Customer Reviews for

I, Judas the 5th Gospel

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

This strange assortment of reviews is interesting. A person who

This strange assortment of reviews is interesting. A person who hasn't read the book gives it one star. Another calls the author a name while calling themselves a Catholic-- wonder what church they attend. No one seems to be talking about the book itself.

For me it ...
This strange assortment of reviews is interesting. A person who hasn't read the book gives it one star. Another calls the author a name while calling themselves a Catholic-- wonder what church they attend. No one seems to be talking about the book itself.

For me it was a solid thriller. The issues it raises were intriguing and I don't feel like the author took sides but rather laid out possibilities that make you think. I felt like there could have been more depth in character, but since the story only covers three days I guess there's not that much time you can spend on backstory.

posted by Anonymous on June 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

?

To june 12, 2012.....then why did u buy it???? ITS FICTION!!! GEEZ????SOME PEOPLE! they buy a fiction book and take it seriously. Get a life! ITS FICTION!!! YOU KNOW???PRETEND?

posted by deborah56 on June 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. Reading any Bob Mayer book is like g

    I really enjoyed this book. Reading any Bob Mayer book is like going to a good action movie. The story flows so well. Cool take on a touchy subject.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    The concept may not be for everyone--

    The idea behind the story is very interesting. I found it long winded and technical in spots and I admit I glazed over those areas. The discriptions of bombs, airplanes,etc. just aren't for me. If you enjoy thought provoking fiction you will most likely enjoy this book. However, if you couldn't read Dan Browns Divinci Code because you thought that it was against God...then skip this one. The idea behind the book is that the Bible is a book of stories passed by word of mouth and translated by several people at differing times with many exclusions to serve many societies.** If you feel that the Bible is a true translation of the exact word of God you will not like this book.** It also deals with the second coming of Christ. I personally enjoyed the theme of the book and wish it had centered more on Judas and the Bible stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Okay-- I actually read the book and it was a fast read and worth

    Okay-- I actually read the book and it was a fast read and worth it. I preferred the Area 51 and Atlantis series, but this is better than the Psychic Warrior books and I saw some similarities in the concept of the Great Commission.
    Still-- I'd recommend it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    This is a creative, inventive story. Enjoyed the action and man

    This is a creative, inventive story. Enjoyed the action and many of the characters are well rounded. Seems like it did end rather abruptly though. I was left asking the what the effects on the world occur afterword.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    Interesting Premise

    This book had an interesting premise a good surprise ending, although I had a feeling about it earlier into the book. No matter, it was a fun read, with good descriptions that made the characters come to life. Spoiler: This book is NOT about the gospel according to Judas, although Judas does have an important role.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    very fun read

    I am fairly new to this author. His wide variety of book subjects must make him popular. That said, this one was worthy for me. I usually don't like the paranormal slant, but he did a good job of pulling it off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    LOVED IT

    Very interesting take on what happened to judas after the betrayal of Jesus
    Having been raised catholic but not practicing for many years I enjoy alternate
    versions of admittedly true events not necessarily reported without bias
    Open minds will enjoy this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Great summer read

    Not as detailed and in depth as a Dan Brown novel but still a great summer read. This was my first Bob Mayer book and definitely won't be my last. Some spots with poor grammar and typos can be a little distracting. I would recommend this to my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting, but Thoughtful Read! Highly Recommended.

    Imagine sitting at a table in a cafe and noticing authors Tom Clancy and Dan Brown arguing over a new book. Well, this would be the book. If you enjoy these authors' work you'll find this fast-paced caper novel right up your alley. I was also introduced to the ancient story of the Wandering Jew back in High School, and I must say that this is the most well-conceived use of the idea since Walter M. Miller wrote a Canticle for Leibowitz. Mr. Mayer's personal history in Special Forces Military Service shows here with an effortless shifting from military strategic thinking to theology then to techno-speak. The book is a gem, and very entertaining while leaving you with a lot to think over. Religion is a given with our species, and anything that helps to shine a light upon it and its involvement in human thought and action deserves high marks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Great read!

    I enjoyed the book. It was a quick read, but it leaves you with something to think about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Good plot & mayhem

    Whether a book is good or bad depends on what I was expecting when I bought it.

    The name of the book is "I, Judas," so I thought the book would be about Judas. I mean, talk about a guy with issues! He betrayed someone (Jesus) who had done him no harm, because he (Judas) was a part of the prophesy. Somebody had to do it.

    Mayer does take trouble to show Judas' anguish at having to betray his friend and pastor, but the one they both call "Our Father" has it all set up. No idea why Our Father chose this plan. No choice for either man.

    Good start. BUT THEN MAYER SKIPS 2000 YEARS OF THE LIFE OF JUDAS! What must those 2000 years have been like? Judas can't die, but in the words of Jafar, "You'd be surprised what you can live through." How his guilt and sorrow and anger must have influenced the way he interacted with humans and their events! But we get none of this.

    We skip to the present day. Judas is hiding in the jungle of the Amazon with some natives. A devout girl refuses ever to enter a church because she is tattooed and can't remember her parents. A whole bunch of guys, gathered into two groups, The Brotherhood and The Illuminati, hatch plots to deal with the comet or asteroid or whatever it is that's about to obliterate earth. Lots of characters--no. Not characters. Names that have pieces of the plot to perform. None are memorable. At first, I thought I'd better keep notes, but then I thought, "Nah. Mayer's just going to kill all of them anyway, so why bother?" That's a problem with a huge cast in a short book.

    I'm not sure how it ended because I don't know what the rapture is supposed to be like. Maybe it happened, at least for some. I'm not going to give away whether or not the earth was saved.

    So. I was expecting and wanting a book about a man with a lot of emotional and spiritual trouble to overcome but I got an action movie. For me, this was a 2-star book, but for you it's probably a 4 or 5 star book. In the spirit of helpfulness, I'm giving it 4 stars, because I think that's what most people would score it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1