Customer Reviews for

I Know What You Did Last Summer

Average Rating 4.5
( 263 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(152)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Worthwhile Read!

I think that this book was pretty good if you like thrillers, it was not as scary as I thought it would be, but it was still pretty suspenseful. Once I started reading it I couldn't seem to set it down. The author, Lois Duncan did a lovely job of telling this intense st...
I think that this book was pretty good if you like thrillers, it was not as scary as I thought it would be, but it was still pretty suspenseful. Once I started reading it I couldn't seem to set it down. The author, Lois Duncan did a lovely job of telling this intense story, I would definitely recommend it.
The basic idea of this book is about some teenagers that did something awful the summer before and they had all made a pact to never tell anyone but someone finds out and they want their revenge.
This novel gets the thumbs up from me.
Description and summary of main points
Lois Duncan, the author knew when she was a child that she wanted to be an author and she has made her point by this great book, it's very thrilling and exciting. Along with "I Know What You did Last Summer" Duncan has written 48 other books ranging from children's books to adult novels.
I read this book with an open mind not expecting not to be very good, but it turned out to be a worthwhile read
The book is about how the summer before, Julie James and some of her friends - Raymond Bronson, Helen Rivers, and Barry Cox did something horrible that changed their lives, they have made a pact to never tell anyone but it someone knows and they seem to want revenge, the book goes on about what they have done and what they do, there are some plot twists and turns which add suspense to the story.
Over all this was an excellent suspenseful story and it kept me intrigued throughout the whole novel.

posted by reilly-is-amazing on September 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Must Read Teen Fiction

I enjoyed this book way more than I thought I would. Don't go into reading it expecting it to be a slasher book it's more about the characters and how they are dealing with the crime they committed and it's better that way. You can barely tell this book was written in 1...
I enjoyed this book way more than I thought I would. Don't go into reading it expecting it to be a slasher book it's more about the characters and how they are dealing with the crime they committed and it's better that way. You can barely tell this book was written in 1973. Teens today will still relate.

posted by aTwistOfTi on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    i was excited to read this and was not disappointed. Great read!

    i was excited to read this and was not disappointed. Great read!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    what a great book.

    I would suggest this book to anyone who is likes mystery book. What a thrill.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    A Book You Will Enjoy

    Great book! I had always heard of this book/movie and when it was on my summer reading list, I jumped for the chance to read it. Each of the characters had their own little story line. They each had a different life after the accident happened. Julie used to be a cheerleader, and after it happened she became very studious and barely went out. Ray moved out of state after the accident. Helen and Barry's lives pretty much stayed the same though. The accident happened on one crazy night in the summer. After the accident, they all made a pact to never talk about it again. But when Julie got a worrisome letter in the mail, she quickly ran to Helen's place. Barry thought it was just a joke and he had convinced them to believe the same. Soon thereafter, Barry and Helen started receiving pictures and news clippings, they knew something was up. They all reunited and try to figure out what the reason for this is. They never knew that their own lives were in danger for their silly actions the summer before. I thought this book was very exciting and I could reread it over and over again. This book was sometime a bit confusing at points. Other than that, it has probably been one of the best books I've read. It really was an attention grabber. I remember walking around the airport reading it because I wanted to know what was going to happen next. Conclusion I truly thought this book was amazing. I always liked mystery books, but sometimes they would be long and boring at points. I thought in general that this book revealed just enough and never was boring. I would recommend this book to any teen that likes mystery.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    I know what you did last summer

    It was so good even better than the movie

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Loved it!

    Great, interesting read. The plot throws a surprise that you dont see coming. Very suspenseful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Anonymous

    "I Know What You Did Lasr Summer" is a very interesting thriller. When I read the book then read about the movie, I think the book wins hands down.
    This book is probably the best book i have ever read. It's a fantastic read! The way the author updates the book to have the same technoligy and fashions we do today, really helps the reader connect to the characters and the bookin general.
    I am confident that once you pick up this book you won't be able to put it down untill after you finish it!
    ENJOY IT FELLOW READERS!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    EPIC SCARY JUST WHAT THE DOCTOR ORDERED

    I loved I know what you did last summer. This is the books Lois is famous for! This is a book where these four teens accidentally hit a guy and dump his body in the nearest lake. Then Julie, one of the characters, she gets a note saying that somebody knows. And the guy tracks down everyone that was in the accident and tries to kill them. As said before this book is very suspense ful so this I give five stars on the AWESOME scale.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Awesome Book!

    Four teenagers hit a boy on a bike while they were driving drunk, but they keep on driving and anonymously call the police. They make a pact never to talk about it again. The next day they receive the news that the boy has died. They go on living their lives until the next summer Julie receives a letter simply stating 'I KNOW WHAT YOU DID LAST SUMMER'.

    Throughout the book, the mystery man keeps dropping more hints that he knows what they did and he just might tell the police. Then, things take a violent turn when Barry is shot. Julie and Ray start an investigation of their own and try to solve this intriguing mystery.

    This book achieves its goal of being a suspense novel without a doubt. I literally could not put it down. The immense suspense in this book left me checking outside my window to make sure nothing unusual was there.

    This book was amazing. The plot is deep and it keeps you guessing until the very end. I normally do not read suspense or any books that seem scary but this one has me second guessing my previous thoughts on this genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2006

    Best book ever !

    this book was awesome !i thought the movie was alot better though.it wasnt as scary as i thought it would be.the movie was totaly different.i couldnt put it down .i think anyone who hates reading should read this cause it will make them appreciate a good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2014

    Pretty liars rocks anyone who said pretty little liars

    And you sucks because the the books are good and the show is good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    Wowzer

    This book was amazing. It kept me entertained the whole time and of course kept me scared. This was about 4 teenagers named ray, barry, helen, and julie. They are coming home from an event where thy were partying and there had been alchahol. The driver barry is driving too fast and runs over a little boy on a bicycle. The little boy on the bike dies and the teennagers drive away. They were looking for help and decided not to return to the scene. The four teens make a pact to not tell anyone but soon they all get scary "warnings" and are under the impression somebody knows. How do they know? Who told? And who knows what they did? This book is filled with plot twists and will keep you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end. Very scary too... i was SO freaked out. BEST BOOK EVER
    btw to everone who says this is a copy of pll um this came out in the 1970s soooo (u cant tell its that old tho)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2014

    Is this book awesome.

    Is this book awesome.I hope it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    AMAZING SAMPLE

    I will avtually purchase this ebook and others by Lous Duncan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Great

    Amazing book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Awwwww

    Thats sad but sounds liksomethg i would do lol srry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Very good but sad

    I dont know why such sad book are out there well its not very sad but they hit a boy and he died while they were drunk and hye

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Best

    Loooove this book, reead it. Its reaallyy goood!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Very good

    I liked it a lot very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    He is gereat

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Really Great

    This book was excellent. It was suspensful, thrilling, and a good mystery. Plus, it had a great twist at the end. I highly reccomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8