Customer Reviews for

I See You Everywhere

Average Rating 3
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Julia Glass is back to form

I loved Julia Glass's debut novel, Three Junes, but was disappointed in her followup, The Whole World Over. Happily, this third book marks a return to form for Glass, a talented writer who is especially adept at portraying complex family relationships. Clem and Louisa a...
I loved Julia Glass's debut novel, Three Junes, but was disappointed in her followup, The Whole World Over. Happily, this third book marks a return to form for Glass, a talented writer who is especially adept at portraying complex family relationships. Clem and Louisa are two very different sisters who have grown up as competitors, yet are united by a deep, unshakable bond of affection. Glass recounts their story in alternating chapters that reveal their lives over the course of 25 years as a series of prickly confrontations, angry estrangements, and emotional reconciliations. As a sister who has experienced firsthand the push-me/pull-you dynamic of sibling rivalry, I found the book especially meaningful and moving.

posted by Word-Nerd on October 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Horrible

This book was confusing -- uninteresting except for a flash here and there. I wasted my time on this book! Awful

posted by DebsSweet on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 8, 2008

    Julia Glass is back to form

    I loved Julia Glass's debut novel, Three Junes, but was disappointed in her followup, The Whole World Over. Happily, this third book marks a return to form for Glass, a talented writer who is especially adept at portraying complex family relationships. Clem and Louisa are two very different sisters who have grown up as competitors, yet are united by a deep, unshakable bond of affection. Glass recounts their story in alternating chapters that reveal their lives over the course of 25 years as a series of prickly confrontations, angry estrangements, and emotional reconciliations. As a sister who has experienced firsthand the push-me/pull-you dynamic of sibling rivalry, I found the book especially meaningful and moving.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    For the intelligent and sensitive reader, this book is a must!

    I loved this book. The author had me from the very first page and held me to the last. This is a story of two sisters, one a wild, seductive adventurer the other a survivor. Written in simple, elegant prose the author takes us through a quarter of a century of their lives beginning with sibling rivalry and ending with heart-breaking sibling love and loss. The beauty and themes of this book, love, life, death, family, and devotion to nature haunted me for days after I put it down. I SEE YOU EVERYWHERE is a book I will read and reread and remember all my life.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Not very captivating

    I loved Julia Glass's first novel, Three Junes, and was really looking forward to reading another novel by her. This one is very disappointing. There doesn't seem to be a point to it, and I feel I'm taking up time unnecessarily by reading it. I'd pass this one up for something else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    Best Enemies

    The love of a sister is puzzling. Somewhere between the boundaries of unconditional love, there is an abundance of jealousy, resentment, competition, and sometimes hatred. In Julia Glass's novel I See You Everywhere, she attempts to harness and explain the dynamics of this very relationship. Glass presents us with the lives of two sisters, Louisa and Clem. Although both stem from the same beginnings, blood seems to be the only thing these women share. The contrast is made starkly in the beginning chapters. Readers are puzzled as how Lou, a cautious bibliophile who loves art and literature and Clem, the wild child lover of everything wild and dangerous could be twined together at all. However, as the pages turn and readers find themselves stepping into the lives of Louisa and Clem we find that these sisters are much more analogous than could ever be previously comprehended.
    I was absolutely captivated by the writing of Julia Glass. One of the aspects that made this novel so reader-friendly was the format it was written in. I See You Everywhere is in sporadic chronological order written from alternating perspectives of the two sisters. This format is common in fiction works, but Glass truly utilizes the effect this writing scheme is supposed to project. The reader is forced to search the contrary sister's life for hints of the corresponding sister's life. Also, large chronological gaps provide injections of mystery and repel even the idea of the story dragging.
    Another approach to Glass's writing revels her mastery of human beings and their relationships. When we first meet Lou and Clem, they are in their early twenties
    and returning home to Vermont. Lou seems lost and spiteful to life, especially to her sister. She is an East Coast girl stuck in California after a college romance fizzled.
    Clem is a vivacious thrill-seeker with itch to save the world and all the animals who inhabit it. She has men at her disposal and is the clear favorite to her animal-loving mother. It almost seems like the readers are predisposed to love Clem and wonder why Lou can't get over her childish jealousies. The girls evolve into women and the once endearing traits of Clem betray her. Adventuresome turns into reckless and selfish. When I finished I See You Everywhere, I was shocked at how much my viewpoint of the women changed over the course of the writing without me even realizing it. To me, that is a mark of a truly great book.
    Being a sister myself, I was shocked at just how realistically Glass portrays sisterhood. When you pick up I See You Everywhere (and I recommend you do), you are not selecting easily dismissible sisterhood fluff. Glass stays true to life, undesirable traits we all possess, and the fact that we need each other more than we could ever realize.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Horrible

    This book was confusing -- uninteresting except for a flash here and there. I wasted my time on this book! Awful

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Sherlock

    Down a res peeps

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    I agree with UGH!!

    I kept waiting for something to happen... I always finish a book. I read two other books while trying to get through this one. I'm giving the book away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    A Let Down

    I tried to get into this book, but the more I read, the less I related to the two sisters telling their stories. I kept waiting for something to happen, and by the time a tragedy struck, I didn't care. There was too much detail written on insignificant events and not enough on what I wanted to know about (Clem's mental health, Louisa's divorce, their relationships with their parents).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    I cried but not in a good way

    This book is very depressing, It made me have the blues for a couple of days. Towards the end it gets a lil boring ,like who cares.Ending was really bad but I did have some favorite parts but all in all not something I would recommend. If you want to try it, loan it from the library, that's what i did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very Disappointed

    I was excited about this book when I bought it, but very disappointed once I read it. The ending was terrible! I thought I would pass this book around to all my friends with sisters, but I wouldn't recommend it to any of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    Excellent

    This is a wonderful book. It's a soft, easy read. It provides a glimpse into the lives of two sisters that are very different, yet similar. It's not a thriller, it's more like coming home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Rather dull

    It was okay. If you are deciding between this book and a different one I would read the other book. It started okay, then got boring, sad, then it was over.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    Disappointing

    The story of two sisters and their rivalry, growing apart, coming together, nothing out of the ordinary which could have saved this novel.
    A pool side or beach read at best; although with the flipping back and forth through the years it is sometimes hard to figure out whether you're in the past or present time frame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    UGH!!!!

    I am one of those readers who ALWAYS finishes a book --- always hoping that it is going to get better as I read along. This is one of the few books I have ever just given up on. I couldn't take anymore. It all seemed pointless --- didn't seem to be going ANYWHERE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    Boring, Boring, Boring

    I don't even know why I finished this book. Maybe it is because I thought it would get better. But it never did. Don't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2008

    Not very good

    I was really let down by Glass's newest novel. I thought that the two sisters were not well-written characters and not likeable. You never really found out about their lives--it was just these snippets over the years. The characters were one dimensional. The most interesting part of the book was the first stoey about the older aunt in the North East and her life. I think Glass should write that as a novel. <BR/><BR/>The rest of this book is just a pity party for the two sisters. There is not really a plot, Glass just flits through in time, each story taking us a few years into the future. The whole problem with this book is that the reader just does not care about these two shallow sisters and their selfish lives--Not worth the time or money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2