Customer Reviews for

I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell

Average Rating 4
( 1177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(578)

4 Star

(290)

3 Star

(124)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(119)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

'What would Jesus do?' More like, 'What would Tucker Max Do'

After reading Tucker Max¿s background as a former Univeristy of Chicago student who had moved onto Duke Law School, I thought I had a general idea about what this book would comprise of. After reading only two lines, that idea was shattered. Tucker Max is a 33-y...
After reading Tucker Max¿s background as a former Univeristy of Chicago student who had moved onto Duke Law School, I thought I had a general idea about what this book would comprise of. After reading only two lines, that idea was shattered. Tucker Max is a 33-year-old lawyer who hates law and loves having sex and getting drunk. In fact, I¿m pretty sure he likes doing both at the same time. Max told stories of crashing sorority parties, sleeping with woman all around Vegas, trying new, awkward sexual experiences with rich girls from South Florida, all the way to running away from a clan of hillbillies who were about to kill him and his friends in North Carolina. Before picking up this book I saw books as a boring, imageless way to hear a story. Tucker Max turned that around for me. For being the vile, offensive person that he is, Tucker¿s grammar and sentence structure painted a picture in my mind that I am still not quite sure I wanted to see. I laughed out loud so hard and so many times while reading that I¿m pretty sure I have some kind of minor lung and diaphragm damage. Although Max is not the kind of guy I want my sister to date, he does teach two very important lessons. The first lesson is to always live life to the fullest because you only live once. When you see the opportunity to have a fun time, even if it might land you waking up in bed with a fat chick, take it. The second lesson is also pretty simple if you love having sex, being a drunkard, and hate wearing a tie, do not become a lawyer. Tucker Max, I raise my glass to you. Thank you for the laughs, the abdominal pain, the new outlook on my life, and the guidance that as I grow up and learn wrong from right, that I never become anything remotely close to you. If I ever met Tucker Max in real life, he would definitely be invited him to my bachelor party and my wedding. But after that, I would never want to see him again because he would probably sleep with my wife, wake up in the morning and not remember a damn thing.

posted by Anonymous on August 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Great start, got tired quickly

A big WOW for shameless debauchery from a raging egomaniac. It's like bungee-jumping into the mosh pit at a fraternity grain party. I'm a girl who liked parts of the Tucker book, so this is sort of a mixed review. The first story I read was the Tucker tries b*tt sex one...
A big WOW for shameless debauchery from a raging egomaniac. It's like bungee-jumping into the mosh pit at a fraternity grain party. I'm a girl who liked parts of the Tucker book, so this is sort of a mixed review. The first story I read was the Tucker tries b*tt sex one. I nearly peed myself it was so funny. For shock value and out of control laughs, you could stop after that story and be satisfied. (It turns out I should have stopped).

The next story I read was pretty funny. The next brought a few chuckles, and by the fourth I was bored. Vomit and poopy pants is only outrageous once; not every story. It seems pretty obvious that he decided early on to "never let the truth get in the way of a good story".

At that point I switched gears and realized the true entertainment value; laughing at Tucker's misplaced ego, lame debacles and feeble attempts at writing. And since they're all embellished versions of similar stories, you get to guess the timing and outcome of the events and feel proud of your highly tuned prophetic skills. This gem of a discovery had me howling big-time.

Honestly, some of these stories my 17 yr. old brother would consider too pathetic to repeat. Tucker et al flake out, embarrass themselves, explode body fluids, and the outcome is lame. By contrast, Tucker brags like these are conquests from a billionaire gladiator. I've never known someone so egotistical they don't even realize it when they were made to look like a fool.

I've met some successful adrenaline junkies in my short life whose stories ARE mind-blowing; I've been involved in some of their debacles and am astonished at what they get away with. Tucker's stories for the most part would make an embarrassing footnote of losers seen fumbling around in the background.

