Customer Reviews for

I Know What You Did Last Summer

Average Rating 4.5
( 260 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(149)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Worthwhile Read!

I think that this book was pretty good if you like thrillers, it was not as scary as I thought it would be, but it was still pretty suspenseful. Once I started reading it I couldn't seem to set it down. The author, Lois Duncan did a lovely job of telling this intense st...
I think that this book was pretty good if you like thrillers, it was not as scary as I thought it would be, but it was still pretty suspenseful. Once I started reading it I couldn't seem to set it down. The author, Lois Duncan did a lovely job of telling this intense story, I would definitely recommend it.
The basic idea of this book is about some teenagers that did something awful the summer before and they had all made a pact to never tell anyone but someone finds out and they want their revenge.
This novel gets the thumbs up from me.
Description and summary of main points
Lois Duncan, the author knew when she was a child that she wanted to be an author and she has made her point by this great book, it's very thrilling and exciting. Along with "I Know What You did Last Summer" Duncan has written 48 other books ranging from children's books to adult novels.
I read this book with an open mind not expecting not to be very good, but it turned out to be a worthwhile read
The book is about how the summer before, Julie James and some of her friends - Raymond Bronson, Helen Rivers, and Barry Cox did something horrible that changed their lives, they have made a pact to never tell anyone but it someone knows and they seem to want revenge, the book goes on about what they have done and what they do, there are some plot twists and turns which add suspense to the story.
Over all this was an excellent suspenseful story and it kept me intrigued throughout the whole novel.

posted by reilly-is-amazing on September 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Must Read Teen Fiction

I enjoyed this book way more than I thought I would. Don't go into reading it expecting it to be a slasher book it's more about the characters and how they are dealing with the crime they committed and it's better that way. You can barely tell this book was written in 1...
I enjoyed this book way more than I thought I would. Don't go into reading it expecting it to be a slasher book it's more about the characters and how they are dealing with the crime they committed and it's better that way. You can barely tell this book was written in 1973. Teens today will still relate.

posted by aTwistOfTi on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    Worthwhile Read!

    I think that this book was pretty good if you like thrillers, it was not as scary as I thought it would be, but it was still pretty suspenseful. Once I started reading it I couldn't seem to set it down. The author, Lois Duncan did a lovely job of telling this intense story, I would definitely recommend it.
    The basic idea of this book is about some teenagers that did something awful the summer before and they had all made a pact to never tell anyone but someone finds out and they want their revenge.
    This novel gets the thumbs up from me.
    Description and summary of main points
    Lois Duncan, the author knew when she was a child that she wanted to be an author and she has made her point by this great book, it's very thrilling and exciting. Along with "I Know What You did Last Summer" Duncan has written 48 other books ranging from children's books to adult novels.
    I read this book with an open mind not expecting not to be very good, but it turned out to be a worthwhile read
    The book is about how the summer before, Julie James and some of her friends - Raymond Bronson, Helen Rivers, and Barry Cox did something horrible that changed their lives, they have made a pact to never tell anyone but it someone knows and they seem to want revenge, the book goes on about what they have done and what they do, there are some plot twists and turns which add suspense to the story.
    Over all this was an excellent suspenseful story and it kept me intrigued throughout the whole novel.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    I know what you did last summer!

    In this book, it truly was a work of masterpiece. I loved it. I read this book a couple of times now, and I still remember details from a few years ago. It was descriptive, insightful and never gave away to much. In the end, I was surprised as to who the killer was. I probably would have never guessed. This is a great attribute to a murder mystery and should not be overlooked by other mystery/thriller authors of this day and age. Truly, this book has not disappointed me at all. I could read it again and again and not get bored.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    I Know What You Did Last Summer

    Julie, Helen, Ray, and Barry all forget about their past summer and move on with their lives, until Julie gets a letter in the mail that clearly reads. I KNOW WHAT YOU DID LAST SUMMER.Helen, Ray, and Julie are all getting hints that somebody found out about that summer. Then all of sudden, Barry is shot. They know that they are in danger, and they have to find out who knows and why they want to hurt them.This story is about 4 teenagers who get into some trouble one summer and completely try to rid their minds of it, and then all of a sudden somebody knows! The teenagers are Julie James, a very smart girl about to go to college, Helen Rivers, a beautiful Golden Girl, Raymond Bronson, a guy who went off and worked on some fishing boats, and Barry Cox, Helen's boyfriend who is a great athlete. This story teaches you to be careful what you're doing on those summer nights.In the end, you find out who's injured, but what you really want to know is "Who was the killer?" Read and find out!I am a person, who absolutely despises reading. Although, I was very entertained by this book. I really got into it. This book has mystery, thrills, emotion, and horror. I think anyone from fifth grade to eleventh grade would enjoy it, boys and girls, too. If somebody asked me to tell them a name of an entertaining book, I would definitely say "I Know What You Did Last Summer."

