Customer Reviews for

I, Richard

Average Rating 3.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A waste of both my time and money! As a dedicated George fan wh

    A waste of both my time and money! As a dedicated George fan who has enjoyed all of her Lynley based series, I found this a tawdry publisher's gimmick to buy time between George's meatier literary creations. Perhaps Ms. George needed a vacation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2003

    A little bit of a letdown

    I wait eagerly for the new novels that Ms. George writes of Inspector Lynley and Detective Barbara Havers. I, Richard was a find at the local library, and opened with great anticipation. I was a little disappointed as I continued through the book, even with short story with Inspector Lynley's presence. 'Exposure' and the title 'I, Richard' were interesting enough reading, especially the historical background provided by Ms. George. The speculation regarding the two nephews of Richard III only added to the intrigue of the story. Ultimately, it felt like reading a sophisticated and pitiful 'Gift of the Magi' where neither the teacher or mistress were fulfilled. The other stories aren't worth mentioning....a little bit of a letdown for this Elizabeth George fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2002

    A Big Disappointment

    Can this be the same writer who penned the wonderful Missing Joseph, A Great Deliverance, and Playing for the Ashes? I am a great fan of Ms. George's, and have avidly followed the Inspector Lynley novels. But even the Inspector's appearance (along with the charming Lady Helen Clyde) in the first story can't rescue this mess. Short stories and novellas simply aren't the author's forte. In two of these, the "surprise" endings are telegraphed almost from the starting point. Most of the characterizations are closer to cartoons, with little depth or understanding - SO unlike the sensitive handling of character in her novels. Each story starts with an intriguing premise, then runs out of steam due to (horrors, Ms. George!!) just plain sloppy writing. I will try to overlook (or forget) this brief lapse on the author's part, and anticipate her next novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Hai!

    Hi. I am going to start a advice service and im going to use riht jere so yeah. Just put: To Ana

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Shadowmist

    Hi!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Hi shadowmist you look pretty

    Shadowwolf

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Firesteel

    Iceshard was here too.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Interesting

    Not my favorite George but easy to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    Short Form - OK

    Elizabeth George is one of my favorite authors. Character development is one of the most enjoyable areas of her writing and, when added to her well thought out plots her books become ' hard to put down '. I especially like the way she develops the verbal & physical interaction of her personalities and then delights us with what the person is REALLY thinking which in turn reflects the good and evil of mankind. I,Richard, a collection of short stories, are individually introduced by the Author with the background of why she wrote the story and this info adds extra interest. She keeps it short, makes it an easy read for when you don't have much time. I found her Short Stories OK but I prefer her full size books which allows the reader to develop their own Love/Hate relationships with her portrayals of human nature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2002

    What Happened?

    Elizabeth George has been my favorite author for a long time now,and I have eagerly awaited the publishing of her books. Her finely drawn, multi-faceted characters and timely and fascinating stories haver never let me down, until now. What happened? These short stories are filled with one dimentional characters living one dimentional lives. The stories are boring, and the endings are obvious. I was very dissappointed. This didn't seem like her writing at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2002

    Tales From The Crypt Revisited

    Having read the eleven novels which preceded "I, Richard" I had long felt completely confident that any book by Elizabeth George was, and could be recommended as, a thrill and a treat to be looked forward to and savored. Sadly, I can no longer say that. "I, Richard" a book of five tales demonstrates both Ms. George's great writing and a degradation of her skills to, most hopefully, their complete and utter nadir. Read "Good Fences Aren't Always Enough" first so as to get the worst out of the way. It is not a mystery. It is a rodent remnant from Tales From The Crypt. Reading the last page first may minimize the disappointment inherent in too many aspects of this sorry story and also free the mind to focus on what good stuff is hidden and available for finding. The first two paragraphs are mindless, meaningless, meandering leading no where. Ignore them. The story contains ten parenthetical which are as full a proof as a proof can be that parentheticals are too often a sign of weakness in thinking, style, and writing. As for her gift with simile, who of her fans could believe that Ms. George would write, "... a bank of fog was rolling determinedly down the street like fat man looking for a meal." or "The old house sat like Miss Havisham fifty years after the wedding that didn't happen ..." The story preceding "Good Fences" is "The Surprise of His Life." It too has a "Tales From The Crypt" aroma. No doubt it was meant to set up "Good Fences" but the writing here is so much better that it only makes "Good Fences" seem so much the shoddier. The first tale is entitled "Exposure." The writing is bright and brisk even if the crime and it's, excuse me, execution seem stolen from the pages of Agatha Christie. Ms. George's other readers will, as did I, enjoy the introduction she provides to each story. One gets to learn interesting things about her. In the intro to the forth story, "Remember, I'll Always Love You" Elizabeth assertively and pleasantly identifies herself, "My third reaction was something typical to anyone who is born to write ..." The nodding of this fan is done in that assured manner of finding irrefutable proof of something more than suspected over the eleven novels. Then there is the content of "Remember I'll... ." Another Tale From The Crypt but updated via the biological weapon content and a mention of Iraq and North Korea. The final tale, "I, Richard" is Ms. George's attempt to overcome the old axiom, "first impression, last impression." Does she? Well, I do love the way she writes about sex; the psychological and social agenda of the individuals is always far more important and, I think, compelling to the interested reader than whatever Ms. George states about the act itself. In "I, Richard" Ms. George the writer is seen to be alive and well. But this story too gives me the impression that Ms. George was far to great a fan of you know what comic book. The potential and probable victim becomes the victor. The murder goes undiscovered. The murderess excapes the law. And, most importantly, in the old Crypt series, he who plotted victory is vanquished in every sense. The Crypt Keeper chuckles. Irony is served. But in total the meal is unrewarding and it contains only some memorable spice and not one memorable dish. For me "I, Richard" damages Ms. George's golden reputation and I am sorry that she allowed it to be released. Two stars for the volume. Four stars for the novelist Elizabeth George

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong crime anthology

    Crime novelist Elizabeth George provides five excellent tales with a twist. ¿Exposure¿. A college class visits a British estate to see the artwork when one of the students dies. Thomas Lynley, who is visiting too, knows murder occurred. He seeks to uncover the killer in his own indomitable manner. This is an-exciting story reminiscent of Agatha Christie. ¿The Surprise of his life¿. A man suffering from impotence thinks his trophy wife is cheating on him. When he obtains what he thinks is proof, he plans to kill her. However, things don¿t go as planned. Readers will love this story for its exquisite irony. ¿Good Fences Aren¿t Always Enough¿. When Anfisa moves to 42 Napier Lane, the neighbors hoped she would do needed renovation. Instead her actions attract the rats. When the neighbors complain she ignores them until the night they decide to take matters into their own hands. This is a page-turner with shocking results. ¿Remember, I¿ll Always Love You¿. After Eric dies, his wife Charlotte tries to track down his family to inform them of his death, but she has no address or phone number. She learns why her husband kept his past secret but by then it is too late. This poignant tale touches the heart while stimulating the mind. ¿I, Richard¿. Malcolm Cousins believes that Richard III was not responsible for the deaths of his nephews and the town drunk Bernie Perryman has the proof. To get the document, Malcolm has an affair with Bernie¿s wife and plans on using her to get it. Malcolm obtains his wish, but it doesn¿t give him the pleasure he expects. This is an enthralling story of treachery and deceit. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1