Customer Reviews for

I Never Had It Made

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2006

    A MAN THAT FOUGHT FOR FREEDOM...

    I DON'T LIKE TO READ MANY AUTOBIOGRAPHIES, BUT THIS ONE IS DIFFERENT JUST BECAUSE JACKIE ROBINSON IS TELLING HIS STORY. HE WENT THROUGH SO MUCH FROM BEING THE FIRST PLAYER TO INTEGRATE MAJOR LEAGUE BASEBALL. TO FIGHTING FOR PEOPLES RIGHTS AT A TIME THAT AFRICICAN AMERICANS COULD NOT SPEAK OUT WITHOUT BEING DISCRIMINATED. THIS BOOK THAT JACKIE TOLD WAS PHENOMINAL, AND JACKIE SAID IT BEST, ' I WAS A BLACK MAN IN A WHITE WORLD' I NEVER HAD IT MADE.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Great story about race relations in Baseball and the US during t

    Great story about race relations in Baseball and the US during the era. I read this on vacation during the 50th march on Washington celebrations and it was very relevant to today. my only disappointment is that not enough is known about Jackie in his after life of Baseball

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Excellent

    You dont have to be a fan of sports to enjoy this book. The historical significance alone is incredible. Great read. You will not be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    JACKIE ROBINSON ROCK

    I went to see the movie and it was good. But the n word is used so much and i feel bad for him. But every year the MLB has a Jackie Robinson day and every playerbin the MLB wears the # 42 because Jackie made it possable for colored people to play non-colored sports.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Wow

    If its about jackie robinson it must be great "42" the movie! rocked!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Loved the book.  Well worth the read.  

    Loved the book.  Well worth the read.  

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Great story

    Great story, very inspiring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    EVERY YOUNG BOY SHOULD READ THIS BOOK...HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    I GREW UP IN AN AREA OF CALIFORNIA WHERE I WAS NOT EXPOSED TO DISCRIMINATION, BUT JACKIE DIDNT HAVE THAT EXPERIENCE AS AN AMERICAN.
    SHAME ON ALL OF US.
    THIS WAS A VERY GOOD LOOK AT THE UNITED STATES AT IT WORST AND BEST.
    BROVO TO THE WRITER FOR CAPTURING OUR AMERICAN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Jackie robinson

    Jackie robinson wuz 1 ov the GR8EST baseball playerz in baseball history!! I WISH I had a chance 2 meet him & in my opinion, he helped brake down barrier 4 african americans in order 2 have the chance 2 play baseball that we thought WUZ "MEANT 4 WHITE PEOPLE" BUT THAT AIN'T TRUE!! IM GLAD THAT THAY BROKE IT!! Tanner Tan-Man LeSueur

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Great book

    Great book to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Respond

    Seen the movie and loved the book . Sometimes i wish life was easy i mean im not the prettyest and i now for a fact the quarterback isnt wrapped around my fingers but danm its hard to be me. I just need someone to talk to any one wanna talk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Excellent!

    An insightful look into the hardships and triumphs this great man and athlete endured!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Best

    Whoooooooooooooo hooooooooo

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Amazing!!!!!!

    This gives you wonderful insight on Jackie Robinson's life before and after baseball that 42 did not show. The movie was awesome, and after reading this, I felt it really tied up the loose ends. Truely amazing! Rest in peace Jackie Robinson and Jak Robinson Jr. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Faantastic!

    A GREAT read for people that are interested in the life of Jackie Robinson!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    I haven't finished reading Jackie's story but oh I am so glad I started it. I hope he realizes in Heaven the legacy he left behind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Jackies Robinson Fan

    I thought that the book is a good book. You should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Miranda

    Cool wow awesome



    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Awsome book

    Best book ever

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    To all

    Just i got finished watching the movie. Mikes

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2