Customer Reviews for

I Quit: The Day I Stopped Pretending Everything Was Fine and Changed My Life, My Marriage, and My Church

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    It's a good thing to have values and to be able to say NO! I QUIT PAIN, I QUIT FRUSTRATION ETC.ETC

    If you do not acknowledge what is going on inside of you, it will eventually cause you to lose connection with yourself. Which is a very important part of your spiritual growth as well as living and loving well. Be Blessed. Great Read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Strikes at the heart of our inner life

    One of those books that directs the reader to where they have the most influence.....themselves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Just what I needed

    I found this book by accident. It hit home about my life. Provided great insight and ways that I can reclaim my life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    Glean what you can, and I gleaned alot

    I Quit! Stop Pretending Everything is Fine and Change your Life

    This book is for those who think they have to live two lives: the Christian one and the other one. This book is for those who think they have to put on a Christian façade. This book is for those who think the Christian life is all about sacrifice. This book is for those who think the Christian life is fake. I also think this book is for adults with self-esteem issues.

    I originally saw this book advertized in a MOPs magazine. When it became available free on Kindle, I downloaded it. While the things Scazzero was doing as a pastor's wife and mother, she did them because she had to and she felt should "rather than a gift freely given. [She] mistakenly believed [she] didn't have a choice." All of us can get burned out doing things we think we should, because other people think we should, or because we think we have to. This book is about identifying falsehoods, errors in thinking, while identifying God's call on our life and reclaiming our identity in Christ-the person God has called us to be.

    Some have commented that this book does not show a balanced view between sacrifice and putting others first while saying no when necessary and appropriate. Some have commented that this book is too personal and the author vents and rants too much like a therapy session. I will agree that some of her examples and comments seem a little over the top. But rarely can you take 100% of a self-help type book and apply it exactly as the author describes. We are different people with different circumstances. Glean what you can and apply as best fits your situation.

    I could relate to many of the examples Scazzero cited as well as the warning signs she mentions. Bottom line-the author is trying to communicate that we shouldn't be so worried about what others think of us to completely ignore all our wants and needs and be fake just to make others happy. If we are unhappy, we need to identify why-this alone could be difficult and be a bigger, deeper issue than what it would seem.

    I also think this is the best book I have read that can help adults with self-esteem issues.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    Geri Scazzero's new book "I Quit" burst my bubble of the wonderful character, I thought I had built, around living someone else's life, overfunctioning and being afraid of what others think of me. Skillfully, she takes us on a journey, within our deepest core and reveals all our faulty thinking."I Quit" will transform, calm and relax your anxieties, as you will quit them with ease and realize that the divine had not meant it to be so difficult, as we have made it for ourselves. Allow "I Quit" to become your passport to freedom from the chains you have bound upon yourselves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    A Must Read For All Seeking A Change In Their Life!!

    This book takes the phrase "I Quit" from a negative connotation and transforms it into a phrase of empowerment. This book addresses the many issues that cause emotional, mental, and spiritual turmoil within ourselves and limits our personal growth. The authors provide powerful insight into these areas of our lives and shows how we can overcome them to become the person God intends for us to be. "I Quit" is for anyone who feels trapped in any aspect of their lives and has been reluctant to attempt change. However, I feel that women will relate to it more since the examples provided in the book are primarily from Geri's perspective and personal situations. As a wife and mother, Geri really touched on many issues that I personally am facing. It has opened my eyes to areas of my life that I can and need to address, overcome and grow upon. It is a pleasure to read and is truly a learning experience. DISCLOSURE: A product sample has been provided without charge. The opinions I have expressed in this post are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Quit

    I Quit: Stop Pretending Everything is Fine and Change Your Life by Geri Scazzero with Peter Scazzero, published by Zondervan publishers is an effectively written, yet simple to read self help/ self improvement book. In otherwords, this is a social skills book for any adult whether he percieves himself to be normal or is honest and openly acknowledges his or her adjustment and/ or self esteem issues. This is suitable reading for any adult who missed out and never had the opportunity to take a life skills class in their school days. The book is well written, and effectively pinpoints as well as addresses commonly found adjustment issues and self defeating behaviors. This book is blunt and gets right to the point with chapters such as "Quit Lying", "Quit Overfunctioning", "Quit Blaming" and "Quit Living Someone Else's Life", just to name a few. This book covers just about every malfunctional, innappropriate coping mechanism that can be observed in the "normal" adult population. If you have severe psychosis or extremely abnormal physcological issues, then perhaps this book may not be sufficient, but even such individuals may benefit from reading this book nonetheless. This book requires, however, for the reader to honestly access his or her shortcoming. For example, on pages 83-87 is a chart of personality types, otherwise referred to by the author as Enneagrams. The reader must honestly take a personal assesment to determine which category or categories that he or she may fit into. The categories are based on actual AXIS II personality types/ disorders of the DSM-IV classification, yet in this book, they are renamed/ repackaged so as to be less intimidating and to appear more palatable. The reader is more likely to own up to being a "perfectionalist", "adventurer" or an "observer" or "achiever" rather than admitting he or she is actually an "antisocial", "avoidant", 'narcissistic", "Obsessive Compulsive", "histronic" or "schizoid" personality. Yet, keep in mind, for the sake of complete disclosure, although the author writes these "Enneagrams" with politically correct, uplifting titles, they are actually based on AXIS II personality categories- which can be found on any collge psychology textbook. Though this book appears to be deceptively simple, it contains wise and practical advice and suggestions for improving one's life. One unsettling fact about this book is that the author is a wife of a pastor. It left me second guessing as to whether I am imposing whenever I ask someone for a favor. Although I know that was not the intent of this book, I can not help but feel as if asking another person for help, can be a burden even when that individual appears willing to help. Nevertheless, as for God, we can ask and pray whenever we are in need, and never be a burden. In the end, this is a very good, honelstly written, self improvement book either for oneself or as a subtle gift for a good friend or loved one. As a blogger for Zondervan I receieved this book for the purpose of writing a review. The opinions expressed are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Recommend

    Enjoyed this book. Food for thought

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    I would buy it again

    The book is just a good book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    Emotionally Toxic!

    Emotionally Toxic!
    Most medicines today come with a warning label. If I QUIT had one, it would say:
    WARNING: After reading this book, users may die a slow, emotional death for not following these life giving directions for the unresolved marital, family or personal issues that currently plague them. Those who do comply however, will at first experience significant, emotional pain and resistance from within and from others. Fortunately, with time and persistence, freedom and emotional health will result with continued therapy as the "false self" will ultimately die off (Eph 5:22-24) while our "true self" will bloom to live the fruitful life God intended for each of us.
    I have known the author for 35 plus years and her husband almost 50. How about adding an "emotional gym class" chapter to his earlier book Emotionally Health Church in the next edition? What about our churches adding such a class to our Sunday school? I won't hold my breath on that idea.
    I do know the author never believed her physical education degree would be used one day to help us all better exercise our 'emotional muscles" rather than our physical muscles. This book will be a difficult pill for most of us to swallow. I, however, do not choose the slow death! Thanks Geri.
    Chris P.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1