Customer Reviews for

I Lift Up My Soul: Devotions to Start Your Day with God

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Wonderful Daily Devotional

    I have all of Dr. Stanley's daily devotionals, and they are wonderful! Dr. Stanley is a truly gifted and inspirational teacher of the Lord's Word, and I highly recommend "I Lift Up My Soul" to start your day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Got to have it.

    Awesome,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    I Lift Up My Soul - A Review

    So I have just finished about two to three months of every day devotions out of the book "I Lift Up My Soul" by Charles Stanley. Before reading this devotional I never really knew much about Charles Stanley, his church, his teaching, etc., but I thought I would give it a try. I was blown away by the wisdom of Charles Stanley. Now, not only do I continue to start off every one of my days with a devotional from him; I also started downloading his podcast from the "In Touch" ministry.
    Charles Stanley is incredibly wise, and does an excellent job of applying each verse to the common life. Every morning I am challenged, refreshed, and renewed. I try to take the idea or concept that I learned that morning and let it reside within me throughout the rest of the day. He also provides just one key verse that I try to memorize every day.
    I would highly recommend this book to people across all spiritual maturity. If you need some structure to your morning time with God, or desire that, then I also highly recommend this book for you! It is based on a yearly calendar though, so I think it is best to start at the beginning of the year, but not a huge problem!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    a perfect companion for the weary soul...

    Daily devotionals, no doubt are an excellent way to start the day on a positive note. And that's exactly what Charles F. Stanley's "I Lift Up My Soul" does. It is a literary roadmap that'll keep us from walking off the parameters of our Christian faith while providing us with enough hope and room for holistic growth. This book is just brimming with assurances of God's eternally forgiving love for us, as well as with affirmations to lift us off the direst pit of insecurities. It is both a journey through Bible truths and life as we know it. As the title itself states, this book aims to pick up our souls from all its earthly restrictions into eternal grace. It offers scripture readings, guided prayers and inspirational messages put together in such a way that's sure to guide us through the tricky roads of life. Whatever tough situation you may be in right now, or will be in in the future, "I Lift Up My Soul" is the perfect source of spiritual strength you need to overcome the barriers of fear and doubt. It'll teach you courage, help you understand the importance of patience, and remind you of just how special you truly are in the eyes of God. You may choose to read it in order, or grab it at a whim and open it to a random page. No matter how you choose to use it, there will always be something in this book that'll remind you over and over again just how much God cares. And with that thought to keep in mind from sunrise to sundown, you know you can never go wrong.

    *I got a complimentary copy of this book from BookSneeze.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    "I Lift Up My Soul" - A wonderful Way to Reflect on your Life and Day

    What a wonderful way to reflect on God's Word. This devotional is well written and full of words of wisdom from God Himself. Charles F. Stanley, has taken God's Word through Scripture and broken each though for the Soul so to refresh the Believer. As you open to the first day of devotions, you will find the appropriate Scripture for reading. As you read the scripture, you will get a warm feeling which can sooth your soul and entire being.
    If you start your day with Charles Stanley's "I Lift Up My Soul", you can only have peace of mind and righteousness of heart. Thank you to Dr. Stanley for his understanding of the Scriptures and breaking them down in easy to understand devotionals for each and every one of us. This devotional is and will be used each and every day, as a start to the day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    I Lift Up My Soul by Dr. Charles Stanley

    Lift Up My Soul
    Devotions To Start Your Day With God
    by Charles F. Stanley


    Wake up to a new day!

    Lift Up My Soul is a daily devotional written by Dr. Charles Stanley. Dr. Stanley is the pastor of Frist Baptist Church in Atlanta, GA.

    Dr. Stanley presents a daily scripture reading as a way to get you into Gods Word. It is a wonderful way to work through some parts of the Bible that you may not have spent much time in. I would say it would be a wonderful idea to meditate on the scripture of the day and apply it's guidance to the rest of the day. It is often amazing to see how you can apply verse to real life situations.

    Next, Dr. Stanley presents a few paragraphs that range from real life stories that relate to the message for that day, a story that is inspirational or even insructional. This particular day he speaks of our needs and how important it is to take our needs to God alone and wait for his action. He is stressing the importance of not pushing OUR will on any given situation. It is a good reminder to take all things (big or small) to the Lord.

    Lastly, Dr. Stanley presents a prayer for you. These prayers vary from prayers of thanksgiving to requests for knowledge. This devotional truly covers a multitude of situations, topics and instructional material. It is a must for any bedside table and presents a way to build a daily routine for spending time with our Savior and in His Word that is interactive and interesting. It is easy for many Christians to get lost in the Bible and to feel overwhelmed. This book is a wonderful way to break down parts of the Good Word into bite sized pieces that are easily related to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Lift Up My Soul by Charles F. Stanley Book Review

    I Lift Up My Soul is a yearly devotional with a message for every day. I found them very inspirational and comforting. It has a nice colorful hardcover.

    Each devotion has a scripture reading and a key verse, good for having a family discussion or teaching the children. There's a place in the back of the book for you to write down notes or thoughts.

    I enjoyed it very much and recommend it.

    Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    Great Devotional

    On behalf of Thomas Nelson Publishing, BookSneeze recently sent me a free copy of Charles Stanley's newest devotional I Lift Up My Soul. Each day's entry in one page invites the reader to draw nearer to God. As the book progresses Stanley focuses on different topics such as grace, prayer, forgiveness and gratefulness. Each devotional takes about one minute to read, so it is a great devotional for the on-the-go person or it can be used for the more serious contemplater.
    I was pleasantly surprised by this devotional. As I said, each entry is rather short, yet throughout I found myself in constant prayer and communion with God. Stanley never made me feel uncomfortable with any of the devotions. By that I mean that sometimes when an author talks of sin and points the finger at every reader, I feel uncomfortable reading that piece. Stanley mentions our inherent sin,but does so without judgement. He probably is trying to leave that to God. When he does mention sin, it is to allow the reader to understand his or her deep need for Christ.
    My soul was indeed lifted as I looked to Christ with gratitude and humility. I am definietly going to be using I Lift Up My Soul for my daily devotional next year. Throughout the year I hope to draw nearer to God and explore different facets of my relationship with Him. This devotional is great for new believers and more mature believers alike. I hope for those that do pick this book up are inspired to look up and offer God their souls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    The perfect way to start your day!

    This book is one of the rare few that you can judge by it's cover! The title alone says it all. "Lift Up My Soul". In this beautifully packaged book, Charles F. Stanley presents us with one scripture from the Bible each day that enables you to "start your morning with God" for an entire year.



    Each scripture is followed with thoughts, hypothetical questions from Stanley and leave you with a prayer. This icing on the cake will engage your thoughts and compel you to carefully consider the verse in a deeper way. It leads one to ponder the different meanings and various interpretations some may have.


    Charles Stanley has been a pastor for 40 years. He currently presides over the First Baptist Church in Atlanta Georgia. He has received international recognition for his radio and TV show titled In Touch.


    Using the word of God to help us begin our day, Stanley has given us a book that is simply priceless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1