Customer Reviews for

I Hunt Killers (I Hunt Killers Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Chapter by Chapter's review of I Hunt Killers

I wanted to check out I Hunt Killers since the moment I saw the cover. With (what I am assuming is) blood splatter all over the cover, I was already in love. What girl doesn’t have a thing for scary looking covers? That is a rhetorical question. Anyhow, even though I di...
I wanted to check out I Hunt Killers since the moment I saw the cover. With (what I am assuming is) blood splatter all over the cover, I was already in love. What girl doesn’t have a thing for scary looking covers? That is a rhetorical question. Anyhow, even though I didn’t know much about the book just from cover glances, the title was a dead giveaway: I Hunt Killers. Obviously after reading the synopsis, I was already in love and oh so very eager to begin reading. I will admit and tell you that from the first sentence to the final sentence, the novel was perfect and unforgettable.

Everything about I Hunt Killers invited me in; the cover. The chapters. Even the plot. (I’m pretty sure Edward Cullen said something similar to that before…). Anyways, the point is that I Hunt Killers was amazing. It was like reading a CSI novel for teens. And I absolutely loved getting to live inside of Jazz’s head with him and see the horrible life he has to live. To me, Jazz was a character who seemed both real and sad beyond all belief. Not only were we able to experience all of his memories of living with his Dad the serial killer—Billy, but we also got to see all of the things he learned about the art of murder.

But what really had me going was the mystery of the new serial killer around town who is raising the body count—and in a fashion that imitates Billy Dent. Whoa! Unexpected! Did I forget to mention the part where, just for kicks, the serial killer cuts off a certain amount of victim fingers, but leaves behind the middle finger (I’m sure you all know what that means). Did I also forget to mention how there are a few chapters that felt like real treats because we got to see through this unknown killer’s eyes?

You read heard me correctly. We got to read a few chapters that came from the point of view from the new serial killer, who gave himself the name The Impressionist. From what I could gather, every single Impressionist chapter had me finding connections to two certain villains from pop culture. Those two villains being the Riddler and the Joker (hardy ha-ha, this reviewer is a comic nerd). But honestly! The Impressionist had a level of intellect and insanity that made him the perfect antagonist for me! In fact, after Lord Voldemort and a couple other YA baddies, the Impressionist makes my top ten!

The mystery of the novel and the slight insanity managed to form an equilibrium that managed to make me smile. Not only will you be kept guessing who the killer is until the end, but you’ll also be wondering if maybe just maybe Jazz might not be all that sane. Maybe he is a killer like his father. Maybe he is the serial killer. And of course, there’s always the question of what do Jazz’s dreams mean? I personally thought that, upon the realization of who the Impressionist really is, I wanted that final frontier to be more…climatic. Don’t get me wrong, it already was climatic; I just wanted it to be a longer ending with a few more twists.

However, I do love the fact that I Hunt Killers ends on a high note and left set up for a sequel. I know that if author Barry Lyga does give I Hunt Killers another novel that I’ll be first in line to eat it right up! I would recommend this to fans of the thriller and mystery genre, as well as those of you who just want to read a novel that is unforgettable, well written and an epic tragedy.

posted by chapterxchapter on March 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

!?!?

I thougt the book was good and i think a there should be another book.I want to read the book again!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on May 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of I Hunt Killers

    I wanted to check out I Hunt Killers since the moment I saw the cover. With (what I am assuming is) blood splatter all over the cover, I was already in love. What girl doesn’t have a thing for scary looking covers? That is a rhetorical question. Anyhow, even though I didn’t know much about the book just from cover glances, the title was a dead giveaway: I Hunt Killers. Obviously after reading the synopsis, I was already in love and oh so very eager to begin reading. I will admit and tell you that from the first sentence to the final sentence, the novel was perfect and unforgettable.

    Everything about I Hunt Killers invited me in; the cover. The chapters. Even the plot. (I’m pretty sure Edward Cullen said something similar to that before…). Anyways, the point is that I Hunt Killers was amazing. It was like reading a CSI novel for teens. And I absolutely loved getting to live inside of Jazz’s head with him and see the horrible life he has to live. To me, Jazz was a character who seemed both real and sad beyond all belief. Not only were we able to experience all of his memories of living with his Dad the serial killer—Billy, but we also got to see all of the things he learned about the art of murder.

    But what really had me going was the mystery of the new serial killer around town who is raising the body count—and in a fashion that imitates Billy Dent. Whoa! Unexpected! Did I forget to mention the part where, just for kicks, the serial killer cuts off a certain amount of victim fingers, but leaves behind the middle finger (I’m sure you all know what that means). Did I also forget to mention how there are a few chapters that felt like real treats because we got to see through this unknown killer’s eyes?

