Customer Reviews for

I, Robot

Average Rating 4
( 212 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Great book, SF classic.

IMPORTANT: The book does not resemble the movie in any great detail. This is a must read for SF fans out there, packed in a very affordable package.

posted by 2744171 on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

'Robot' Runs Low On Power Batteris Not Included

You'll need to provide your own batteries to get 'I, Robot' up and running to speed. the famous three laws of robotics is the only groundbreaking contribution offered before the mechanics malfunction. Nothing of consequence happens that hasn't happened before or since...
You'll need to provide your own batteries to get 'I, Robot' up and running to speed. the famous three laws of robotics is the only groundbreaking contribution offered before the mechanics malfunction. Nothing of consequence happens that hasn't happened before or since. Questions of what defines selfawareness, what it is to be human and if such creations could eventually make humanity obsolete were explored in Fritz Lang's 1927 'Metropolis' and Karel Capek's 1921 'R.U.R. Rossum's Universal Robots.' Similar themes appeared in the 1970 release 'Colossus The Forbin Project' and again in 1984 with 'The Terminator' and following sequels. Considering the above mentioned works are far more eloquent than Asimov's entry it is no wonder the film adaption required required a major rework prior to reaching the big screen. Truth is, there's more talk than action. What is truly mindboggling is that Asimov, a holder of a PhD in biochemistry and author of over 400 books of diverse scientific and science fiction subjects, envisioned robots and computers as massive clunky creations. The total lack of inovative insight is shocking. Such harsh judgement is justified as great things are expected from those who are considered great, so when they fall so far short of these expectations there remains little to be said in their defense. Pass this one by.

posted by Anonymous on April 5, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 212 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Defining a subgenre

    The movie is absolutely nothing like this collection of short stories. That is why hollywood had to invent Will Smith's character. The book on the other hand IS the robot sub genre of sci fi. This is a fun and engaging look at how humanity defines themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Awsome

    BLOOP (^0^) THIS HAS AWESONE SHORT STORIES AND VERY INTERESTING

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    E

    Vg

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Oh my god my nook is ATACKING ME!!!!!!!

    Im dead.
    :(
    They dont call it robot apocalpse for nothing...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    its the i of the tiger its the trill of the fight risin up to th

    its the i of the tiger its the trill of the fight risin up to the power of our rivals

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    It starts here

    Asimov is considered one of the founding fathers of Sci-fi. Even with the age of this book it reads as if its still in a future world not the early to mid 2000s. After this its on to the Robots/Foundation series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    This has be great

    I am reading Caves of steel and its great. Recommend it to all u guys

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    IF U HAVE EYES THEN READ THIS!!!!

    Im single and need someone to chat with

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Nook apocalypse

    They hav minds of their owm...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Good book

    The book is really good. I recomend this book for anyone that likes sci-fi novels

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Fang

    Im single

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Side

    Shes not responding

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Elita

    May the luck be with you, aero.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Ratchet

    (No idea)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Matt

    Jumped onto nightbirds back rideig into the forest with her.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Echo

    Wish me luck three games today wont be back till 6. Hopefully im not to worn out

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Nightbird

    Hello?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Asimov was truly a genius when it came to his stories on robots.

    Asimov was truly a genius when it came to his stories on robots. Any Sci-Fi fan should definitely try this book out.
    Sure, there are plenty of things that seem far-fetched to us seeing as how many of Asimov's stories take within our lifetimes but that's not really the focus of his stories, the robots are. And let me tell you something, these robots are scary cool.
    If you like to nit pick at plot holes then read a history book. If you like epic story telling that makes you question what you think, get this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    A Classic book! I lost the book years ago. What pleasure it was to read on the Nook

    Now that I have bought a Nook, I find myself reading much more. I have been revisiting books, while also reading new books. I, Robot, is so much fun and brings up ethical questions about technology that are even more important for us now.

    Pick this up in hard copy or for your NOOK. You will not regret it.

    Cheers, Steve

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Just Dance Marathon RESULTS

    Hoshi wins!! She had played as Super Bass and Rock and Roll by Skrillix. Congrats!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 212 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11