Customer Reviews for

I Just Want You to Know: Letters to My Kids on Love, Faith, and Family

Average Rating 3
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Can't review a book that isn't out yet....Give her credit!

I think some of you are using this review area as a blog to share with the world just how judgemental you are. When in fact this area gives people a chance to share their feelings of the book to assist potential readers.

If you are so cold hearted, perhaps you sho...
I think some of you are using this review area as a blog to share with the world just how judgemental you are. When in fact this area gives people a chance to share their feelings of the book to assist potential readers.

If you are so cold hearted, perhaps you should post your ill feelings of this mother on a tabloid web page. One that requires you to be no warmer than an ice cube in an ice chest!

Being a mom and future reader of this book cannot wait to read it!

posted by Supporting_Mom on February 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

AWFUL

If Kate felt the need to write private letters to her children, I would applaud her. However, not only did she make these letters available for public consumption, but she was very negative in what she wrote about her own children.

This was another "poor me" book wr...
If Kate felt the need to write private letters to her children, I would applaud her. However, not only did she make these letters available for public consumption, but she was very negative in what she wrote about her own children.

This was another "poor me" book written by someone who does not appreciate her beautiful children who call her mom.

A mommy dearest book will undoubtably be written by one of the kids when they get older. Save your money and buy that book. This one was worse than a waste of time, it was hurtful to the very children she claims to love.

posted by justmeMD on April 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    AWFUL

    If Kate felt the need to write private letters to her children, I would applaud her. However, not only did she make these letters available for public consumption, but she was very negative in what she wrote about her own children.

    This was another "poor me" book written by someone who does not appreciate her beautiful children who call her mom.

    A mommy dearest book will undoubtably be written by one of the kids when they get older. Save your money and buy that book. This one was worse than a waste of time, it was hurtful to the very children she claims to love.

    26 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    No, no, no. No freebies. One gets respect by giving it.

    Shame on the author for placing her eight children under the observation of millions, and using the profits and recognition to pursue her own celebrated life while, by the way, the kids are in therapy. Seems that the entire family, except Ms. Gosselin, is in need of psychological help. She, on the other hand, needs "credit", a break, fun, and an increasingly false and high-maintenance persona.

    Kate has lamented that she can not provide for her twins and sextuplets on a nurse's salary. She seems to be uninterested in a better education, however, content with capitalizing on her children and campaigning for a career in television. Kate is not the first mother who has lost the support of a husband, for one reason or another, but she is one of the worst examples of how one might cope. Her problems are, after all, largely her own doing; she married a man whom she sought to remake.

    In this book, Ms. Gosselin expresses the love she otherwise apparently has trouble communicating to her children. She also puts to rest, in advance, any questions they may someday have about her need to raise them in a fishbowl since she had, in advance, no way to provide for them. She assures that any feelings of loss they experienced as a result were worth it. Could a mother be any more grandiose? Less responsive to the feelings of her children?

    Other than that, there is nothing new. Audiences have already been privy to Kate's hysterics over dirty diapers and to the sextuplets (even those boys) being "taught" how to toilet. Viewers feasted their eyes on the exotic and sweet marriage-vow renewal, only a season before Kate neglected and ruined the most elaborate plot that she had ever cooked up. They already know about her compulsive behavior, AKA need for control, and about the kids being taken to Sunday school and then on to a bakery to decorate cupcakes (but by no means, to make a mess).

    Kate's fans already understand the value of self-promotion jaunts over relationships with individuals who presume to have limits and boundaries. And who could have missed the persistent manipulation of the public through the media - the images of Kate smiling radiantly and declaring a "fresh start" or of her wearing a cold mask to signal that she's unhappy?

    I advise readers to keep their hard-earned money until one of Gosselin children grows up, and writes a book.

    23 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    Kate should be ashamed of herself

    I sat down and paged through this book at my local book store. I wouldn't buy this book if they had it in the nickle bin! As I read, I felt so sad for her children to have their Mother expose them in such a way. These letters should be private; the general public has no business reading these "letters". Kate you should be ashamed of yourself. You are a selfish mother and we should all be praying for those dear children.

