Customer Reviews for

I Never Had It Made

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2005

    Carl O. R.A.Long High School

    The autobiography of America's most celebrated baseball hero-Jackie Robinson, was first African American man with enough talent to breack through into the 'white man's' world of porfessional sports. It¿s the story of a man of courage and conviction, from his early days working in Los Angles for the NAACP, supporting Richard Nixon, and battled diabetes. The book tells a life of both tragic and triumphant. He was the grandson of a slave. He was saved from becoming a juvenile delinquent by the affection and guidance of his mother, a sympathetic friend, and a young minister. His talent for all sports made him the first four-letter man in the history of UCLA. While there, he met Rachel Isum, who became, and remains today, the most important person in his life, his wife. A good book!!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Great story about race relations in Baseball and the US during t

    Great story about race relations in Baseball and the US during the era. I read this on vacation during the 50th march on Washington celebrations and it was very relevant to today. my only disappointment is that not enough is known about Jackie in his after life of Baseball

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2007

    Jackie Robinson

    Jackie Robinson I found this book on Jackie Robinson very interesting. It was crull the way they treated black people back in the 1940¿s. In the 1940¿s discrimination was still among the country. Jackie Robinson wanted to play regular baseball. Instead the manager of the league sent to play in the Negro League. Only cause they didn¿t allow black people in their league. He wanted to play one game in the MLB (major league baseball) and when he got up to bat the fans in the stands threw soda cans, food, and they all started yelling at the manager for letting him play. His first at bat the pitcher threw a pitch right at his head because they thought he was different from everybody else. Later on after the game Jackie was beat up in the parking lot of the field. Then after four years in the MLB they finally accepted him for who he was! I thought that this book was a good choice for anyone who was wondering what life was like back then.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2006

    A MAN THAT FOUGHT FOR FREEDOM...

    I DON'T LIKE TO READ MANY AUTOBIOGRAPHIES, BUT THIS ONE IS DIFFERENT JUST BECAUSE JACKIE ROBINSON IS TELLING HIS STORY. HE WENT THROUGH SO MUCH FROM BEING THE FIRST PLAYER TO INTEGRATE MAJOR LEAGUE BASEBALL. TO FIGHTING FOR PEOPLES RIGHTS AT A TIME THAT AFRICICAN AMERICANS COULD NOT SPEAK OUT WITHOUT BEING DISCRIMINATED. THIS BOOK THAT JACKIE TOLD WAS PHENOMINAL, AND JACKIE SAID IT BEST, ' I WAS A BLACK MAN IN A WHITE WORLD' I NEVER HAD IT MADE.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Excellent

    You dont have to be a fan of sports to enjoy this book. The historical significance alone is incredible. Great read. You will not be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    JACKIE ROBINSON ROCK

    I went to see the movie and it was good. But the n word is used so much and i feel bad for him. But every year the MLB has a Jackie Robinson day and every playerbin the MLB wears the # 42 because Jackie made it possable for colored people to play non-colored sports.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Wow

    If its about jackie robinson it must be great "42" the movie! rocked!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Loved the book.  Well worth the read.  

    Loved the book.  Well worth the read.  

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2015

    H

    T

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    highly recommended!!

    Great Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2014

    Good Book

    I found out that there was more to Jackie Robinson then just basball

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    The Real Deal

    I had read about Jackie Robinson since I was a teenager. This is unique because it is from his own mouth.

    Further, it shed light on the civil rights movement and the politicians of the times. So there was a lot of fairly recent history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Great story

    Great story, very inspiring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    EVERY YOUNG BOY SHOULD READ THIS BOOK...HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    I GREW UP IN AN AREA OF CALIFORNIA WHERE I WAS NOT EXPOSED TO DISCRIMINATION, BUT JACKIE DIDNT HAVE THAT EXPERIENCE AS AN AMERICAN.
    SHAME ON ALL OF US.
    THIS WAS A VERY GOOD LOOK AT THE UNITED STATES AT IT WORST AND BEST.
    BROVO TO THE WRITER FOR CAPTURING OUR AMERICAN

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    LOVED BY ALL INCLUDIN' HIS TEAM!!!!!!!!:):0

    JACKIE ROBINSON WAS & STILL IS ONE OF THE GREATEST BASEBALL PLAYERS OF HIS TIME!!!!!!!!:0:) HE'LL BE GREATLY MISSED BY ALL!!!!!!!!:):0 I'M GLAD HE WAS PART OF A TEAM THAT KEPT STRONG AGAINST THE BASEBALL WORLD & THAT HE HAD THE CHANCE TO BREAK DOWN THE COLOR BARRIER & WHENEVER I HEAR THE N WORD; IT'S LIKE CALLING A WHITE PERSON CRACKER!!!!!!!!:0:) EVEN THOUGH I'M A HUGE DBAX FAN, HE'LL ALWAYS BE ONE OF MY FAVE PLAYERS!!!!!!!!:):0 FROM TANNER TAN-MAN LESUEUR FROM MESA, ARIZONA!!!!!!!!:0:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Great book

    Great book to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Bo

    Bo

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Excellent!

    An insightful look into the hardships and triumphs this great man and athlete endured!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Amazing!!!!!!

    This gives you wonderful insight on Jackie Robinson's life before and after baseball that 42 did not show. The movie was awesome, and after reading this, I felt it really tied up the loose ends. Truely amazing! Rest in peace Jackie Robinson and Jak Robinson Jr. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Faantastic!

    A GREAT read for people that are interested in the life of Jackie Robinson!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2