Customer Reviews for

I Only Have Eyes for You (The Sullivans Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 269 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(167)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

WOW!!! Bella Andre does it again with another incredible story from the Sullivan Family. Sophie and Jake's love for one another is so amazing. I got drawed in at the very beginning and could not put it down till I was finished. The saga of the Sullivan Family just k...
WOW!!! Bella Andre does it again with another incredible story from the Sullivan Family. Sophie and Jake's love for one another is so amazing. I got drawed in at the very beginning and could not put it down till I was finished. The saga of the Sullivan Family just keeps getting better and better. The love, support and dedication that this family has for each other is amazing. I can't wait to read about Zach, but I'm really waiting for Smith's book (he's very interesting). If you have not read about the Sullivan family they are a must read.

It's early into 2012 but this book just got pushed to the top of my list for Best Books read. It's a must read....

posted by tmc06 on February 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Didnt realize how much s*x sells!

Really liked the story line! Didnt realize that you must read 6 pages of bedroom details before you can move on to 2 pages of storyline and then back in bed! Maybe I am not aware that so many woman love to read that stuff! Not even close to reality. I wont read any...
Really liked the story line! Didnt realize that you must read 6 pages of bedroom details before you can move on to 2 pages of storyline and then back in bed! Maybe I am not aware that so many woman love to read that stuff! Not even close to reality. I wont read any more of her books.
No I am not a prude, just mature woman looking for more in a romance besides repetative detailed bedroom scenes.

posted by 7160868 on May 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. I have not read the whole sullivan

    I really enjoyed this book. I have not read the whole sullivan series, but I have read books 1 and 2, liked this one the best so far. Definitely recommend.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Enjoyable!

    I really enjoyed Sophie & Jake's story. Although sometimes when the storyline is driven by misunderstandings and the "I'm not good enough" worries, that can be a little trying. And I would've liked a little more ... of their journey, but if you like Bella Andre, it's definitely worth the read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another good book in this series...

    My Review:

    Another great installment to this fantastic family series!! This book is about Sophie, or as the family calls her, "Nice". She is one of the twin girls (Lori is Naughty) in this family of eight siblings. Being "Nice" means that her six older brothers and family friend Jake have always put her in a sweet little protected box. Sophie is tired of the box and the moniker and decides it's time to claim her own fate...and sets out to seduce Jake on the night of Chase and Chloe's wedding. And that's where this fabulous story begins.

    I love the chemistry in this book. Sophie and Jake have been friends forever, but they are also complete opposites. He's a tattooed bad boy who has made his career from running and creating Irish pubs. She's a librarian with her nose always buried in a book. Regardless of those differences, they have both always harbored secret feelings for the other. The difference is Sophie wants the relationship while Jake doesn't think that he's good enough for her. Most of the family agrees with him. They know him and his womanizing ways. They just don't realize that most of it is a front to cover and bury his feelings for Sophie. I thought they were wonderful together!

    The only reason that I marked the rating down a little on this one was because the story wasn't anything new. I knew exactly where the story was going, but that didn't keep me from enjoying the story every step of the way.

    Once again, I have to say how much I am enjoying this series. There are still four stories yet to come out...Yippee!! We still have Smith (world famous actor), Lori (professional choreographer), Zach (mechanic and confirmed bachelor), and Ryan (professional baseball player). Zach's book is next. I cannot wait to read his story. He is the one in the family who has completely dogged everyone else as they have fallen in love. This confirmed bachelor is going to fall HARD when he falls. I can't wait to see who Bella chooses for his heroine!

    If you like Contemporary Romance novels that follow a family, I highly recommend this series!!

    The series:
    1. The Look of Love: Chase (pro photographer) and Chloe - B rating
    2. From This Moment On: Marcus (vintner) and Nicola - A rating
    3. Can't Help Falling in Love: Gabe (firefighter) and Megan - A rating
    4. I Only Have Eyes for You: Sophie (librarian) and Jake - B+ rating

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Loved it!

    I have read all the Sullivans books (1-4) and can't wait for the 5th to come out this summer. They are all page turners and always have a nice ending. I will continue to read all her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Loved it

    Love love the sullivans ..this 1 didn't disappoint. J is a sexy sexy man.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Can't wait to meet the rest of the Sullivans

    After reading Gabe's story, I couldn't wait to learn more about Sophie and Jake. This book did not disappoint. Now I can't wait to read about Zack and the rest of Sullivan siblings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Good read.

    Enjoyed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    I Only Have Eyes for You is an enjoyable book. Jake and Sophie s

    I Only Have Eyes for You is an enjoyable book. Jake and Sophie seemed to be at odds more than getting along, but when it came down
    to it love was all that mattered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2014

    This book was really good. I bought it as a compilation book set

    This book was really good. I bought it as a compilation book set called the Sweet Life. I have never read Bella Andre all though I have some of her books on my TBR shelf. 




