Customer Reviews for

I Saw an Ant on the Railroad Track

Average Rating 4
( 353 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(162)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

This book is just so much fun and GREAT to read aloud where you can really add to the building excitement with your tone of voice. The rhymes are right-on and even my 2 year old is on the edge of his seat when we read it. The first time I read it, my two year old was ...
This book is just so much fun and GREAT to read aloud where you can really add to the building excitement with your tone of voice. The rhymes are right-on and even my 2 year old is on the edge of his seat when we read it. The first time I read it, my two year old was very concerned and a little bothered because the writing is very 'dangerous'--the author does a good job of creating anxiety. But now that my little one knows the ant gets saved every time, he squeals with glee as the tension in the book builds, and always has a big smile for the ant when he jumps to safety. And I love Jack in the book, who comes off as a gentle giant who ends the book with a picnic with the ant, his new friend. Great book!

posted by Anonymous on September 2, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Train lovers delight!

We received this book as a gift for our 2 and 5 year old boys, both train lovers. Our oldest son shares the same name with the switch man - Jack. This is a great read aloud, suspension filled and truly happy ending picture book perfect for 2 to 7 year olds. The illus...
We received this book as a gift for our 2 and 5 year old boys, both train lovers. Our oldest son shares the same name with the switch man - Jack. This is a great read aloud, suspension filled and truly happy ending picture book perfect for 2 to 7 year olds. The illustrations are fantastic. I highly recommend it!

posted by 1454666 on June 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 358 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2009

    Train lovers delight!

    We received this book as a gift for our 2 and 5 year old boys, both train lovers. Our oldest son shares the same name with the switch man - Jack. This is a great read aloud, suspension filled and truly happy ending picture book perfect for 2 to 7 year olds. The illustrations are fantastic. I highly recommend it!

    22 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is just so much fun and GREAT to read aloud where you can really add to the building excitement with your tone of voice. The rhymes are right-on and even my 2 year old is on the edge of his seat when we read it. The first time I read it, my two year old was very concerned and a little bothered because the writing is very 'dangerous'--the author does a good job of creating anxiety. But now that my little one knows the ant gets saved every time, he squeals with glee as the tension in the book builds, and always has a big smile for the ant when he jumps to safety. And I love Jack in the book, who comes off as a gentle giant who ends the book with a picnic with the ant, his new friend. Great book!

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I liked the song and music on the front page of the book.
    My granddaughter wanted Nook to read this story to her several times.
    Easy to listen to.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Highly Recommend!

    My 3-year old Grandson loves this book! He loves making the Ant bigger with his little fingers. Def a great purchase!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    Clever and Entertaining

    This is one of my favorite nook color books. It is read really well, it's sweet, and touching.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    goqevvD z

    love it!!!!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    cutee

    i read this 2 my little sister evryday and she luvs it!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Wonderful

    Both my children loved it. They want to keep reading it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    THE FUN EXCITMENT

    THIS IS A GOOD BOOK FOR KIDS TO HAVE AN EXCITING ADVEDCHER MAKE DREAMS COME TRUE!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    great

    great!!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Loved it!

    My grandson loves this book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    A Great Story AND Art! :)

    My boys are 5 and 7, but they both love this book! My youngest one is a train and a bug addict, so we got this book last year. However, the older boy loves it too! It's just so cool the way that the ant makes it! The way that we read it is awesome too with a special tone and excitement! They would love to hear it over and over!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Love it

    Read it every night to my six month old .... She loves the pictures

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    So good it rules

    Get it its worth the money!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    LOVE IT!

    Super cute rhyming story & the ant is adorable! This is a "Read to me" book, which is why my 4 year old loves it but he also likes the story too! His daddy is a switchman.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Our Favorite E-Book!

    I bought this last year on my NOOK for my (then) 3 year old son and he loved it! The animation, activities, and story are really fun! We read it over and over again. He's 4 now and it's still his favorite. I highly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Too much

    Way to much for a virtual book that stupid waste money on that you to be kidding

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    ?

    Dont get the sample its worthless

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Fun

    My daughter loves this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Fun read

    Great story, wonderful illustrations & nice in this ebook format. The interactive animations and games are few & pretty simple compared to other kids ebooks but overall its worth the cost.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 358 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18