Don't get me wrong; if you're a freshman and led a sheltered life...if you like comedy and can overcome the short-bus, Darwin candidate frat-i-tude, some of these stories will have you rolling.

If you've matured beyond Spring Break and prefer well written tales, there's better options for drunken philandering memoirs. Hunter Thompson paved the way with Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. Also make sure you get Brett Tate's hilarious photo-documentary about insane wealthy gangsters living the dream;

High Heels and Dirty Deals - Globetrotting Tales of Debauchery from a Binge-drinking Nymphomaniac.

posted by Monique-S on April 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great start, got tired quickly

    A big WOW for shameless debauchery from a raging egomaniac. It's like bungee-jumping into the mosh pit at a fraternity grain party. I'm a girl who liked parts of the Tucker book, so this is sort of a mixed review. The first story I read was the Tucker tries b*tt sex one. I nearly peed myself it was so funny. For shock value and out of control laughs, you could stop after that story and be satisfied. (It turns out I should have stopped).

    The next story I read was pretty funny. The next brought a few chuckles, and by the fourth I was bored. Vomit and poopy pants is only outrageous once; not every story. It seems pretty obvious that he decided early on to "never let the truth get in the way of a good story".

    At that point I switched gears and realized the true entertainment value; laughing at Tucker's misplaced ego, lame debacles and feeble attempts at writing. And since they're all embellished versions of similar stories, you get to guess the timing and outcome of the events and feel proud of your highly tuned prophetic skills. This gem of a discovery had me howling big-time.

    Honestly, some of these stories my 17 yr. old brother would consider too pathetic to repeat. Tucker et al flake out, embarrass themselves, explode body fluids, and the outcome is lame. By contrast, Tucker brags like these are conquests from a billionaire gladiator. I've never known someone so egotistical they don't even realize it when they were made to look like a fool.

    I've met some successful adrenaline junkies in my short life whose stories ARE mind-blowing; I've been involved in some of their debacles and am astonished at what they get away with. Tucker's stories for the most part would make an embarrassing footnote of losers seen fumbling around in the background.

    Don't get me wrong; if you're a freshman and led a sheltered life...if you like comedy and can overcome the short-bus, Darwin candidate frat-i-tude, some of these stories will have you rolling.

    If you've matured beyond Spring Break and prefer well written tales, there's better options for drunken philandering memoirs. Hunter Thompson paved the way with Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. Also make sure you get Brett Tate's hilarious photo-documentary about insane wealthy gangsters living the dream;

    High Heels and Dirty Deals - Globetrotting Tales of Debauchery from a Binge-drinking Nymphomaniac.

    26 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2006

    Lowering The Bar

    Ever been stuck on, for example, an airplane with some guy who won't shut up about all the women he's nailed and how cool and clever he is, how much he can drink, etc? Well that's what this book is like. Astounding lack of literary talent aside -- Mr. Max seems to know few adjectives other than 'cool' 'awesome' and 'hot' and bombards the reader with 'dude's -- any one who'd like to hear these same stories told with at least a little humility would be better attending any meeting of Alcoholics Anonymous or a Sex Addiction Support Group.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2006

    Disappointing

    This book was disappointing on virtually all levels. There were a few points that made me laugh out loud, but for the most part, it lacks ingenuity or originality between the stories. This book is only suitable for those currently in college, wish they were still in college, or those who act like they are still in college. Insight and thoughtfulness, not to mention a talent for writing, are nonexistent. I suggest that Mr. Max milk his fifteen minutes of fame for all that he can, as I cannot imagine this book doing anything except being a hindrance to any sort of future professional career.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loss of Standards for What We Call a "Book"

