BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

I Say a Little Prayer

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    E. Lynn Harris Fan

    Although it lacked the fire and drama I'm used to this still was a good book. Chancey should have owned his own restaurant instead of making greeting cards for a living. He can cook for me any day. Can't wait for the new book to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    More of the Same - But Worth a Read

    I've enjoyed all of E's books but the characters just didn't dance off the page for me. But he did address some interesting topics and many readers will enjoy visiting familiar territory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2006

    Recommened

    While I believe it's true that this is a minor title by a wonderful author, even a minor work is better than no work at all. I love the way he tackles hypocracy in religion and pleads for tolerance. It's an important message that can't be overstated. Kudos for giving Basil and Yancy memorable cameos. If you've enjoyed his other novels, I highly recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2006

    Has E. Lynn Harris Lost His Touch?

    This book could have been better. I have read almost all of the books coming out by African American authors from McMillan to Dickey to Harris, because I love a good story. To me, Harris dropped the ball on this one. A character should stay with you after you close the book, this book left me scratching my head. Don't get me wrong, I will still support his books, but Harris need to bring back Basil and his crazy ex-girlfriend or something to keep my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2006

    AS ALWAYS, A PLEASURE

    As always, it's a pleasure to read Harris' books. The twist in the end was quite enjoyable and surprising. I also loved how he added Basil and Yancy to the storyline. A+ all the way!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2006

    Average

    For such a long layoff I expected better. This book was a very easy read. The plot was not so rich, but I was happy to read about someone other than Raymond. This story has set the path for a part two. Hopefully part two is more interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2006

    INCREDIBLE!

    The books is very timely! I've read all of Brother Harris books and 'I Say a Little Prayer,' is his best work. The books is truly a page turner. I'm so happy he spoke about spirituality in relation to g-life folks like myself. EVERYONE NEEDS TO READ THIS BOOK!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2006

    Great Book , Typical E Lynn, Easy Read

    E Lynn Harris's newest book is a very easy and quick read. I finished it in two days and enjoyed it. It is very much like his other books in its discussion about relationships between men (and sometimes woman). He introduces new characters and brought back some others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2006

    You Will Love This-Promise

    As you read this book, every word makes you feel as if you are in the story itself. Situations with the story goes on everyday in most of the lives of gay men, and that is what makes it real. The Down Low thing is real as you and me and 'I Say A Little Prayer' gives prime examples of how it works and what gay men face day in and day out. Its a must read book just like all of E. Lynn Harris' books. If you read 'I Say A Little Prayer', I promise you, you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2006

    Not quite what I expected

    I have read all of the author's previous novels and enjoyed them...However, this one comes off a little preachy to me...A little light on plot...Not as juicy as previous novels...Will still read the next book by the author...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3