Customer Reviews for

I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I Kissed Dating Goodbye

With a title as controversial as this, I knew I was in for a doozy of a read. Jumping into the book, I soon realized that Harris' focus wasn't on never getting into relationships. Rather, he was trying to tell readers not to date for the sake of dating. To him, relation...
With a title as controversial as this, I knew I was in for a doozy of a read. Jumping into the book, I soon realized that Harris' focus wasn't on never getting into relationships. Rather, he was trying to tell readers not to date for the sake of dating. To him, relationships must be pure and done out of love and service to the other person. To have no interest in marriage or commitment is just wasting the other person's time and emotions. Fascinatingly, at the end of the book, he alluded to his sequel where he accounts for how he met and courted--yes, I just used that word--his wife. Bible is quoted, and the pages fly by in this captivating book. What striked me the most was how Harris said we can grow in God's love in our singleness (something I've even seen in other relationships people have). The point of being selfless and not selfish will really hit home with readers. To truly stare at Christ is not to be worked up over members of the opposite sex, sizing them up and fantasizing about potential mates. No. Harris tells us to love our neighbors, pursue holy righteousness, be selfless, and trust God to work out his plan. Splendid.

posted by Teresa_Konopka on August 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Modern Day Pharasee

This book is damaging to the Christian community. It has very good Biblical principals in it, but Josh Harris' conclusions are not at all Biblical. If you find this book at all appealing, you should read Boundaries in Dating by Christian authors Dr. Henry Cloud and Dr...
This book is damaging to the Christian community. It has very good Biblical principals in it, but Josh Harris' conclusions are not at all Biblical. If you find this book at all appealing, you should read Boundaries in Dating by Christian authors Dr. Henry Cloud and Dr. John Townsend who shed a proper light on Harris' unhealthy and unbiblical conclusions. Christians like rules which is why this book is popular. But a critical review of it proves that Harris' plan is that of a modern day pharasee. The internet is full of horror stories of people's lives that have been damaged as a result of trying to live by Harris' plan. This book would be most beneficial to people with addictive personality disorders who need a strict set of extreme rules to guide their lives. But for those who possess balanced psyches and who successfully govern their lives through common sense and reliance on the Holy Spirit and Scripture, Harris' plan is psychologically unhealthy. Many marriage and family counselors who have counseled married couples who followed the Harris plan find that such couples have disproportationate problems with intimacy in their marriage. Here is Harris' conclusion in a nutshell: since some people date recklessly, no one should date. That is like saying: since some people drive recklessly, no one should drive. Harris is well intended but his conclusions are wacky and extremist, which is not surprising since he was barely out of his teen years when he wrote this book.

posted by Rob_MFC_Christian on January 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    loved the book

    I was going trough lots of pain and loneliness. I asked God why i was in pain my heart was broken. I asked him to help me in a my prayers. Till i found this book in a christians girls house and she gave it to me to read. For some reason i felt better an i was hurting still but i realised i was not alone that God was always with me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2008

    Excellent book!

    This book is soo helpful and encouraging I love it!And the message this book gives is soo important!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    the truth about relationships...

    I liked this book because it talks about how some people see relationships. It tells you how some people see these things as a game, and not as a serious thing. Some people thing that having a girlfriend/boyfriend is just a thing of kissing, having fun, and doing some other stuff. But the truth is that is not always like that, the feelings are involved here as well. If you only see it as a need to have a girlfriend/boyfriend, the other person is thinking that u really like them and they are going to put their hopes up, just so u go one day and tell them that is all over. And at the end she's not the only one that is going to get hurt, but you as well. Because you know that you are only playing with that person's feelings deep inside, and yours too, even though you thing that this is not going to affect you it will. That what the book says. The reason why many relationships don't work is because there are some guys that don¿t even have respect for their own mom, and they think they are ready to handle a relationship, How can they say that they are ready to form a relationship, where there is going to be trust, respect, and many other factors involved. This book also tells you that if have been struggling with relationships, you should take a brake and devote to God, not meaning that you should be a priest, but that you should get closer to God and hope that he guides you the right way, so you don¿t make any mistakes that you are going to regret later in life. There are many parts on the book that I don't agree with, an example is when it talks about how this guy stopped going out with girls because he really loved God, and he wanted to make God happy, because he had died for us, and the guy felt like he had to pay him back by stopping going out with girls. He said that he would see them just as friends and nothing else. All of this because he wanted God to be proud of him. In this book the author is not telling you to end your social life with boys/girls, but to respect people a little more. A part that I really liked is when he says that 'remember, whatever you do to that girl, you are doing it to someone¿s future wife' and I don¿t think no one would like to know what someone else did to your wife or husband. Even though the past is past, it will always stay with you. I liked this book and I recommend it to all the people that think that dating is just a game. I¿m not telling you that u should take it more serious, but that you should be very careful on what you say and what you do. Because you never know what¿s going to happen and how the other person is going to react.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    What a refreshing way to look at things!

