and the drama between the characters is well documented. All in all, this book is worth a read. Some of the historical points are a bit off, but other than that its a good novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    Excellent writing!

    I couldn't put the book down - even knowing the chain of events in history, I couldn't wait to turn the page. It was also great insight to see Elizabeth the woman going through the dreaded aging process - trying to rule as a queen, but giving insight to the woman as well. Rosalind Miles' description of every detail - be it the event, the Court setting, the attire being worn by the Court - it was just wonderful. I've read many books set in this time period, but never one so detailed and descriptive of the chain of events. Highly recommended.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2007

    One of my new favorites.

    One of my favortie books about the Tudors- I couldn't put it down. I, Elizabeth is an excellent story of Elizabeth's life from her early childhood until just before her death. Although a history lesson, Miles tells Elizabeth's story in a fascinating way. Very enjoyable and higly recommended for anyone interested in Tudor England.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2004

    Wonderful Insight to the women that is Elizabeth I

    It was a wonderful book. I enjoyed it very much. It was full of depth of her thoughts and feelings and problems that plagued her rule and her steps towards becoming queen. I recomend it to anyone who enjoys read and learning about this incrediable monarch.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    Interesting insite into the life of 'The Virgin Queen'

    I throughly enjoyed this book. I'm married to a Scotsman and have heard much about Mary Queen of Scots. This book gives the reader an interesting insight into the workings behind Elizabeth's struggle to retain her crown and her England. Also provides an insight into the struggle between the Catholic and Protestant religions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2003

    Superb 'Autobiography'

    I do not usually enjoy historical fiction. This book, however, is different. Told from Elizabeth's point of view, it reads as if it is her autobiography. Drawn into court intrigues, listening in on plots, and walking with a heavy heart when the infamous tower is put into use, the book folds you into its story. Although the outcome is known, it still offers heart pounding suspense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    Awesome

    It was an amazing book as well as a little challenging. I couldn't put it down, very witty.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2002

    A Re-release of a novel printed in 1994

    An excellent book! Elizabeth is cast in a darker mold for this historical novel. It's nice to see this book being re-released, although the title is a variation of others used for the same book. It is NOT a new novel, by any means...just a reprint of a good, solid read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2000

    Wonderfully Entertaining

    This novel is wonderfully written and highly recommended. Historically accurate down to minute details, it is easy to get lost in the story of Elizabeth I. Ms. Miles has done an outstanding job by conveying Elizabeth I as both a woman and a Queen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    A favorite

    Longtime favorite on Elizabeth1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2006

    Great piece of writing

    Mrs. Miles proves her skill agian in I,Elizabeth. However it was a large let down compared to her triolgys. It might have had something to do with the fact that I was already somewhat farmiliar with the story, but i never felt a conection with any of the characters nor did i have a desire to read this book all the time like i did with her other books. Although wonderfully written the story was hard to get into.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2005

    Very in-depth work for historical fiction

    This book is great for beginners who want to learn more about Queen Elizabeth via historical fiction. I wish it had gone into more detail about everyday life, i.e., the living conditions, the fashions, the entertainment of the era, but Ms. Miles does a fantastic job in keeping the reader interested. I love her writing style. The relationship between Elizabeth and Lord Dudley is heartbreaking and bittersweet, and Ms. Miles makes Dudley out to be more of a 'victim' of his love for Elizabeth than other writers tend to. I liked that perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2003

    Not too bad...

    Eh, this book was okay. Nothing more. I've read much better novels on Elizabeth I. Check out Robin Maxwell. In my opinion, her books are much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3