    Now I will rush to buy more of her books. Even thought I started midway of the Sullivan's I didn't feel left out at all. I will however go out and buy all the first 3 books now :) 




    Sophie wanted to finally break out of her "nice" nickname and show her brothers and a certain gentleman that she was all woman and not a child. She definitely succeeds in showing Jake that she is all woman. But of course his guilt at not being good enough for her leads him to "run away" when different circumstances throw them together again he has to prove that he is the right man for her. 




    The chemistry was so wonderful between these characters. Especially how Jake tries to treat Sophie like a kid sister since he grew up around her. Such a sweet story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    As one of the youngest of the Sullivan clan, Sophie and her twin

    As one of the youngest of the Sullivan clan, Sophie and her twin sister Lori, being the only two girls, always fell under the protection of their six big brothers. Sophie was supposed to be the quiet and 'nice' twin, at least that's how everyone still saw her. But she had enough of being 'nice' and invisible, especially to Jake, who had started coming around as a friend of the boys since she was five and she has been head over heels for him all of those twenty years. No more nice for Sophie.
















    Jake McCann is a good friend to the Sullivans and since he owns a series of pubs, he has offered to help out manning the bar at the first Sullivan wedding. He has virtually been part of the family since he was a young boy, since his own home life was not the greatest. He had been immediately drawn to his friends' youngest sister Sophie, and that had not changed after all these years. In fact, it has been all kinds of torture, but he would never act on it, he never was and never would be good enough for her. 
















    When Jake sees Sophie all decked out at the wedding and attracting all kinds of attention, he can barely hang on to his resolve not to act on his feelings for her. And Sophie is not helping. In fact, she follows him home and proceeds to annihilate any resolve he had. All he sees, feels, hears and tastes is her.........that is, until reality creeps back in, and panic wraps itself around his throat. Sophie's feelings of euphoria descend rapidly into utter despair, when she finds herself abandoned without a word. These are her worst fears come true, she threw caution to the wind, put herself on the line, and lost, big time. 
















    Sophie can't sit around and lick her wounds for too long, she is not the poor little wallflower her family takes her for. So before too much time has gone by, Sophie finds herself on Jake's doorstep once again. This time however, with a firm plan in hand, one where she keeps all control. Except, when Jake opens the door and hears her out, he is quickly able to turn the tables on her again, but this time he is playing to keep her, forever.
















    *****
















    Such a sweet story with that little bite of heat, to give it a tad more interest!
































    I enjoy all the books in the Sullivan Series. All set within a warm family dynamic, with enough sibling rivalry and bickering to make it realistic, but a strong and solid basis of love that will always be enough to drag the family through whatever they encounter.
















    Each book can be read as a standalone and they need not be read in sequence necessarily, but of course it does add to the reading pleasure if you do. 
















    Jake and Sophie have been eyeing each other since they were kids. Each thinking themselves not good enough for the other, for different reasons, although of course equally dismissible. The biggest real obstacle they face is the family. For Jake it would be dating his best friend's little sister, which apparently is a big no-no with guys. For Sophie it is the family's disapproval of Jake, given his 'fast and loose' history with women. And I would think for both it would be the risk that if things were not to work out between them, friendships and family dynamics could become quite awkward. But the reasons they make up in their minds are just bad inner dialogue and it shows, because once Jake knows what goes one in Sophie's mind and vice versa, the issues seem to dissolve between them and the only thing remaining seems to be family. Ahhhh, but then comes the matriarch, who keeps a quiet but very close eye on all of her chicklets and in a single sentence is able to break through thick layers of tension and neutralize the situation. I love strong but silent mother types!! I wish I was one.....strong I am, silent.......not so much.
















    As we know and love of Bella Andre, she writes about romance with smouldering heat. A strong sensual, sexual pull you always seem to feel between the characters, and although not graphically descriptive, her love scenes are erotic, sultry and sweet. The women have a backbone and are rarely, if ever, pushovers and the men, although Alpha in nature, generally have a wide soft streak for the women they care about. Wonderful, gentle reading.
































    ¿A spark sets off a firestorm, when 'Nice' turns naughty.¿
















    **ARC courtesy of NetGalley and Harlequin MIRA in return for an honest review.**

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Awesome

    I hate that I had to wait months to read all three books in this series but it was worth the wait. AWESOME AWESOME series. I almost pass on book 3 because I was upset that Miss Jackson chose to drag this story out into 3 books. I'm glad I didn't. Now there's a fourth book. SERIOUSLY!!! REALLY?
    I can't wait. I'm definitely getting Tori and Collin's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book is so sweet, a brilliant romance.  I Only Have Eyes fo

    This book is so sweet, a brilliant romance.
     I Only Have Eyes for You is another wonderful book in the Sullivans series.
    The whole "girl-falling-in love-with-her-older-brother's-friend" is one of my favorite plot lines-second only to the "best-friends-to-lovers"
    plot lines (which, I'm happy to say, appears on book 6). I think the whole longing for each other tension makes a book especially good.
     And this one was a perfect take on that plot.

