Customer Reviews for

I Hate This Place: The Pessimist's Guide to Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Jimmy Fallon and Sister Gloria Fallon has done it, Striking Pure Comic Gold

Jimmy Fallon has done it again. With his cynical look at life, writing it with his sister has taught so many people how to be a pessimist. It's so much funier coming fron somebody actually knowing comedy. From the funny saying ' Don't keep reaching for the stars cause y...
Jimmy Fallon has done it again. With his cynical look at life, writing it with his sister has taught so many people how to be a pessimist. It's so much funier coming fron somebody actually knowing comedy. From the funny saying ' Don't keep reaching for the stars cause you'll just look like an idiot stretching like that for no reason', just tells you how we act pesstimistic.

posted by Anonymous on September 5, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Terrible

Not to sound cheap but 8 dollars for a book that takes 5 minutes to read? It had maybe two funny lines. Honestly Jimmy is a funny guy, but this aint funny.

posted by 9537846 on November 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2003

    Jimmy Fallon and Sister Gloria Fallon has done it, Striking Pure Comic Gold

    Jimmy Fallon has done it again. With his cynical look at life, writing it with his sister has taught so many people how to be a pessimist. It's so much funier coming fron somebody actually knowing comedy. From the funny saying ' Don't keep reaching for the stars cause you'll just look like an idiot stretching like that for no reason', just tells you how we act pesstimistic.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2001

    Great humor to balance pessimism issues

    This book is deeply humorous -- a very funny read that stays with you !! For those of us who seem to be naturally pessimistic, the Fallons make excellent companions for the more serious and explicitly 'helpful' reading of Julie Norem's book about 'defensive [constructive] pessimism' which is more of a psychology book in overt form, while this one is indirect but equally effective.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Lightfur

    Licks his ear. "They will be."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Ravenclaw

    " No i love you more our kits will be perfect " he purred and heres whisper in his ear thank you in moonflowers voice only he could here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    OH MY GOODNESS

    this book was AMAZING thank god for you jimmy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2004

    What a Great Book!

    My mom bought me this book for my birthday, and I thought 'This book will make me feel down!' but after reading it, I found that it made me laught and definitely feel better. This is a great book and it's hilarious! I would recommend it for pessimests and optimists alike!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2003

    I HATE THIS BOOK

    I'm just kidding! The book was awesome! It's absolutely hilarious! Gloria and Jimmy make a great writing team! I brought it to school for the first time today, OMG! Everyone LOVED it! Even the little pictures in the background. Um yeah, I bought the book for $8.95. Wohoo! Go republishing! luv kaity

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2003

    jimmy Fallon is a comic Genius, a God

    I absolutley love this book!!! it's sooo perfect for people like me!!! Well not really, cause I have hopes of being on SNL ANd I payed $56.00 for it, it was worth every penny, I especially like the What People Really Mean... Part! Oh, if u like the Book, Go get his CD, The Bathroom wall, It's rare, but a good find!! By A jimy Fanatic Named Aimee D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2003

    I love this Book

    This book is one of the funniest that I have ever read. If you need a good laugh this is a book that you pick up. I love Jimmy Fallon and he should never stop making books like these.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2003

    JIMMY FALLON I LOVE YOU!

    jimmy i love you so much i think that you are so hot and funny and talented! you are so cute! don't stop making funny things!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2003

    THE BEST

    this is one of the books that i actually read! wow i love jimmy fallon... hes hot, sexy, funny, hot, hot, o and did i say hot! omg i just love watching you make an idiot of yourself on SNL! that is the best show ever created i always watch your show even though i have to wake up early in the morning for church! wow i think your madd great! i was trying for the longest time to get tickets but they never seem to be open or whatever! lol i just wish i get to go there before i graduate high school! this book is madd good and it deserves 5 STARS! this book was madd hard to find. i actually had to buy this book for $120.99 plus shipping and handeling! see what i do for you! lol i really hope you read this! o my name is mandy!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2003

    I Love this book

    I really am not in to reading but when I heard about this book I looked for it everywhere and I didn't find it. I really like that Jimmy and Gloria Fallon should make another book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2002

    he is gifted, hot, and funny. no wonder men hate him. he is brilliant!

    i LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVED this book! jimmy and gloria did a wonderful job!!!!!! i could totally relate to this book. the only thing i regret was not going to the book signing! i wish i would have known!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2002

    I like Bowling for Soup

    A really good book although it was impossible to find. Every book store I went to was like, 'Whaddareyatawkinbout.' I finally found it and it was really worth all the searching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    AmazingLy Great!!

    I had some trouble finding this book as well, but it was well worth the wait, for it to be shipped in. It was all funny, sad, entertaining, i will say educational, cause it did give great points of views, and things to compare things too, i really recommend this book. Not only to the fallon fans, but to anyone who wants to read about interesting and funny things about pessimists, and just life in general.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    I loved this book!!!!

    I really like Jimmy Fallon so I read this book and I loved it!!! I love Jimmy Fallon!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2002

    It was a great book!

    I personally love jimmy Fallon but I didnt think he was capable of writing such a good book. It was awesome though. i suggest it to n e one!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2002

    THIS BOOK ROCKS & SO DOES JIMMY and his sister GLORIA

    I haven't read the book but have heard good things about it but i can't find it anywhere where i live so i had to special order it. I can't wait to get it! I Love u JIMMY!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2002

    awesome

    the fallon family has talent!! this book was written to entertain people and it does just that. way to go jimmy and gloria.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2002

    I hate this Place

    This book is totally hillarious. I Think Jimmy and his sister are very very talented and creative. I hate this Place too, :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2