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    Seriously?

    This woman has been exploiting her children for years to make money, has stopped seeing her family and has stopped going to church. She's a good Christian? Are we supposed to take advice from this woman from her ridiculous books?

    If I could I would have rated this book a -1. This woman is not qualified to give advice to anyone.

    20 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I don't want to know anything from you!

    Kate who? Oh, yes I know, that woman that seems to get herself on the cover of People magazine every other week. Gee, she seems so busy promoting herself- how in the world can she find the time to be the mother to her 8 kids. Oh, yes, that's what babysitters are for.

    Just because she used fertility drugs to have a multiple birth, doesn't make her an expert in child care. She is an expert in getting on the cover of tabloids.

    18 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    Can't review a book that isn't out yet....Give her credit!

    I think some of you are using this review area as a blog to share with the world just how judgemental you are. When in fact this area gives people a chance to share their feelings of the book to assist potential readers.

    If you are so cold hearted, perhaps you should post your ill feelings of this mother on a tabloid web page. One that requires you to be no warmer than an ice cube in an ice chest!

    Being a mom and future reader of this book cannot wait to read it!

    18 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Here we go again

    I dont understand why Ms Gosslin continues to come out with book upon book about her life and faith. She says the same things over and over. If you watched the show you know everything in the book, if you have ever seen an interview then you know what is in the book. Waste of money and time!

    17 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    much ado about nothing

    I scanned this book in a bookstore thinking it would be a sweet mother's day type of book. What a snore. I'm not sure how this got published as the prose is atrocious and the organization is chaotic. The most dissapointing aspect, however, was that the "letters" and other notes did not convey the love of a mother toward her child(ren), but rather a very self-centered and invasive missive. The author is superficially supportive toward her children, but seems to be more interested in complaining about how "difficult" her children have made her life. Oddly, nothing she complains about is anything any mother hasn't had to gladly sacrifice.

    As a parent myself, I'm pretty sure my child would be embarrased and resentful of some of the things said.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    Carefully crafted illusion

    This is getting downright obsessive

    15 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    The author has no respect for innocent children...

    What loving parent would dream of writing such harsh criticism of her children and then having it published, thus making it available in mass? What does she think her children will feel when they realize what has happened? Shock? Shame? Unable to understand why a parent would do this? I can't believe it either.

    Shame on the publishing company that agreed to touch this one with a ten-foot pole. And having it come out just in time for Mother's Day is the final irony. The author is another "Mommy Dearest." God help those innocent children.

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Mother's Tale

    If you enjoyed Multiple Blessings and Eight Little Faces, you are in for a treat with Kate's latest book. Kate shares more of her inspiring tale with readers. A special treat are the letters to each of her precious children. Kate continues to put her children first and plan for their future. Kate is someone all moms can look to and realize life is what you make it and children come first.

    13 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Lying is like Breathing

    This book is poorly written and edited--a rush job from a very weak author. It is filled with inconsistencies that can be easily checked against the show and her first book.

    More importantly, it is a very disturbing continuation of Gosselin's exploitation of her unusual family for profit. Profit that goes way behind the financial needs of this family.

    Self-pity, self-agrandizement, and badly disguised malignant narcissism well up between the sentences. Under the sugar-coating, she makes clear the exact ways in which each child has been a burden to her. Only inspiring in the sense of reminding normal parents with normal nurturing instincts how delightful our children are and how, in a profound sense, we need to understand them as separate beings, not extensions of our own egos.

    A much better and more enjoyable book about the trial and joys of mothering a large family is below.

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    Pointless, I think?

    Glad I didn't pay for this book. Read it at the local book store. If it's for real, this woman doesn't think much of her children. I don't get it. Was it her intention to tell the children they're basically a burden? Do yourself a favor and if you think you want to read it, just go to your local book store and you'll be able to read it relatively quick right in the store. It's only a couple of hundred pages that only require scanning. The woman doesn't seem to like being a Mother very much and seems to want her children to know that? Sad for the kids, but I guess if she dislikes her kids, they're very much aware of her feelings.

