Customer Reviews for

I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell

Average Rating 4
( 1183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(585)

4 Star

(290)

3 Star

(124)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(119)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

'What would Jesus do?' More like, 'What would Tucker Max Do'

After reading Tucker Max¿s background as a former Univeristy of Chicago student who had moved onto Duke Law School, I thought I had a general idea about what this book would comprise of. After reading only two lines, that idea was shattered. Tucker Max is a 33-y...
After reading Tucker Max¿s background as a former Univeristy of Chicago student who had moved onto Duke Law School, I thought I had a general idea about what this book would comprise of. After reading only two lines, that idea was shattered. Tucker Max is a 33-year-old lawyer who hates law and loves having sex and getting drunk. In fact, I¿m pretty sure he likes doing both at the same time. Max told stories of crashing sorority parties, sleeping with woman all around Vegas, trying new, awkward sexual experiences with rich girls from South Florida, all the way to running away from a clan of hillbillies who were about to kill him and his friends in North Carolina. Before picking up this book I saw books as a boring, imageless way to hear a story. Tucker Max turned that around for me. For being the vile, offensive person that he is, Tucker¿s grammar and sentence structure painted a picture in my mind that I am still not quite sure I wanted to see. I laughed out loud so hard and so many times while reading that I¿m pretty sure I have some kind of minor lung and diaphragm damage. Although Max is not the kind of guy I want my sister to date, he does teach two very important lessons. The first lesson is to always live life to the fullest because you only live once. When you see the opportunity to have a fun time, even if it might land you waking up in bed with a fat chick, take it. The second lesson is also pretty simple if you love having sex, being a drunkard, and hate wearing a tie, do not become a lawyer. Tucker Max, I raise my glass to you. Thank you for the laughs, the abdominal pain, the new outlook on my life, and the guidance that as I grow up and learn wrong from right, that I never become anything remotely close to you. If I ever met Tucker Max in real life, he would definitely be invited him to my bachelor party and my wedding. But after that, I would never want to see him again because he would probably sleep with my wife, wake up in the morning and not remember a damn thing.

posted by Anonymous on August 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Great start, got tired quickly

A big WOW for shameless debauchery from a raging egomaniac. It's like bungee-jumping into the mosh pit at a fraternity grain party. I'm a girl who liked parts of the Tucker book, so this is sort of a mixed review. The first story I read was the Tucker tries b*tt sex one...
A big WOW for shameless debauchery from a raging egomaniac. It's like bungee-jumping into the mosh pit at a fraternity grain party. I'm a girl who liked parts of the Tucker book, so this is sort of a mixed review. The first story I read was the Tucker tries b*tt sex one. I nearly peed myself it was so funny. For shock value and out of control laughs, you could stop after that story and be satisfied. (It turns out I should have stopped).

The next story I read was pretty funny. The next brought a few chuckles, and by the fourth I was bored. Vomit and poopy pants is only outrageous once; not every story. It seems pretty obvious that he decided early on to "never let the truth get in the way of a good story".

At that point I switched gears and realized the true entertainment value; laughing at Tucker's misplaced ego, lame debacles and feeble attempts at writing. And since they're all embellished versions of similar stories, you get to guess the timing and outcome of the events and feel proud of your highly tuned prophetic skills. This gem of a discovery had me howling big-time.

Honestly, some of these stories my 17 yr. old brother would consider too pathetic to repeat. Tucker et al flake out, embarrass themselves, explode body fluids, and the outcome is lame. By contrast, Tucker brags like these are conquests from a billionaire gladiator. I've never known someone so egotistical they don't even realize it when they were made to look like a fool.

I've met some successful adrenaline junkies in my short life whose stories ARE mind-blowing; I've been involved in some of their debacles and am astonished at what they get away with. Tucker's stories for the most part would make an embarrassing footnote of losers seen fumbling around in the background.

Don't get me wrong; if you're a freshman and led a sheltered life...if you like comedy and can overcome the short-bus, Darwin candidate frat-i-tude, some of these stories will have you rolling.

If you've matured beyond Spring Break and prefer well written tales, there's better options for drunken philandering memoirs. Hunter Thompson paved the way with Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. Also make sure you get Brett Tate's hilarious photo-documentary about insane wealthy gangsters living the dream;

High Heels and Dirty Deals - Globetrotting Tales of Debauchery from a Binge-drinking Nymphomaniac.

posted by Monique-S on April 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    Tossed in the Garbage

    Was attracted to this book because of the catchy title. What a disappointment. Maybe found 3 pages worth of laughs. Book ended up with the outgoing trash. I'm a male with a weird sense of humor (or so I've been told) but this was completely tasteless. This reader feels the book was a total waste of paper both literally and monetarily.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    A Sad Man

    Tucker Max and his legion of followers are a blight on the rest of humanity. This sad man spends his time fabricating stories and passing them off as truth in the hopes that someone might like him. The lowest form of humor meets the lowest form of man.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    Don't bother - the worst book in print

    First off - I didn't buy this book. Someone loaned it to me (which is a good thing because if I would have actually paid money for it - I would be fuming mad for buying a book filled with such trivial BS trying to disguise itself as entertainment).

