Customer Reviews for

I Like You: Hospitality Under the Influence

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    don't take life too seriously

    i would hope that if one were to purchase this book one would know and understand who amy sedaris is and expect, as i did, a fun, quirky guide to entertaining. so, if you want advice from martha stewart download a great martha stewart instructional but if you wanna learn how to not take life too seriously, then download 'i like you'...it's fun!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Hilarious, Fun Read, a Visual Celebration of Warped Creativity Gone Astray!

    "I Like You: Entertaining Under the Influence" is a cheeky alternative to the every day recipe/ entertaining guides. No other guide specifically encompasses the in's and out's of entertaining for lumberjacks, funeral wakes, the elderly, when a rich uncle comes to visit, children, and the long overlooked demographic in most entertaining guides: stoners. Bless Ms. Sedaris for writing such a delightful tome for those of us who really can't be as together as Martha (you know who you are). This book is really top-notch and a great gift for the ever-diligent hostess in your life (providing she has a wacky sense of humor). I've purchased one copy of this book before and it wound up leaving with a party guest. Yes, it's so brilliant that I bought it twice. Whoever wound up with my last copy will hopefully invite me to one of their parties and I'll know who did it by the charmingly strange party decor & finger foods they'll employ from this book. Buy it, you can't have my copy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    Hilarious AND the perfect guide to living fabulous!

    I've loved Amy Sedaris since she was on the unique show 'Strangers With Candy.' I knew when this book came out that my dinner parties would never be the same. The great thing about this book is that she can make you laugh the entire time you are putting together an inexpensive and unique party. Amy thinks of the most interesting things to bring to the dinner table, and her recipes are fantastic. I love all of the condiments with google eyes and references to her bunny. The pictures are amazing, the book is well written, the drawings are adorable, and yet it looks very DIY because of all of the personal touches on every single page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    a reviewer

    I LIKE YOU isn't a children's book. In fact, unless your parents say you can read it, or you're at least sixteen, I wouldn't recommend it. But if you're a mature teenager who enjoys off-beat humor mixed in with recipes, entertaining tips, and a hodgepodge of other 'homey' ideas, then this is the book for you. 'Hello, and I like you.' According to Ms. Sedaris, this is what you're saying every time you invite someone into your house. Unfortunately, I had originally thought that when I invited people into my house I was saying, 'Hello, sorry my house looks like bohemian children with outrageous hobbies live here.' But, whatever. Amy Sedaris, whom you might recognize from roles in School of Rock, Bewitched, Elf, and Strangers With Candy, has given us a slew of ideas, recipes, and helpful hints for entertaining those people we invite into our home. This over-sized tome is chock full of recipes, from the hors d'oeuvres to the main course to dessert. Mixed in, of course, are witty comments from Ms. Sedaris herself, hilarious photos, and tips on keeping that party spirit alive. If you want to give the perfect gift, for any occasion, to someone you love, show them you like them by handing them a copy of I LIKE YOU. Believe me, everyone will be happy. **Reviewed by: Jennifer Wardrip, aka 'The Genius'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    Funny! (but very adult)

    I really like her sense of humor and thought this was hilarious at first glance. There is very good advice for overnight guests like: 'stay somewhere else', or 'don't bring things that need to be buried'. And the advice for dropping by unannounced is not only humourous, it is spot on. But the casual references to drug abuse are a little depressing: the herion/cocaine salt and pepper shakers cross that little line. As did calling recovering abusers boring. There's also an explicit sketch of her bent over examining her nether-regions. (However the thought of my sons sneaking the cookbook up to their bedrooms for a peek--that juxtaposition cracks me up). I gave it a 4, but I wouldn't recommend it if you have kids. Alcohol and drug abuse, no matter how hard you try, just isn't funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    WHAT THE HECK IS THIS BOOK

    WHAT IS IT ABOUT IM TO LAZY TO EVN READ THE DESCRIPTION THE TITLE DOSNT EVEN MATCH THE THEME D=< BOO THID BOOK SUCKS

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Hilarious read!

    Enjoyed this very much. It was a quick, funny read. I would have likec moving onto her crafts book but unfortunately it isnt available as a Nook book yet.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Only if you like hilarious

    I got this book one day b/c i find her humor hilarious. You either get it or you dont.......i got it and it was funny as hell.recipes were good too

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    So disappointing.

