Customer Reviews for

I Hope You Dance

Average Rating 5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    May you always dance!

    I read this book once from a friend who got it from her mother as a birthday present. Which I thought was such a sweet and great gift from the heart. I remember saying to myself that I have to get this book sooner or later in life for my child(thats when I ever have kids). This book is so beautiful and the words are so true & inspiring. Also unforgetable and heartfelt. I already have the cd. The song is so precious and lovely from beginning to end. Just like the book. I hope you all dance!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2008

    My friend died of cancer a few years ago

    My friend was dying of cancer and before she got really sick she and her husband had a second wedding. She sang this song to her two small girls at the wedding. I know they will always remember her when they hear it. She wanted them to enjoy life after she was gone and always dance. In memory of Yali Garcia

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2004

    TO HAVE NO LIMITS!!

    In my life I have felt restricted by my fears. After having experienced this book I realized that I cannot allow my son to adapt these same feelings. Although he is still very young I see things in him that I want to hold on to and I hope he will always cherish. I'm buying this book to share with him and to instill in him the courage I have found. And I hope he learns to never loose his innocence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Love this book

    What beauitful book Love Love this song

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Tori

    Okay (um okay)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Alec

    Leaves

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Love

    I love this song and book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Amazing Book

    Very inspirational book. Love every single page of it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This Is One Of My Favorite Songs

    I heard this song at the end of a Tyler Perry movie, "Family That Preys" and Gladys Knight sings it. Then, I heard Carrie Underwood and Lee Ann Womack both sing it. It makes my heart soar each time and definitely a must have. To know there is a book to accompany it, I am so happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    Great book for a pick me up

    My sister died suddenly in an accident. We played this song at her funeral along with a picture slideshow. I pick this book up on a regular basis and read through it, because it makes me think of my moments with her. It reminds to me to keep living and smiling, like she would want me to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great!

    I first read this book at a friends house, I was going through my "I hate the world" moments. I thought it was so beautiful and poetic. Even though it didn't cause change in me (my friend later bought me a copy) I know that if I ever meet anyone that needs a pick me up, I will quote this book. Truly beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    Amazung

    This was an amazing book. My teacher read this to us and played the song on the last day of school. We were all crying cause this is an amazing song and book. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    love it

    my dad donated this song to me and i love this song and many others written bt them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    a reviewer

    this book is phenomenal. as simple it may seem, this book contains a beautiful message within. i gave this to my favorite language arts teacher in her birthday. before buying it, i had stood in Barnes&Noble reading it entirely. i planned just to skim through it, however when i began reading it, i could not stop. My teacher loved this book. she even says she plans to use 'i hope you dance' as her wedding song. this book was so great, that a week later, i decided i needed one for my self and my mother. my mother is battling cancer and loved the hope that can be extracted from that book. today i always carry this book in my purse, and whenever a friend is feeling down, i let them lend the book and listen to the song. this book left me speechless. i know a great book when i see one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2005

    May You All Dance!.

    I read this book once from a friend who got it from her mother as a birthday present.Which I thought was such a sweet gift from the heart. I remember saying to myself that I have to get this book sooner or later in life for my child(thats when I ever have kids). This book is so beautiful and the words are so true & inspiring. Also unforgetable. I already have the cd. The song is to precious and lovely from beginning to end. Just like the book. I hope you all dance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2004

    THE Song says It the way she (my girlfriend) would have !

    My son chose this song for my girlfriends funeral.She passed away from breast cancer in 2002.My son said,and I agree that the song says it the way she would want everyone to live their lives. And she loved to Dance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2004

    ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL

    I READ THIS BOOK THE OTHER NIGHT AND AS I WAS READING IT, I HAD CHILLS RUNNING UP & DOWN MY SPINE OVER & OVER. HOW TRUE THESE WORDS ARE TO LIFE. ANYONE THAT HAS EVERY FALLEN DOWN MUST READ THIS INSPIRATIONAL BOOK. I LOVE IT!!! I HIGHLY RECCOMMEND THIS BOOK TO ALL!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2004

    Wonderful

    This book is so well done it is hard to find any areas that could be improved. Wonderful song, wonderful book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2003

    Great Book.

    The very first time that I heard this song, I knew I had to get it for my daughter. I found the book a while back and was so excited. It says everything that I hope and wish for her as she gets older. She is only 7 right now, but I plan to give the book to her later. I think that it is something that she will treasure. It is a great little book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2003

    Loved it!

    I loved this book so much! My sister bought it for herself one day, and made me read it. I actually cried when I finished the book. I love this song so much, and now I have to buy the book for myself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3