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Ani Anonymous

    I have seen the movie and it is really good! I hope the book is better since well it is the book. So cant wait to read it!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    I know what you did last summer

    The theme of this book is to create a mystery. Lois Duncan, the author, is trying to teach you a lesson while creating a mystery. The book is teaching you about being safe. It also keeps you going all the way to the end. The book keeps you going because the ending is really unexpected.

    This book is about four seniors attending a high school. They get involved in a hit and run one night after they had been out late drinking. The memory is following them. The teens try to get it out of their head in every way possible, but it won't leave them alone.
    Evaluation
    One of the girls receives a letter saying that he knows what they did last summer. They all get hints that someone is out to find them. But they don't know that the person trying to find them is closer than they think.

    I give this book four stars. I give the book four stars because it is well written and has a good plot. I enjoyed this book very much. It is a great book to read if you like mysteries!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    This Is the BEST Book Ever!!

    This is a great story that kept me interested full time and was addicting. It involved four rotten kids who are driving under the influence and, they hit a boy on a bicycle. They swear to never tell anyone what they did that summer until an unknown visitor continuously is blackmailing them a summer later. They are going to have to trust each other because this man wants revenge. This book was published in 1999 by Louis Duncan. She currently lives in North Carolina, and she is still writing books. Many of her books have won awards, as well as they are bestsellers for young adults. I Know What You Did Last Summer is a book mainly about how revenge always turns around and gets you. You may think things are kept secret, but that is not always the best assumption. The book has some twists and turns but in the end it all ties up. It all ended up being a great exciting book! This was a great book and I really enjoyed reading it. The lesson I learned from the story was always trust others. I really enjoyed this story as well as it kept me interested full time and was addicting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Horror

    Its pretty awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Nothing likePretty little lairs

    Omg people this book is nothing like pretty little lairs! In this book they kill someone. In pretty little liars ali GETS killed. Plus somone wants to kill them in is book in prettylittle lairs A just ruins their lives.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    LEAVES YOU HANGING

    I was upset because i wanted to know what happened to the antagonist at the end, would've given it 5 * if it wasnt for this

    8/ book needed more mystery/ suspense

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Annonoymous

    Good read! Little disappointed on the ending. Nonetheless good book and a quick read. Hard to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Rosey24

    I thought it wuz awesome but scary!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    It Will Surprise You :~)

    I would recommend this book to everyone, especially excitement seeking teens. This is the kind of book that you won't want to put down. Don't let the title or cover scare you away, because I enjoyed it from beginning to end.

    The unique quality about this book is that you don't know the whole "last summer" story until the middle of the book. Then, everything begins to fall into place, well, not "everything". Another irresistible quality about this novel is the temptation to read to the end is extremely strong.

    This tale takes place in a small town in the middle of the summer, exactly one year later from the tragic incident. The main characters are Julie James, Ray Bronson, Barry Cox, Helen Rivers, and Collingsworth Wilson. It was graduation night and the four friends (Julie, Ray, Barry, and Helen) went out for a drive after they had been drinking. Barry was driving terribly fast and all of the sudden crashed into a little boy on a bicycle. Once they noticed there was nothing they could do, they went to the nearest pay phone and made an anonymous call to the emergency line. After, they all made a pact to not say a word. What they did not know though, was that someone was determined to find out exactly what happened that night, and they did.

    Overall, I am glad I gave this book a chance. It is definitely a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    Judging By the Book

    Introduction
    I Know What You Did Last Summer is about a group of four teenagers that lived an unforgettable summer. This book is perfect for teenagers searching for entertainment and suspense. I enjoyed reading this book tremendously. This review is to let other teenagers, like me, be aware of the book and maybe even read it themselves. I hope I Know What You Did Last Summer inspires the eyes of other readers like me.
    Description and summary of main points
    The suspense in this book is outstanding. Four teenagers (Helen, Ray, Barry, and Julie) were out drinking and partying one late night. They were driving down an old street when they hit a little boy on a bicycle. Of course, they did not want to be caught by the parents. They informed the police that a little boy had been hit and drove away. This tragic accident haunts them their whole summer, but the suspense doesn't start building until Julie receives a note in the mail stating, "I know what you did last summer." My friends suggested this book for my summer reading project. It was a great choice and I'm glad I listened to them.
    Evaluation
    There are many twists and turns in I Know What You Did Last Summer. After Julie gets a note, Helen finds a cut out piece of newspaper on her door. It speaks out about the hit and run accident, sending these four friends into a chaotic mess. "That was a summer I'll never be able to forget," says Julie. This statement is what really stopped me from putting the book down. I would definitely say this book is far better than other suspense books, like They Never Came Home.