    Number of women slept with? Somewhere in the hundreds (he lost count once it the number hit the three digits). Follow Tucker Max in his biography entitled I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell, published by Citadel Press in New York City, NY in January 2009, as he depicts himself in a remarkably narcissistic manner while describing how he indulges himself in too much alcohol and recounts his tales of sexual encounters, no matter how despairingly it gets. Since its publishing date, it has been on the New York Times Bestseller list for three consecutive years with a wide range of reviews, from people who believe that Max is somewhere near god-like status, and others who believe that he should, well, definitely not still be living. I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell is a book that lacks any real basis for even having been made into a book and the level of self-absorption that the author exhibits is almost hard to believe. I will give this book one redeeming quality: Tucker Max is an astonishingly well rounded author who can easily put his thoughts into word.
    I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell essentially depicts a couple of years in the life of Tucker Max as he tries to have as many sexual encounters as possible while also being overly drunk at the same time. Most of his stories do try to present something new to you, so you will at least not be reading the same thing over and over, if you can stomach to read through the entire book. From crashing a girl's car into a bakery while she waits for him upstairs to refusing to sleep with a girl who was recently diagnosed with cancer, Max's stories have variety in both the types of events they depict as well as the level of inhumanity they contain.
    While most readers may find his depiction of the women he encounters and his general womanizing the things that are most wrong with I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell, the most glaringly disappointing aspect of the book is the wit. The book reeks of the pleasure that Tucker Max gets from sleeping and occasionally humiliating women. While Max is a very decent writer, the level of intelligence, wit, and humor he thinks he possesses is a major turn off to his writing. Many writers are arrogant, but they usually try not to let it show through their writing. Max thinks so highly of himself that he cannot help but glorify himself throughout the book.
    Over all, I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell barely deserves mentioning. The book lacks any real basis for even being a book, other than for one man to glorify himself as the ideal man in American culture. The writing is the only thing that makes this book worth glancing at, although it is a shame that Max couldn't have put his talents to a book of higher quality. There is nothing remarkable in these stories, and barely anything remarkable in the self-absorbed and narcissistic man known as Tucker Max. This book barely deserves 2 stars out of 5.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    Don't waste your money!

    I have to admit that I was probably a little bit out of my realm when I purchased this book, seriously?? WHAT A WASTE. Can I PLEASE have my money back?? I had read some reviews that Max's writing was funny what's so hilarious about a hormone crazed (now not so young man- 32, for goodness sakes) that might have a very bad drinking problem. I didn't find his 'humor' really that funny, at all if you are looking for wit, then this is not the place to find it. Max's book is great for a trip down memory lane to drunken orgies in college... otherwise... don't bother.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2015

    Hes not...

    He is very honest to admit that he is a you-know-what

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Every woman should read this

    What a giant dbag

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Unless you're a 13-year-old boy - Skip it.

    Starts out comical, (I literally laughed out loud in public) then makes you realize he's nothing more than a misogynist who drinks too much.
    Not worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Frat boy humor

    Some of the stories are pretty funny but after he lets us know he carries around a voice recorder you realize a lot of it is just contrived garbage put in for shock value alone. Sadly, there are never any redeeming moments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    Blah, Blah, Blah

    The book may get some good laughs in the beginning as it resonates with some stories many people can likely relate to when recollecting thier first years away from home in college, in the military, or just on thier own.

    But after a few chapters this becomes nothing but an egotisctcal, "look at how proud I am that I treat women as subserviant, unintelligent, and they serve only the purpose of sexual activites".

    This may be a great book for the men in the adult world who refuse to grow up and recognize they aren't on the high school or college football teams anymore.
    As for the women, you could have written a better book in 5th grade.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    got pulled in by. the title. read first chapter,

    its a book about sexual conquests in detail..wish i didnt buy it. i guess i might be a prude,,,,,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    uggh. so stupid.

    not funny. spoiled and very obvious exaggerated neopolean complex little man. will write publishers for my money back. id rather be buried up to my neck in a field and have my head painted black and white than finish the book.....so boring and boasts so much the characters arent likeablble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Started strong, finished weak.

    I found it to be very funny and entertaining at first. However, it faded fast. After awhile it was the same old, same old, got drunk, got laid, let's move on the the next same old adventure. Overall the book is pretty shallow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4