Customer Reviews for

I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    To the person who posted: Modern day pharisee

    First of all, Joshua Harris never says "you should not date" he says that the issue with the current system of dating is the heart of the matter.
    Your example comparing "no one should date because some people date recklessly" to"no one should drive because some people drive recklessly" just doesn't apply. Those two statements are completely different because driving is a good and useful skill and Joshua Harris's book talks about the problem with dating. The current system of dating IS BAD.
    You are obviously misreading Harris's message.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    I kissed dating goodbye

    I love this book!!!!!!!!!
    It explains everything!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    panalo!

    panalo!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    Geared toward young adults Joshua Harris' words can resonate with singles of any age. It's not about truly turning off to dating but changing your mindset toward God. Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    EXCELLENT!

    This book is for single Christians of all ages, not just young girls and boys. I recommend it 100%

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    reading sample

    I read just the sample just to see what the book was about cause my sister said it was a good book and ive decied to buy this book.-Thanks Joshua Harris cant wait to read the rest :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Tremendous!!

    Excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Not just about dating

    How to keep a pure mind. Don't judge it antill you read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Awesome!!!!

    I love this book. I didnt read it on my nook so i wouldnt be able to say how well it worked on here but it is an awesome book!!! It gives a great mature alternative to dating. I highly reccomend this book. Joshua harris doesnt try to convert u into courting he just gives u the info, some hard times,the romance,the discipline, etc that comes with courtship. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    I've only read the sample but it is AMALz I've only read the sample, but it is amazing so far!

    Awesome

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2003

    I kissed dating goodbye, too!

    I loved this book. Josh Harris is an excelent writer, and he adds humor to his writings. Even though I don't date after reading his book, he doesn't just come out and say "dating's wrong!" He simply tells why he chose not to date, and why he doesn't think it's the wisest thing to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2003

    Finally someone made it clear!

    I must say, I really did not care about God's take on dating. However, this book really made me rethink my view. The many secrets for success revealed in this book have kept me from seemingly right choices and encouraged me to raise my standarts. I am thankful for the happiness this insight has brought me and hope many of you will also embrace this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2002

    Life Changing Book

    After many emotion-destroying relationships, and watching many of my friends suffer tremendous heartbreak I decided to 'swear off all men'. Instead, a girl told me about this book. I read it and realized that, as a whole, there's nothing wrong with dating, but there IS something wrong with the way the world dates. As christians we are to conduct ourselves, in relationships, in such a way that others see us differently. Men treating the ladies as 'sisters with absolute purity' and women treating the men as brothers in Christ. Sadly, there is little to no difference between the world and christians in terms of dating. Joshua Harris talks about his experiences in dating, what he learned, and what he thinks you can apply to your life to help you not go through trivial relationships and experience horrific heartbreak. I would extremely recommend this book to anyone who is tired of 'conventional' dating and pointless emotional stress and pressure that comes with worldly dating. I've recommended this book to many of my friends and each one has made the committment to date according to the principles and strategies that are outlined in this book. This book has changed my viewpoint on all dating relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2002

    AWESOME BOOK

    Great book with wonderful old-fashioned sensible ideas!! If more young kids thought this way, there'd be less divorce, pregnancies, suicides, etc. I will buy a copy of this when my daughter is old enough to read it and need it! I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2002

    Full of challenging Godly concepts on dating

    The reason I picked up this book is the title. Many other books tend to give advice on how to make a dating or relationship work, but this one is going totally the opposite direction 'Kiss dating goodbye.' I am a Christian adult and currently thinking seriously about relationship. I am looking for a guidance that will lead me to a fulfilling relationship. I am glad I found Josh's book. Everything he wrote reflected most of issues I encountered in relationship, and even challenged my deepest perception about dating. To my surprise, many of my dating concepts were wrong. Josh writing really struck me; it made me think twice about everything. His perspective and faith in God are invaluable source of encouragement for all of us. Thanks to Joshua for sharing his perspective in this wonderfully written book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2002

    It makes sense

    I just read the chapter displayed on the site. I realized that Joshua Harris and I have the same views on dating. Why waste your time and the time of others if you don't plan to make the commitment. Trust me,I have experienced the pain of being a victim and the guilt of being the one who dishes out the 'fake' love. Be wise have your focus on God the supplier of all your needs. Trust me I have been boyfriendless for a while now .Yes it's hard But I know God will reward me and give me the 'holy' man of my dreams.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2001

    Eye opener!

    Overall this was a great book about true christian love for others. The title seems a little misleading after you have finished the entire book. It's a great read for anyone even those already married. A great reminder of how love for another should be approached.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2001

    goodby dating

    This book gives you a new perspective on friendships and relationships. Although i never had problems with dating i do belive that my whole outlook has changed. I am prepared for what can happen. This book is truly awesome.A Word form god himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2001

    Harris conveys simple truth that every young person needs to read!

    I thouhgt the book was very-well written with plenty of personal examples and stories. It was encouraging to discover that you are not the only one who believes this way about relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2001

    Like a bucket of cold water

    Joshua Harris' thoughts may sound pretty unreasonable to some, but every journey starts with one step, and reading his book was a big step for me. I've had a really tough time with the 'dating scene'. All the things that were happening around me just didn't go with what I believed God wanted, and I was getting really discouraged. I was at the point when I was compromising my morals and values to be 'happy', but I ended up making myself miserable. Joshua's book, as my headline review states, was like a bucket of cold water emptied over my head. It just woke me up! It reminded me of what is right and true and important. This is definitely one I'd recommend to teens and adults alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3