    You read heard me correctly. We got to read a few chapters that came from the point of view from the new serial killer, who gave himself the name The Impressionist. From what I could gather, every single Impressionist chapter had me finding connections to two certain villains from pop culture. Those two villains being the Riddler and the Joker (hardy ha-ha, this reviewer is a comic nerd). But honestly! The Impressionist had a level of intellect and insanity that made him the perfect antagonist for me! In fact, after Lord Voldemort and a couple other YA baddies, the Impressionist makes my top ten!

    The mystery of the novel and the slight insanity managed to form an equilibrium that managed to make me smile. Not only will you be kept guessing who the killer is until the end, but you’ll also be wondering if maybe just maybe Jazz might not be all that sane. Maybe he is a killer like his father. Maybe he is the serial killer. And of course, there’s always the question of what do Jazz’s dreams mean? I personally thought that, upon the realization of who the Impressionist really is, I wanted that final frontier to be more…climatic. Don’t get me wrong, it already was climatic; I just wanted it to be a longer ending with a few more twists.

    However, I do love the fact that I Hunt Killers ends on a high note and left set up for a sequel. I know that if author Barry Lyga does give I Hunt Killers another novel that I’ll be first in line to eat it right up! I would recommend this to fans of the thriller and mystery genre, as well as those of you who just want to read a novel that is unforgettable, well written and an epic tragedy.

    27 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG So Messed Up and Thrilling and Incredible! AN ABSOLUTE MUST

    Omgomgomg…that is how felt right after finishing I Hunt Killers. That’s because Barry Lyga’s psychological serial killer slasher is incredible! Jasper “Jazz” Dent is screwed up and maybe a killer to be and maybe a killer already, but he’s a teenager that is so amazingly likable. He knows how to play people, thanks to Dear Old Dad – a notorious serial a killer – and he knows that he’s manipulative. Jazz sees his own faults and they scare even him.

    But Jazz is grounded by his fragile, but awesome, best friend Howie, and his more than understanding girlfriend Connie. Both of these secondary characters are fleshed out and have some very pivotal scenes. They, along with the local sheriff G. William round out the cast of characters well. Lyga employs Jazz’s narrative and intersperses the killer’s as well, making for a messed up, but thrilling reading experience.

    Every chapter, every page offers something new and opens up the story just a little bit more. I had no clue who the killer was the entire time. I had ideas, I had suspicions, but I was so off on all of them. That’s the beauty of Lyga’s story: he writes this compelling, no holds barred story, but he writes it in a smart way. The killer isn’t plain as day and the characters aren’t without fault. Poor Jazz is far more damaged than anyone could imagine. He did grow up with a serial killer for a father though. And that serial killer taught him everything he knew…

    I Hunt Killers is a surprisingly gripping and taut thriller, with characters to love and story that refuses to let up. It’s being touted as a Dexter-like read for a younger audience, but having never seen Dexter, I just like to think of I Hunt Killers as a phenomenally engaging and intense read. And the ending is the most screwed up, thrilling, I-want-to-scream-expletives-at-its-perfectness, and an insanely good way to wrap up the book that I’m sitting astonished at Barry Lyga’s genius. MUST. READ. BOOK. 2. NOW.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Best book ever

    OH MY GOSH! THIS IS BY FAR PPROBABLY THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ! HAS SOME DARK MATERIAL BUT AMAZINGLY WRITTEN AND CANT WAIT FOR THE SEQUEL!!!!!!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Anoutomus

    I loved this book what a good book to have:)))

    10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    Amazing!! One of the best books I've ever read!!! It will keep y

    Amazing!! One of the best books I've ever read!!! It will keep you
    turning pages until the end!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    !?!?

    I thougt the book was good and i think a there should be another book.I want to read the book again!!!!!!

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Boo

    Another possibly good book ruined by hateful plot spoilers. And before some snarky poster says dont read them...i dont, but when you have to scroll past these loooooong posts that give away every detail of the book, i usually end up seeing something that ruins the book. I dont understand why you plot spoilers do it? Why do you feel the overwhelming need to tell the entire book? Other readers would like to read it and be surprised, not know everything that is going to happen. Bn, these plot spoiling posters just cost you another sale!!!

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I felt really troubled the whole time I was reading this book, b

    I felt really troubled the whole time I was reading this book, because it really is a scary topic. Kids growing up to be killers. A voice eerily reminiscent of Dexter. Really quite terrifying. And also very good.

    Jasper "Jazz" Dent is a complex character. His upbringing with his serial killer Dad has created a dual identity within himself, and it makes for some pretty powerful reading. Jazz suffers from hearing the voice of his demented father in his head and it is creepy, but what I imagine to be realistic. I liked how Jazz worked so closely with the police chief in his town, to help himself cope with the conflicts running through his mind. Just brilliant. And I loved both supporting characters of Connie and Howie. Those two were so perfect in their love for Jazz and their dialog!

