BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

I, Lucifer

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Tongue-in-Cheek Humor Lost on Some...

The greatest thing about this book is the wonderful way in which the author chooses to write about the human experience. Here we find a supernatural being (Lucifer, in this case) attempting to put into words just how great it is to be human--to have five senses with wh...
The greatest thing about this book is the wonderful way in which the author chooses to write about the human experience. Here we find a supernatural being (Lucifer, in this case) attempting to put into words just how great it is to be human--to have five senses with which to experience the world. Through this device, the Duncan is trying to communicate just how lucky we are to be here and how easy it is to just keep right on walking and not notice the abundance of beauty around us. Not only that, but the author provides biting commentary on religion, love, lust, politics, drug use, and success. And the fascinating thing is, we learn what it is like for someone to experience all of these things we take for granted for the first time! I didn't find the author's writing in any way self-important or overblown. I have thoroughly enjoyed this title each time I have read it and given it as a gift many times to my more bookish friends who can appreciate the tongue-in-cheek humor of it all. If you're craving some intellectual entertainment, this one is for you!

posted by Anonymous on August 30, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Would not recommend

Even though the beginning of the book is very interesting with the way he describes after page 100 it goes down hill and the story its self is a cliche.

posted by 4521536 on October 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2007

    Tongue-in-Cheek Humor Lost on Some...

    The greatest thing about this book is the wonderful way in which the author chooses to write about the human experience. Here we find a supernatural being (Lucifer, in this case) attempting to put into words just how great it is to be human--to have five senses with which to experience the world. Through this device, the Duncan is trying to communicate just how lucky we are to be here and how easy it is to just keep right on walking and not notice the abundance of beauty around us. Not only that, but the author provides biting commentary on religion, love, lust, politics, drug use, and success. And the fascinating thing is, we learn what it is like for someone to experience all of these things we take for granted for the first time! I didn't find the author's writing in any way self-important or overblown. I have thoroughly enjoyed this title each time I have read it and given it as a gift many times to my more bookish friends who can appreciate the tongue-in-cheek humor of it all. If you're craving some intellectual entertainment, this one is for you!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2006

    Just what I thought he would be like

    This book shows Lucifer as I would see him. Arrogant but willing to laugh at himself. Evil but in a mischievous way. And just a barrel of laughs. Duncan takes Lucifer and makes him out to be doing what he does because he can. He enjoys messing with God and isn't afraid to get dirty doing it. Great book, I would highly recommend it

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2007

    Where else can you get this stuff?

    Not that I'm into this sort of thing for serious purposes, but for the past year I've been searching out novels that deal with the devil. As I said, not for any serious purpose but rather to see what book there are on the subject and how many authors have used 'him' as a jumping off point. ROSEMARY'S BABY comes to mind first, as does the funny Faustian tale KATZENJAMMER by McCrae and some others. But I, LUCIFER was really an eye-opener for me with it's 'human' element that the book gave to this 'person.' Hard to describe, but all I can say is read it and get educated. Totally believable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Comical

    It is quite easy and obvious to say that Glen Duncan is a comedian when it comes to creating a satire of everyday human life. His manor of creating a point of view toward everyday life was perfect through that of the head satyr himself, Lucifer. It really gives you a compelling perspective on both humans and the demonic race itself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2006

    Best book ever!

    This is one of the best books ever! The writing is fantastic, and the wit will make you laugh out loud. Lucifer himself tells his side of the story in this don't-miss read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2004

    Contraversal, but still a winer

    One of the funniest, but most well thought out books of all time. Duncan goes all out, and he obviously has no boundaries. He's a genious, and should be credited for this masterpiece

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    laugh out loud kind of story

    You need to have an open mind and a wide ranged sense of humor. But this book is one entertaining read. I haven't read a laugh outloud book like this in a good while. Will read it again soon. I and I rarely re-read a book). The concept of the devil using gods offer of a second chance at redemption to get a vacation from hell with no intention of really trying to redeem himself is priceless. Duncans witty and unusual take on the devils side of biblical history is original and funny. Some of it really makes you pause and think about what you thought you knew. I found much of it gave a certain insight we rarely get about good and evil. Hope his next writing effort is as good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    Refreshingly Insightful and Humorous - Recommended

    Not only is the concept of the storyline fairly refreshing and intriguing, but the way Duncan's prose fluidly swims from page to page is in itself impressive. It's funny, it's sad, and everything in between. The conversations "Luce" has with himself are what I was particularly fond of. Not your run-of-the-mill novels, this one is surely to leave you wanting more of Glen Duncan. His approach alone is a blast of fresh air, and I recommend I, Lucifer to anyone who can appreciate his efforts. Pick it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2