    Sophie has been branded as the nice sister since she was a little girl, and she's sick of being seen as just the good one. Especially by
     her brother's friend, Jake, who she has loved for years. And, now, she has decided to shed her "nice" title to be a little naughty and get
     her man. I really liked Sophie. She was strong in a quiet way, which allowed her to hold her own against 6 overprotective brothers. And
     to get Jake to notice her. That made me immediately like her. I sometimes wished that she would have a little more fire in her, but she
     proved herself later on. So, I ended up really liking her.

    Jake was one hell of an alpha male. He couldn't read well in his youth and he still has trouble with it, though he tries to hide. Though it
     didn't say that he was dyslexic, I'm guessing it was some kind of issue like that. That has made him insecure, though, on the outside,
     he seems to be perfectly confident. And, though he has loved Sophie for years, the insecurity that he wasn't good enough has
     prevented him from pursuing her. I loved Jake. His insecurity made him a sympathetic character, while his alpha qualities made him
    very sexy. It was a combination that I adored-and I think that many others will, as well. My one issue is that there was one part of the
    book when he forces Sophie to stay at his house for a week so that he can convince her to be with him. It's not that he tied her up and
    held her captive, but I do wish that he had been more reasonable about it, rather than just demanding it. It was just a small issue, so I
     was able to overlook it and adore Jake. 

    There was a lot of longing in the relationship between these two. It made them quite an explosive couple in bed, when they were finally
     able to be together. But, they weren't just about bed-sport. They were very sweet together, a couple that will easily garner support from
     readers.

    The plot moves steadily and doesn't ever stall. It had me interested the entire way through and concluded with a sweet ending and a
    segue in to book 5.

    I Only Have Eyes for You was a lovely romance. Romance lovers, you should give it a read.

    *I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    Best book in the series so far!! I loved this book! I read it i

    Best book in the series so far!!
    I loved this book! I read it in one day! I loved reading about Sophie & Jake's love story. There is nothings sweeter than two people who have been in love for their whole lives!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Though this isn't the first Bella Andre book I've read, it's the

    Though this isn't the first Bella Andre book I've read, it's the first in the Sullivans series for me. I loved the bits of the Sullivan family I glimpsed, even though there wasn't actually much of the family in this book. It was well-written enough that I kind of got to know the family even without them being there. This particular story did stand easily on its own, and yet I believe that I will get more out of it if I read the first three and then reread this one. There are little subtleties that didn't make or break the story, but made me wonder what I didn't know.

    Sophie and Jake have been in love with each other practically forever (since she was five, anyway, when Jake became friends with her brothers), and neither has believed that the other was really right for them despite that. Sophie decides to shake her nickname Nice off after her brother's wedding (her twin sister Lori is Naughty), and goes all out after Jake, who naturally can't resist her. They have an amazing night together, and he skedaddles while she's still asleep, leaving her wondering what the heck happened, when she wakes up alone in a strange house.

    There were definitely some cons to this story. Most notably, the formatting. The dialogue in particular was formatted with weird markings in place of quotation marks. This was very distracting, and though I began to tune it out, anytime I put my reader down and then picked it back up again, it struck me anew. In one spot, there is a dangling phrase that doesn't belong in the story at all; "foot yacht through rough waters after three sleepless nights" is right in the middle of a sentence about something else entirely. When Sophie breaks down and goes to see Jake two and a half months after their wild, hot night together, they have a conversation in which she is vague about dates and since they only had sex on that one occasion, that stuck out at me as out of character for someone of her intellectual caliber. When something happened to Sophie and she ended up in the hospital, the entire family, including her mother, rallied round her, but I was disappointed that Sophie had apparently not had a conversation with her mother about her feelings for Jake; Mom Sullivan seemed to be pretty close to her kids, and while I understood that Sophie didn't want to share that night with her six very over-protective brothers, I didn't really get why she didn't talk to her mom during that intervening time.

    On to the silver lining. The characters are real and individual, and some get more "face-time" than others. I really enjoyed the story - the progression of emotions as Sophie and Jake got to know each other differently than they had before, and as they each learned some new things about themselves in the process. I loved having an alpha male who had what he considered a seriously debilitating problem that instead turned out to be something that could bring him closer to Sophie. The bedroom activity was hot enough without pushing beyond vanilla or into erotic in any way - just two people who loved each other and wanted to have hot, sweaty sex with one another a lot.

    I like romance. I particularly like erotic romance. Bella Andre's I Only Have Eyes For You is a sweet romance that didn't leave me feeling cheated by a lack of superhot sexyfun, and did leave me wanting to get to know the rest of the Sullivan family. Thumbs up from me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    I recommend reading this whole series

    This is a great series the humor and romance are a great combination. Don't miss out on reading the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Love this series!

    Sophie's loved Jake for nearly twenty years. With Chase and Chloe's wedding bells ringing in the background, she's finally going to win him over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    I love this series. A must read

    You fall in love with the Sullivan family.I never wanted it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Awesome reading!

    I love this series its so much fun to see all the different personalities of the family what a living family this book is full of romance, fun, hot sex cant wait for next new release of the sulluvan family

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    love to read

    I love the sullivan series can't wait for book 5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4