    Conclusion
    In conclusion, I enjoyed his novel immensely. I would love to suggest it to a friend someday. I hope you are inspired by my review and would like to read this novel as well. I hope to read more books by Louis Duncan. She has opened my eyes to whole new genera of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    Amazing book!

    Book title and author: I Know What You Did Last Summer by Lois Duncan
    Title of review: I Know What You Did Last Summer book review
    Number of stars (1 to 5):

    Introduction- This book is an amazingly suspenseful book! It was made for teens, but I still think that adults would enjoy it. The story is about four people (Julie, Helen, Ray, and Barry) who had a horrible accident and made a promise never to tell anyone about it.

    Description and summary of main points- One summer, four teens made a huge mistake and chose to cover it up instead of coming forth and confessing to it. Exactly one year later, one of the teens, Julie received a letter with one horrifying sentence printed on it: I know what you did last summer. Someone knows what they did, and they want revenge. Then, when one of the other teens at Julie's ex-boyfriend, Ray, comes comes back to town, things get even crazier. Afterwards, the local it girl, Helen, gets an even crazier notice, but its Barry who gets the worst message of all. The story spins out of control when the person who is after them is finally revealed.

    Evaluation- This book has to be one of the best books I have ever read! It was a spine tingling story that keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout the whole story. As soon as you pick it up, you won't be able to put it back down. The story has a surprise ending that you will never see coming. It is a great story with a phenomenal surprise ending! Overall, it was an amazing story!

    Conclusion- In conclusion, I Know What You Did Last Summer was a great story! It's about four teens that make a horrible mistake and promise never to tell anyone. Little do they know that someone else knows, and they want revenge. The story has a great surprise ending that no one will see coming. It was a great book that will keep you guessing until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    A fantastic mystery, that will keep you wanting to read more!!

    This particular book was mostly meant for teens but could still be considered an adult book. The overall lesson of the story is that if something bad happens, or something you feel is wrong tell an adult or someone you can trust. The issue of the story is that someone is dead and some teens feel extremely guilty. The main characters are Collie, Bud, Barry, Ray, Julia, and Helen.David Gregg, a small helpless boy has been killed, so four teens that where headed for successful lives, go to a payphone and call the police to come get the boy, but don't explain who they were. There almost perfect lives were being destroyed right in front of their eyes .Then, a year later Julia gets a note saying one and one phrase only I Know What You Did Last Summer.This book is very suspenseful mystery, it is also kind of scary later on in the book. It is located in various places throughout the book, the college, Helens apartments, Julia's parents house, and even the hospital.: I would definitely recommend this book to anyone. It's very intriguing and has great mystery, and conflict. As the story goes on the plot does a great job of getting more and more suspenseful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    A Chilling Tale

    I would recommend the book I Know What You Did Last Summer to anyone who likes mystery books. It's mostly interesting for teenagers though because all the main characters are in their teens and you can relate to them better. It's defiantly a good book in my opinion. There are five main characters in the book. One is the "villain" and the other four are the "victims" of him. The style the story is written in is unique. In every chapter, it switches the narrator. For example, in the first chapter one of the main characters is the narrator and in the second chapter, another main character is narrating. The setting of the story is in a small town in the summer. The main characters are Julie James, Ray Bronson, Helen Rivers, Barry Cox, and Collingsworth Wilson. Julie, Ray, Helen, and Ray are four friends that did something bad last summer. They were driving at night and they all had consumed a little alcohol before. Barry was driving way too fast and they went around a corner and hit something. They got out of the car and realized that it was a little boy on a bicycle. They were all mortified by what they had done and they panicked and drove away. Julie wanted to confess that they did it but the other three didn't. Julie was outvoted so they drove for a little while until they found a payphone and they called 911 to report the accident. After that, they made a pact to never speak of it again. At the end of the summer, Ray moved to California and they all went their separate ways. A year later, Julie got a note that said "I KNOW WHAT YOU DID LAST SUMMER" and then the weird stuff starts to happen. Ray moves back to town and he and Helen get reminders of the accident also. Barry even gets shot but they don't tie everything together. All they know is that someone knows about last summer and that the person is out for a deadly revenge. I Know What You Did Last Summer is one of the best books I've ever read. If you like excitement, mystery, and suspense then you'll love this book! This book is defiantly one of those books that you like so much it just takes you a day to read. You won't want to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    great (:

    Lois Duncan has created a new, phenomenal story about four teenagers who face a tough situation. She has captured action, suspense, and the drama and relationships of everyday life in one novel. Duncan has all of the critics raving and all of us wanting more.
    I Know What You Did Last Summer tells the story of four teenage friends who live in a small town and face the hardest decision of their life. Julie James, Barry Cox, Ray Bronson, and Helen Rivers thought they had already experienced the worst summer of their lives. After killing ten-year old boy, David Gregg, and leaving him in the road to die, they make a pact to never speak of the incident again, instead of doing the right thing and going to the police immediately. Throughout the year, they've been trying their best to forget about their previous summer. Ray went off to California, Julie is preparing for college, Helen is the Channel Five Golden Girl, and Barry plays football for the University. Everyone's lives have changed. But when all four of them start to receive a letter or clipping or some sort of strange sign, they all start getting suspicious. Someone knows what they did last summer.
    Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I liked how Lois Duncan didn't rule out any possibilities, she kept you thinking. It was nice to not suspect anything about the ending. Any young person could have read this book, but I would recommend it for teenagers. I think that they could relate to lots of the situations that the four young characters in this novel face. If Duncan's goal was to create a novel for young adults that contain both mystery and suspense, I think she has most definitely reached it!
    I am hoping that many young people read this book. It wasn't exactly a hard read, but it was very entertaining and mysterious. I think that most teens can relate to one of the four main characters in this story. My favorite part of this book was when Ray pieces the puzzle together and realizes who Bud really is. Then he saves Julie from getting hurt. There was a lot that was learned throughout this story. I think the characters learned that everyone is not who they say they are. Never trust anyone you've just met right away. This is what Julie James learned about her friend Bud, another character in the book. This book was good ways to learn to always listen to the people you love. They care for you and are trying to help you. I am definitely going to recommend this book to lots of people. I thought it was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    A Great Thriller

    Book title and author: I Know What You Did Last Summer-Lois Duncan Title of review: A Great Thriller Introduction There's a mystery to be solved. Four teenagers are getting anonymous letters. They did a horrible tragic thing last summer and someone is finally seeking revenge. The four teens made a pact and promised not to break it. But this murder is finally unraveling and they are receiving payback. The audience I would recommend this to, would be a range between 10-19 years old. It's a great teenage mystery book. It's very suspenseful and thrilling. Description and summary of main points The author Lois Duncan has written many books before this one, 48 to be exact. Most of her books are recommended for young adults. I read this book because I love mysteries and seemed like a very good book. My friends also recommended it to me. I have also read other books before that she has written and I have enjoyed each and every one of them. Evaluation I Know What You Did Last Summer was a suspenseful, mysterious, well written book. Four teenagers murdered a little boy last summer by a hit and run, but they made a pact to never tell. A year later, they get anonymous notes from a stranger. They receive a variety of different things that bring up the horrible past. Conclusion The book fulfills its purpose because it was supposed to be a mystery and it was a very suspenseful, thrilling book. Other mystery books are also enjoyable, but this was great. I enjoyed this one the most.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    Awesome Book!

    Introduction: This book is one of the most suspenseful books I have ever read. This book is meant for any age but mainly teens. The book in my opinion is one of the best books I have ever read. I recommend this book with all my heart. This book is a cliff hanger. The book involves four teens on one young boy

    Description and summary of main points: There was an accident that happened last summer, and someone knows. The mystery person that knows they did what they did and wants revenge. The four teen agers involved in the accident are (Helen, Barry, Ray, and Julie). Julie received a letter saying I know what you did last summer on it. Their lives are in danger but they don't know it. One lie may change everything.

    Evaluation: I think that the book has been my second favorite book I have ever read. I would read it again if I had to. The book has a great ending! Reading this book took me a total of five hours. I am not a book reader but this book flew bye and I actually liked it.

    Conclusion: In conclusion, this book has very heart racing parts. Over all this book helps you learn to always tell someone what happened. Don't make a pact about it and tell someone you trust. Barry has something terrible happen to him. Read it and you will find out what I'm talking about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    Turned out to be a great book!

    Your final review: This wasn't one of my favorite books, I hate to say, but it was a pretty darn good one. It is actually kind of boring in the end, but heats up in the last three chapters. "I Know what You Did Last Summer" was a suspenseful book about someone trying to get revenge against four teens, Helen, Barry, Julie, and Ray, who hit a young boy on a bicycle one late summer night while driving intoxicated. They get alarmed when they start to get notes, pictures, and newspaper clippings of the accident. This book, I hate to say, was pretty boring in the beginning. Not much happened. But it started to heat up in the last few chapters. In the end, everything starts to make sense. It actually turned out to be a pretty good book. I was so excited to read it. I actually read it in about four hours, the whole time; I didn't put the book down. It's addicting, because I wanted to know who knew about last summer. I give this book four out of five stars, and I recommend it to anyone who loves mystery and suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4