Customer Reviews for

I Heard You Paint Houses: Frank "the Irishman" Sheeran and Closing the Case on Jimmy Hoffa

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting

    If this solved the Hoffa mystery its not too well known; good non-fiction/fiction.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    A book everyone should read.

    This book was very interesting,and answers questions that have persisted for many years. The flow of the book was excellent you don't want to put it down. It tells a story of a different generation and how many of them survived after World War II. The time has come for the truth to be told of what happened to Jimmy Hoffa, This book answers those questions.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2005

    Fascinating Revealing and Chilling

    Finally the long-awaited solution to the disappearance of Jimmy Hoffa. Although one question is answered, so many new ones come up. A Must Read for anyone interested in American History!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    I have been totally fascinated by the Jimmy Hoffa story since I

    I have been totally fascinated by the Jimmy Hoffa story since I was a kid and read a book about the McClellan Committee's hearings. This was really interesting and I remember a LOT of the names - there were even some relevant to my life.

    It's very easy to read - I enjoy dialogue and this, while not really dialogue (more of a monologue) is a fascinating history of Hoffa and the International Brotherhood of Teamsters union. It was a great book and I'm glad I own it even if it is electroni - I may go an buy a hard copy of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Great

    Great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Plausible, believable & enjoyable

    If you are looking for both a simple contextual view of the Hoffa years and the role of organized crime with trade unions leading up to Hoffa's disappearance. This is a great read. Sheeran provides a compelling and plausible understanding into Hoffa and the end of his life as the trigger man.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    TRUE STORY!

    This a great read for anyone interested in the history of our country. But what is truly exposed in this book as in many others, is just how corruption spreads through almost every facet of our day to day lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    Hoffa Killing explained

    I am not a fan of "the mob" or that kind of thing and read this book only
    because a business that was started by my great-grandparents was mentioned
    in the story. To my surprise I found that I enjoyed the entire book. It
    was interesting and fascinating. Names that I remembered from my childhood kept cropping up in the book and I kept reading to see what was
    going to happen.

    I think this is more of a "male" type of book but I could not put it down
    and managed to finish it in three days. I just wish that there was a glossary in the book to explain some of the words that were used. I have
    passed the book on to my husband and plan to bring it to the attention of
    my book club at our next meeting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    riviting

    This is one book that I couldn't even put down. It answered alot of questions, not only of Hoffa but of the Kennedys and the corruption of the government at that time also. Great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    Exciting! A great read, I couldn't put it down.

    If you like true crime, this has plenty of it! You follow an aging mobster, Sheeran, from child hood bar fights to World War II up until his last breath and everywhere in between. It is a great look inside the Teamsters, Mafia, and early immigration to the United States.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2005

    A revealing look at a Teamster/mafia insider

    An excellent read for anyone interested in the interwoven relationship between the Teamsters, the government and the 'so-called' mafia. What makes this story compelling is that it is coming from someone who lived it, not researched or reported it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2004

    A GREAT STORY

    A EXCITING BIOGRAPHY OF AN INTERESTING MAN.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2014

    OK kind of stretched out

    The book was just OK. I grew up not too far from where it all happened. All the places in the Detroit area, names of cities were familiar.
    For someone who is non-union or someone who didn't live in an automotive town I aam sure it woud be very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Great read

    If you want to know the details of Jimmy Hoffa's murder go to chapter 28. The rest of the book is pretty much a bio of Frank Sheean. Still a great book. I could barely put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3