    I bourght the book because I like to entertain. I'm just not great at it and was looking for pointers. The sample seemed great. I was shocked when I purchased the ebook and found the "F.... Bucket". I wish Amy Sedaris only knew how certain words cheapen a person. Sadly within minutes of purchasing the book, I wish I hadn't.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    OK

    It wasn't what I expected. Haven't even really fully read it yet. I thought it was going to be "lighter." There are a lot of recipes and art projects that I will never use. I think she is a funny comedienne, so I was expecting a lot of witty and some silly chapters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fa reakin' Hilarious.

    I don't know how absolutely serious you want to take this, though there are a lot of useful items in it, but it's got a very high entertainment value as far as all of the disriptions go. Amy Sedaris is sarcastic, funny, and can seriously catch you off guard with some of it. You can tell that she had fun when she wrote this, and you will definatly have fun reading it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    the ultimate guide to hosting

    Entertaining with a twist. Not only is this book funny, there are actually recipes and usable ideas for hosting. Some of it is just for fun! Amy has a quirky sense of humor that is infectious. Reading this book feels like stepping into her home. I have my own copy and have given it as gifts also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Humor

    This may prove to be the most difficult book I've ever reviewed. It's a cookbook with recipes such as Split Pea Soup, Yogurt Spaghetti, Southern Fried Chicken, Yorkshire Pudding, cakes for special occasions, assorted drinks, as well as instructions on party planning, conversation starters for blind dates, how to give yourself a breast exam, the art of putting on panty hose, and gift ideas for the elderly. Also included are craft ideas such as how to make a needle wallet, a paper clip necklace, brick bookends, and several other useless items. Anecdotes are sprinkled throughout. This might make a unique idea for a quirky hostess gift. Note: contains profanity.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    I LIKE YOU isn't a children's book. In fact, unless your parents say you can read it, or you're at least sixteen, I wouldn't recommend it. But if you're a mature teenager who enjoys off-beat humor mixed in with recipes, entertaining tips, and a hodgepodge of other "homey" ideas, then this is the book for you. <BR/><BR/>"Hello, and I like you." According to Ms. Sedaris, this is what you're saying every time you invite someone into your house. Unfortunately, I had originally thought that when I invited people into my house I was saying, "Hello, sorry my house looks like bohemian children with outrageous hobbies live here." But, whatever. Amy Sedaris, whom you might recognize from roles in School of Rock, Bewitched, Elf, and Strangers With Candy, has given us a slew of ideas, recipes, and helpful hints for entertaining those people we invite into our home. <BR/><BR/>This over-sized tome is chock full of recipes, from the hors d'oeuvres to the main course to dessert. Mixed in, of course, are witty comments from Ms. Sedaris herself, hilarious photos, and tips on keeping that party spirit alive. If you want to give the perfect gift, for any occasion, to someone you love, show them you like them by handing them a copy of I LIKE YOU. Believe me, everyone will be happy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    Great Fun -- and not for the faint of heart

    This book is great fun, irreverent, and a good read. It's not for the prim and proper, or those easily offended by farcical interpretations of life's events. The humor is hilariously adult. This book shows us that everyday life, and most mundane social situations, can be made into fodder for great satirical comedy and a whole different way of looking at entertaining friends, family, strangers . . . .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2007

    A reviewer

    Amy Sedaris, ignorant, messed up and only sometimes funny. p. 251 has a caricature of a nuclear missle running with a ricksaw on japanese wooden shoes, with little asian eyes and the words 'Korean Korner' on it. I'm Korean, that's ignorant of our culture. P. 267 there are directions on how to make an eye pillow into a 'CHING CHONG Burrito'-- by 'using mung beans'. Stop. I find this annoying and disparaging to see that in a humor book on 'hospitality', and listed as a top 50 book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    BEST (ENTERTAINING) BOOK EVER!

    HILARIOUS! I have reread this book countless times to truly understand the multiple layers in this book. Her ideas are comedic gold and yet also practical. Furthermore, I have baked her cupcakes for countless friends and received great accolades. LOVE IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2007

    Hilarious

    This isn't an ordinary book. First it's hilarious, along side with being a cookbook, advice for common and unusual situations, and is also chuck full of ideas. Amy Sedaris' humor is very unusual, but I enjoyed it quite a bit! It covers everything from weasling your way into your rich uncle's will to owning a rabbit!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2006

    Sedaris is Hilarious

    Sedaris is very funny in beautifully barbed ways, especially in the way she shares many a truth in jest form. From the front cover to its final bit of amusing advice, this volume is hilarious except for most of the drug-related references that chipped away at the overall triumph of this book. Still, well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    Funny, strange, and cute, just like Amy!

    This is a great, slightly dirty, yet practical guide to entertaining. For fans of Strangers with Candy and anyone with a flair for entertaining. Amy is Martha Stewart on a muscle relaxer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4