Customer Reviews for

I Kissed an Earl (Pennyroyal Green Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

This author certainly has a way of having the chemistry between the two main characters leap off the page at you. Proving that the seduction could b just as much fun as the prize. I could feel the sexual tension oozing off the pages and it made for an exciting and bea...
This author certainly has a way of having the chemistry between the two main characters leap off the page at you. Proving that the seduction could b just as much fun as the prize. I could feel the sexual tension oozing off the pages and it made for an exciting and beautiful romance. The Pennyroyal Green series in one of my favorites in this genre, but this one book could very well be my favorite.

I recommend this book to anyone who loves reading about earls and dukes and the ton and encourage all to read the series, but if you are not inclined to do so this book can be read as a stand alone as well.

318 pages on my Nook

posted by Jennypenny18 on February 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

!

Here we go again with harriet klausner and her cliff note book review plot spoiler. Something seriously needs to be done to this poster as she ruins every book in bn's library. She needs to be banned as she reveals every detail of the book, ruining it for other readers....
Here we go again with harriet klausner and her cliff note book review plot spoiler. Something seriously needs to be done to this poster as she ruins every book in bn's library. She needs to be banned as she reveals every detail of the book, ruining it for other readers.

posted by 8888649 on February 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, it’s bec

    If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, it’s become evident that I have a growing love for the romance genre. There’s just something about the glamour of historical romances: fancy dresses, grand balls, elaborate house parties….I literally cannot get enough. I follow a bunch of romance novel related blogs/publishers on Twitter and saw there was going to be an “earl” themed eBook sale. This might have been the worst idea for my bank account, but best idea for me ever! One of the interesting books I got was I Kissed An Earl by Julie Anne Long.

    Violet Redmond has quite a reputation. Known for her reckless behavior and stunning beauty, Violet does not court suitors in a manner that befits a woman of her status. However, she is independent and knows what she wants, so only the bravest suitors attempt to woo her. Violet is not only looking for an exciting man, but also a clue to her brother’s whereabouts, as he has been missing for some time. There is one man, however, that fits this bill. The Earl of Ardmay, born a bastard, is an Englishman who knows no boundaries. Currently at sea chasing a pirate and vowing vengeance, the Earl first notices Violet when her unwavering belief in her brother’s innocence angers him. It is not for long, however, as this anger turns to interest. The Earl is smitten with Violet, and she is taken by him despite his raucous past. What will this clash of two strong personalities bring? What will become of Violet’s brother?

    As I’ve said many times before, I’m always a fan of a strong heroine. Violet definitely fits the bill in this story. She’s strong-willed, brave, and most importantly, on a journey to find herself. Consumed by her anger over her brother’s disappearance and unjust accusations, Violet is lost in her emotions as they take over. She needs stability, and that stability ironically comes from one of the most raucous characters in the novel: the Earl of Ardmay. Although he comes from a battered childhood, it has shaped him into a man who has an inner strength that allows him to overcome any hardship and take on the world without blinking. This is just what Violet needs, for as much as both she and the Earl put on a strong exterior, both have weaknesses that this exterior hides. Their relationship, while the main pull of the story, is not the only appealing thing about this work. The dynamic between the Earl and his shipmates, as well as the relationship between Violet’s brother Lyon and Olivia, the woman he loves, also added to the intrigue of the novel. (Sword fights, pirates, and the fight for love aren’t bad plot devices either!)

    While there were many positives to this novel, there were a few small things that detracted from my enjoyment of this work. There were some typos, spelling errors, and even a few missed words here and there. This made it slightly jarring to read at times, and broke up the fluidity of the text. I understand that not everything can be proofread 100% perfectly every time, but this definitely made me pause at times and lose my train of thought. Despite this detraction, I definitely enjoyed the interplay between Violet and the Earl. Adding this to the exciting subplot of Violet’s brother’s disappearance made this novel a fun thrilling ride. For those of you who love a good Earl (and who doesn’t!) this is a fun pick.

    (Reflections of a Book Addict)

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Good

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Witty and perfect

    I simply loved the slower build up between the two characters. The banter and wity remarks were perfect, especially the main heroine, who was truly intellegent and held her own. The progression in there reletionship was very nicely paced and made the book highly worth it. My only complain, which is small, is the ending was a bit flat in comparison to the rest of my read. The last 10 pages seemed odd and a bit rushed but not terrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Fun To Read

    The dialogue and conversations were so witty. The action was well paced. The characters are endearing. Fun, entertaining read. Unfortunately, the editing wasn't impeccable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    fun read

    This was a fun story with enough mystery and danger to keep me interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Bob

    I do

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Nice read

    Moves along has something for everyone

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    First kiss

    My first kiss was when i was 14

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    enjoying the whole pennyroyal series!

    adventure! good to see another heroine that's not perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    cute story

    Easy quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Great Story!

    I liked this story because it was different from the other historical romances I'm used to reading. The only bad thing was that I wish it had ended differently with more action, but it was a cute story and I'll probably look for this author to read her other stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Romance and Action Make this a Great Read!

    The plot was refreshing and the ending was everything I was hoping it would be! The story, the plot and the characters are woven perfectly in this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2