    And the ending - WOW. Just after the halfway point, the story begins to fly towards it's climax. And I totally did not see it coming. I definitely appreciate a book that gives me a genuine surprise.

    I'm a big fan of Barry Lyga, stemming back to his totally awesome debut The Adventures of Fan boy and Goth-Girl. His stories always manage to pull me in right away and demand my complete attention and brain power until finished. I Hunt Killers was no exception. If you haven't read Lyga before, I promise you will want to explore his back catalog after this one!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Fantastic book

    Realy good read

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Love it!

    So freaking good dont question it just read!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Amazing

    Written soooooo welll (: love it

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Barry Lyga takes nature versus nurture into the criminal mind. S

    Barry Lyga takes nature versus nurture into the criminal mind. Seventeen-year-old Jazz's father is a notorious serial killer with an incredibly high body count. His "dear old daddy" has made Jazz watch him commit some grisly crimes, and he's trained Jazz to take over after him. Jazz doesn't know what to believe. He's afraid that he might take after his dad despite his belief that it is possible for serial killers to love some people.

    Jazz is a very complex and believable character. While the vast majority of us have never been subject to Jazz's kind of upbringing, he is very relatable. Looking through his mind, I understood why he is so afraid of harming others, of being consumed by the criminal he feels lurking within himself. However, he has a best friend (Howie) and his girlfriend (Connie). These two people believe in him and give him the support that he needs as he sets out to find the new serial killer in town.

    The story is engaging and filled with details that bring the crime scenes to life. Despite the dark features in this novel, it has humor through both Jazz's voice and that of Howie, who relieves much of the tension running throughout the novel. The combination of humor and the serious nature of the work is well-balanced. It is dark and disturbing, and it had me laughing from start to finish, a credit to the genius of this work.

    I Hunt Killers explores how both the environment and genetics work to develop a child's personality and behaviors and how an innate sense of morality can overcome the criminal mind (or the mind that has been trained to think like a criminal). There are also scenes told from the killer's point of view, giving us the perspective of a criminal and the child of a criminal king of sorts.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Good?

    Is it good???????????L??????????????????????????
    ?????????????????









    ?????

    2 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    I thought this was one of the best books I have read for a long

    I thought this was one of the best books I have read for a long time. It was so interesting I couldn't keep my head out of it.  What Jazz went through was amazing. To get in that thought of mind would awesome in my opinion

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    Top notch!!!

    This book kept me guessing from the first chapter. Very well written and really had an original plot and storyline. It was a cool twist. The characters were very well written and story kept you reading. I am also purchasing all of the prequels and the sequels. Well worth the money. Great read. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2014

    Wow!!! I want to read it all over again. It was fantastic!! Twis

    Wow!!! I want to read it all over again. It was fantastic!! Twists and turns on every page. Never saw the ending coming. This is the way all mysteries should read. I am a little curious as to why it is a youth novel. Seemed a little adult to me. Great reading though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Hunt Killers has been sitting on my to-read shelf for a while

    I Hunt Killers has been sitting on my to-read shelf for a while now (around a year and a half, but who’s counting?). I finally picked it up whenever Netgalley invited me to read the sequel. Now, I wonder what took me so long to start.

    Call me strange (or maybe even deranged), but serial killers are fascinating people. No matter what anyone else says, I know I’m not the only one that thinks so. After all, Dexter is a thing (still upset about the damn series finale, but that’s another story). Even with this serial killer fascination, I was a bit skeptical about I Hunt Killers. I wasn’t sure how well a YA book would tackle the subject. No worries there, though. Even with the YA classification, I still think fans of thrillers or crime novels will enjoy this book. On top of everything humor is sprinkled throughout the book (especially in the form of Jazz’s best friend, Howie, and grandmother). I enjoyed the additional layer it added to the book.

    Overall, I’d say that I thoroughly enjoyed I Hunt Killers. Though it started off somewhat slow for me, it did pick up and flow steadily afterwards. As far as the small element of mystery in the book, it wasn’t nearly as big of a part of the story as I would have thought. In that instance, I don’t think someone should read this looking for a mystery. You may be disappointed in that aspect. However, it’s still a very solid book and I am certainly looking forward to the sequel.

    You can read all of my reviews on my blog, KDH Reviews.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Seriously so good! I highly recommend if you're into that messed

    Seriously so good! I highly recommend if you're into that messed-up, creepy murder stuff. I certainly enjoyed this book and I plan on reading the rest of the trilogy! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Brilliant book! So far from what I have read, it is very well wr

    Brilliant book! So far from what I have read, it is very well written and keeps you on edge on to what is to come. I can't wait to finish reading it! :) 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    A new favorite ...

    Exactly what I expected and more .... Cant wait for the sequel! Love Jazz's character. His battles between good and bad keep you on the edge. I found myself questioning his intent several times.... The author does a great job at keeping you guessing.

    Have already recommended to friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9