Customer Reviews for

"I" is for Innocent

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in the series

I've been re-reading Grafton's series and I like this book the most so far. Great pacing, interesting premiss, and many motives for the murder. Ending was high energy. Fun read.

posted by 5833271 on December 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wearing thin.

The long and detaile descriptons of trivia are becoming tiring bu they are easily skipped. The rest of the tale is still interesting so I'll stick to it for a whle longer.

posted by RollingT on May 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    One of the best in the series

    I've been re-reading Grafton's series and I like this book the most so far. Great pacing, interesting premiss, and many motives for the murder. Ending was high energy. Fun read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    I is for Innocent

    I really enjoyed this one more then the previous titles. Kinsey really has her work cut out for her when a fellow private detective dies of a heart attack and she has been selected to take over his accounts. When she gets his files they are mismatched and some are missing. She gets to work and soon finds out he was getting too close to the truth and he may not have died from his bad eatting habits at all. The main case she is working on is the murder of Iz Barney a few people had a motive, but David Barney Iz's husband is the one on trial. As you go through this book you will get tripped up on who actually murdered Iz and when you find out you might be surprised.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I thought this was pretty good and it took me a minute to figure

    I thought this was pretty good and it took me a minute to figure it out.

    Lonnie Kingman is in a bind. He's smack in the middle of assembling a civil suit, and the private investigator who was doing his pretrial legwork has just dropped dead of a heart attack. In a matter of weeks the court's statute of limitations will put paid to his case. Five years ago David Barney walked when a jury acquitted him of the murder of his rich wife, Isabelle. Now Kingman, acting as attorney for the dead woman's ex-husband and their child (and sure that the jury made a serious mistake), is trying to divest David Barney of the profits of that murder. But time is running out, and David Barney still swears he's innocent.

    Patterned along the lines of a legal case, "I" Is For Innocent is seamlessly divided into thirds: one-third of the novel is devoted to the prosecution, one-third to the defense, and a final third to cross-examination and rebuttal. The result is a trial novel without a trial and a crime novel that resists solution right to the end.

    When Kinsey Millhone agrees to take over Morley Shine's investigation, she thinks it is a simple matter of tying up the loose ends. Morley might have been careless about his health, but he was an old pro at the business. So it comes as a real shock when she finds his files in disarray, his key informant less than credible, and his witnesses denying ever having spoken with him. It comes as a bigger shock when she finds that every claim David Barney has made checks out. But if Barney didn't murder his wife, who did? It would seem the list of candidates is a long one. In life, Isabelle Barney had stepped on a lot of toes.

    In "I" Is For Innocent, Sue Grafton once again demonstrates her mastery of those telling details that reveal our most intimate and conflicted relationships. As Kinsey comments on the give-and-take by which we humans deal with each other, for better and sometimes for worse, the reader is struck yet again by how acute a social observer Ms. Grafton can be. Frequently funny and sometimes caustic, she is also surprisingly compassionate-- understanding how little in life is purely black and white. Except for murder.

    Somewhere out there, a killer waits to see just what Kinsey will find out. Somewhere out there, someone's been getting away with murder, and this time it just might turn out to be Kinsey's.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2004

    I IS FOR INTRIGUING

    I IS FOR INNOCENT IS ONE OF SUE GRAFTON'S BETTER STORIES. SHE THROWS THE READER OFF TRACK, BUT IN THE END COMES BACK TO THE OBVIOUS KILLER, DAVID BARNEY.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2001

    Can't Stop Now

    ¿I¿ is for Innocent was a fast paced mystery that has interesting, realistic characters, that are fun to know. The action of the story keeps you reading and will not let you go until you are done. The beginning of ¿I¿ is for Innocent starts slower, but picks up quickly as the story proceeds. This was a great way for the action of the book to develop. The pace keeps you looking to what will happen next. You naturally try to figure out when something important will happen. The characters are so real you feel as if you have known them for years. P.I. Kinsey has the sarcasm of a true smart aleck, a quality that adds humor and relief to the drama of the mystery. Henry, the loving neighbor, and his hypochondriac brother, William, make you feel all warm and mushy inside. Along with the master mind David Barney and overeating Rhe Parsons you have a whole bunch of individuals that when put together make this books so much fun to read. The way the mystery unfolds, holds your attention until the very end of the novel. It keeps you wondering who is the killer, when is Kinsey going to figure it out, why all of this is happening. There is no way you can put this book down until Kinsey writes her at letter in the prologue. ¿I¿ is for Innocent is a thrilling mystery that keeps you wondering and guessing at what is going to happen next. I love this murder mystery; its wild and it will keep you at the end of the chair.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2014

    A good step away from the formula.