    A wonderful book, full of wisdom and Godly guidance. I thoroughly recommend it for any Christan. It will give you insight whatever your age, whether as a single or in marriage. Especially helpful if you are raising teenagers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2007

    Wow!

    This is an awesome book and I think every teenager and single person should read this! It is very honest and true. Thank you, Josh, for this message that our culture so desperately needs.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2006

    I recommend this to everybody. Please read it!

    I liked 'I Kissed Dating Goodbye' a whole lot. The title may throw the reader off but that was not what Josh was aiming at. He was aiming at changing how we date to where it is not all about ourselves and where we have a purpose. He rejects the 'just having fun', reckless, selfish dating that our culture encourages but points us to a better, God-centered way of it. I recommend this book to people who want to get it right it relationships and know that there is something wrong in our culture. But what I also liked is that this book points out to make the most of our singleness(if you are single) and become the right person instead of worrying about trying to find the right person.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2006

    very interesting read...

    Seriously!! I couldn't put the book down. I finally did after I realized I needed to get some things done! I'm much into dating...in fact I've never been on a real date in my entire life. It gave me a challenge on how to look at dating with God's perspective as a Christian. There are SO many truths in this book! Josh you are truly blessed by God!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2005

    An Eye Opening Read

    This book made me rethink all I had thought of dating. I have grown closer to God through reading this book and it's very encouraging. I recommend it to any teenager, it will definitely change their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    Let's Hear It For Josh!!

    Josh Harris is amazing!! For me, it is SO encouraging to have the perspective of an honorable Christian man who (at the time) was in his twenties and was still saving himself for his future wife! His book is refreshing and totally real. Mostly everything he said made so much sense to me, and I think if you pick up this one you'll see what I mean. He'll challenge you. He'll force you to grow. You won't look at your love life the same after he's done with you. Although some people I know have said that his ideas are way too 'out there' and won't even look at the book, I think he boldly (but kindly) pushes home ideas we really need to hear...and he was so young!! Gracias, Josh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2005

    interesting read...highly recommend to anyone

    i read this book for the first time when i was 14...a little young...but still i was very set on 'not dating' at the time. this book helped me start thinking. i mean there were some things i didn't agree with, but overal i would agree with Josh Harris's point of view. right now, two years later, i'm rereading this book (discovering the little things i missed). i've recommended it to many friends. even if you don't agree with Harris's ideas it still makes a interesting thought provoking read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2005

    A follower of Christ

    I loved this book because I realize how to live a holy life for God by reading Joshua Harris's book. It gave me inspiration. I realize that living for the one and only Savior and purely is the most important thing right now as a teenager. God used him to open my eyes. A really great book I really enjoyed this book! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2004

    Harris Makes You Think

    I Kissed Dating Goodbye is an incredible book! The ideas and experiences of Harris are refreshing and inspiring. It's a must read for any single Christian who desires a more godly outlook on the dating scene.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    More then I expected

    This book was so awesome. I have never read one quite like it. It really made me take a hard look at my life and re-organize it. I strongly recommend this book to anyone who is a strong believer in Christ but doesn't feel close enough to Him. It helps one understand how to get where one wants to be in life with out disrupting ones ¿walk with Jesus¿.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2004

    Spectacular!

    An incredible book that keps you in focus, and changes the way you look at dating and relationships, and even life in general. I read half-way through the book and realized this one is different. I've never dated, but this book has helped me even look at life in a different perspective. Joshua Harris hits it on the head!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    wow

    i kissed dating goodbye was an excellent book i think anyone who has trouble with dating as a christian should read this book because it is so profound.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    This Book Changed My Life

    This book brought me to a place of establishing relationships within God's intended boundaries. All of my relationships are much healthier now. The book presents the principles of purity and waiting on God for the right relationships. It gave clarity to the reasons for not having sex outside of marriage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2003

    Awesome Books, Awesome Author!!

    I am a huge fan of Josh Harris! I was curious as to what he had to say, so I read his books. I was totally impressed. Since then, I have had the opportunity to meet him and attend several of his seminars. I would encourage EVERYONE to read these books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3