    Seriously, all of the "Excellent" reviews must be written by the author himself or his friends (if he has any left). The author is laughing all the way to the bank because people have been duped into believing that this book is funny / entertaining.

    I'm a man and I found this book revolting (I lasted for about 20 pages and scanned the rest). The author comes across as a spoiled brat who gets whatever he wants.

    Note to Author: Calling attention to your depravity and calling yourself an ***hole with a wink and a nod does not make you an avant-garde or cutting edge author - it simply means that you are a douche.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    I can't imagine anyone not male or past the age of 16 enjoying this.

    I was hoping for a male Sex and the City (even though it would be a different city) and instead got chapter after chapter of sophomoric humor as the author detailed how drunk he got, how many women he slept with and how meaningless it all was. The only saving grace is that the author admits up front to all of this. Our book club was interested in a change from chick lit. The best I can say is we got it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2006

    I want my wasted life back..

    This book was the biggest waste of time I have ever picked up. The author, Tucker Max, has as much comedic genius and originality as Carlos Mencia. I literally threw the book to the ground and allowed my dog to defecate upon it. Worst investment I have ever made.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Terrible book.

    I read a lot of books, but this was one of the worst. 336 pages of sexual conquests. How this guy makes a buck off the public is amazing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    Just Disgusting!

    I picked this book up because it was on the NY Times Best Seller List.

    I am not easily shocked, but I have never read a book where someone was so full of themself for little reason. How any "sane" woman would want anything to do with him is beyond me.

    Bottomline; I think that Tucker should be castrated and not allowed organ donations when his fail.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2008

    bartender's advice to readers of this book

    bartenders and people in the industry hate people like this. we refer to you as DOUCHEBAG, or the dickhead wearing the pink polo with the collar popped

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    What an Inane, Sophomoric Piece of Garbage

    I selected this book (and wasted $10) because it was included on B&N's list of NYT best sellers as a good, humorous read. Terrible mistake, unless you're 17 years old (chronologically or intellectually), have no taste for intelligent comedy or literature, and are prepared for little more than the ramblings of a self-absorbed rich kid lawyer. Just like so much associated with his profession, I'm sure the author has achieved his metric of success with this trash...money. Sadly, he got some of mine too. Caveat emptor, as they say...my bad, save yourself the same mistake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    not good

    at first it seems interesting then you cant get past the fact that he is just a jerk plain and simple. IF you laughed at bullies in middle school then you will like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    Frat boy writes a book

    I just read a couple of chapters and this guy is making money off of writing about how he is a complete tool. It's great if you want to read a bunch of drunk stories with no point to them.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    ugh

    I did laugh at a few things in this book - but basically it's ridiculous and trashy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I wasted my life reading this book.

    The man (boy is probably more appropriate) who wrote this book, must secretly be very, very, very sad. The only parts I found really funny were when he quoted his friend Slingblade. The writing was not great. I equate this with reality television. It is just depressing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    Why would anyone sleep with this guy??

    I guess i don't understand why any woman would sleep with this guy as he ain't all that!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    Tucker Max is Not a Good Man

    Tucker Max is a disgusting human being. I know he laments as much and thinks its funny but he should be ashame of this book, not proud. Why? First of all, he cannot write. His anecdotes are little bits of self congratulation usually lacking an end or a beginning and focusing on some vulgar way he degraded another human being... and let me say this, I'm all for base hook ups with diseased personalities and calling it for what it is, but he takes pleasure in degrading people that degrade themselves. I don't think that's cool and furthermore, I think it's completely disgusting that I put more money in his pocket.<BR/><BR/>For my full review, go to: http://thebooksnob.blogspot.com/

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    SO BORING!!

    I cant convey in words how lame this book was. Nothing new, exciting, or interesting about this. Makes you feel pretty bad for the guy, if this is the pinnacle accomplishment in his life. I could interview a homeless drug addict and get better stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Thu Kkk Yea wtf ever

    This is a crappy book lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    loved.....NOT.

    I hated this book. It was stupid and boring. Iwish i could get my money back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    ?.....dkfclskckd?

    I hate it. End ostory noobs. Plus he is an atheist D:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Waste of time

    Was funny for maybe the first 2 stories...after that got boring real fast! Nothing but college sexual escapades where he is always portrayed as a super stud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6