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    More kHATE GROSSlins pathetic lying drivel

    PLAIN and SIMPLE.....me me me and MONEY MONEY MONEY....She SOLD her childrens private moments for MONEY ...nothing else...fake hair, fake tans, mansions, limos, big trips to leave those children.. nannys, babysitters..on and on......
    AND TO USE "FATH AND LOVE" as the concept is the lowest thing shes done yet.....
    WHEN is the last time her children even WENT to church....or SHE attended...she cant remember or SHE'd be SURE there was a photo opp to record it.....
    THE most PITIFUL excuse for a MOTHER I've EVER seen played out in the media....
    pUUUUUUU x 100 is my rank....it STINKS like her LIES do...

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    Would not recommend

    one of the worst books ever.

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    Very quick read

    I read the entire book in the store. No need to purchase. It would be a waste of money.
    I found some of her stories contradictory. If you watched the show you will know what stories she is referring to. She cries about having to do this all on her own and then thanks everyone from her church, neighbors and family who helped. Was she alone or did she have help? She cries about never getting out and then talks about running to the store or local organic farmer whenever she got a chance. She constantly contradicts herself throughout the entire book. A real perfect example is she states she actually "allowed her children to play in the MUD". This from the woman who wouldn't allow her children to use markers in a Crayola factory and wouldn't let them use finger paints (pudding!).
    She praises the love of family and how important they are, yet she has kept both sides of the family away. How does this send a good message to her children?
    The most bothersome part of the book is the "love" letters she writes to each child. She talks about how hard it was to have the children and how it stresses her out to have so many and how it has basically uprooted her life, but then cuts and pastes these "individual" letters to each child, telling them how special they are. It is like she wrote a form letter and changed the name and sex to fit the child. She says the same thing eight different times! She could have saved some pages by just writing "Dear (insert name here)".
    The book chronicles Kates changes through the past few years beginning with her obsessive compulsive behavior and need for order and cleanliness (should not be a high priority with 8 kids) to why she deserves to be made up with new hair, clothes, etc. "who says you have to be frumpy just because you have kids?"
    In my opinion, this is not a book about loving her children. This is a book about Kate loving Kate Gosselin and why she deserves everything she has!
    Another point that really got me was she thanks four people for helping her with this book. Really? It took five people total to write this book?

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    I don't read books about people I don't like

    So why would you? Many of you who are bashing this book had obvious issues with the Gosselins to begin with, so why bother? My daughther picked up this book this weekend to read for herself and I read it yesterday. I enjoyed the stories about Kate and Jon and those great kids. And my daughter loves to hear about ALL the stories of her growing up, even the ones where she acted poorly or did something embarrassing. We can look back now and laugh at those times as well as the great ones. I thought the book was a great quick read and I didn't go into it expecting anything but some good stories and a demonstration of love. Who am I to question how she chooses to show her love to her kids? Raising any number of children is stressful and raising 8 at one time is hard for me to imagine. It is not my place to pass judgement on these people. We preach the American dream which in many cases has taken parents away from home and children for long hours but we then want to pass judgement on this woman who has found that she can live the American dream, enjoy a new career choice, and raise amazing kids. I say good for her.

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    Stop the hating.

    I for one applaud Kate for the effort she is using to help her children. She says it herself, he kids come first. This book illustrates just that. If you really "hate Kate" then why did you purchase her book in the first place? She wrote it in order for her children, and her fans to get a look at the real Kate Gosselin. If you are not one of her fans, then don't leave nasty comments about her, she didn't write it for you. A wise person once said, "if you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all."

    6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    A Good read

    This is a book which gives some insight to the beginnings of the show, things they had to deal with which wasnt shown on the show, why they made certain choices they did, Kate's growth as a person. I thought the letters to her children very sweet and don't see a thing wrong with them being pulished. They only expess a mothers love for her children. It's very well written. I would recommend it higly.

    6 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    Great addition to earlier readings

    I loved the book written by Kate. It's nice to have an inside look at what was going on during the build up of the show. To read what their feelings were and how the children were - just great reading overall. I'm glad she's captured some positive things for her children to remember. Hopefully in the future they will be able to read the book and remember that they did have some good times.

    6 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7