    A very good read that is not easily predictable with a page from O'Henry. Very different from "A" to "H". I enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2013

    I is for Innocent by Sue Grafton is another win for Kinsey Millh

    I is for Innocent by Sue Grafton is another win for Kinsey Millhone.  Although this one was a bit more violent than the others, I completely enjoyed the story line.  Kinsey is a terrific detective, so it was fun to read how she put the pieces together after following a fellow PI.  I love this series.  I just cannot get enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Awesome book

    This book was so good. I love this series and plan to read the rest of the series. If you like a cozy mystery this book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Wearing thin.

    The long and detaile descriptons of trivia are becoming tiring bu they are easily skipped. The rest of the tale is still interesting so I'll stick to it for a whle longer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2001

    Grafton Does It Again!

    It's by Sue Grafton featuring her leading character Kinsey Millhone. Enough Said.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    A Must Read

    These Sue Grafton alphabet books are what I call "potato chip books" you can't just read one you must read them all.
    Remind me of the John D McDonald, Travis McGhee series fub and easy to read quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Good clean fun

    Kinsey and her antics will keep you entertained and laughing. I think we all know someone like her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    Well done!

    I am really enjoying the kinsey series. This book was really good and hard to put down. Now i'm off to read the 'J' book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Kinsey Milhone Series

    I purchased this book to fill out the missing titles from the alphabet series that I had not yet read.
    Enjoyed the atory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Sue Grafton does a great job in this series

    Just like all the letters before "I" this book is great. It is a good book to sit down with on a cold night in front of the fireplace. I cant wait to start the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2001

    My likes and dislikes of 'I' if for Innocent

    My Likes and Dislikes of ¿I¿ is for Innocent ¿I¿ is for Innocent is a somewhat unique book. Sue Grafton has a unique style and way of writing. The title throws the reader off and makes you think, ¿Who could the murderer be?¿ The uniqueness of the book could be looked at for the fact that Sue Grafton put a female detective in the story instead of the common male detective that we see so much off. She is basically stating that Kinsey, the detective, can do as much as Dick Tracy or Sherlock Holmes or in other word females get the job done just as good as males. I really liked the pace of the story and the intriguing characters that she wrote into the book. Sue had such detailed descriptions of the characters that I could picture them in my mind without a blur. Curtis McIntyre was a personal favorite character of mine. He was fixated on the fact that he thought that Kinsey wanted to date him but in actualization he appalled her. I also liked the fact that there were lots of suspects in the novel and it added a lot more suspicion into the book. Some negative aspects of this book could include David Barney¿s alibi. It just seemed to unrealistic to me and to actually get away with the way he went about his alibi was taking a lot of chances. There was the sub-plot of the hit-n-run that really didn¿t need to be drug out the way it was. This book had a slow beginning but later picked up throughout the book. The attitude of Laura Barney was something that had bothered me. She was so negative towards everything and that just wasn¿t to my approval.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2000

    K could be for Kinsey

    The lawyer from whom Kinsey Milhone rents office space gives her an assignment to investigate the murder of an artist. The victim's ex-husband claims the new husband did it. The new husband, who was aquitted of the murder six years earlier, swears he did not do. Kinsey soon finds herself with plenty more suspects. The victim's twin sister, the ex-husband's second wife, and the second husband's first wife. Their motives range from jealousy to greed or just plain hatred. As usual Kinsey finds her own life in danger as she proceeds with the investigation, getting closer to the truth. Grafton simply gets better as works her way through the alphabet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4